We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Love's Anchor by the Sea (oceanview rental)

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Our anchor, with view beyond.
In Living room looking into older section of house, library and kitchen beyond.
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
3 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
8 guests
Min stay varies
The minimum stay for this property changes depending on the dates selected
Holiday Rental House
In this beautiful house you will find all the luxuries of home. This quaint century-old home has been converted to a three-bedroom home with many features. These include a four-piece bathroom, semi-ensuite, double walk-out decks, one private deck for master bedroom with oceanview, corner jacuzzi tub with view, stand-up corner shower, dishwasher, BBQ, washer & dryer and wood floors throughout. In addition to the elegant master bedroom with a queen size bed, there are two charming bedrooms with double beds, and a living room with sofabed. Beds: 1 Queen Bed, 2 Double Beds, 1 Sofa Bed
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Bathrooms
2 Full baths
Meet the host
Jodi B
Hosting since April 2013
Languages spoken: English
Response Time: Within a few hours
Contribute
Reviews (9)
Quest546025
Quest546025
St. John's, Canada2 contributions
A Slice of Heaven!!!! I stayed at Love Anchor from July 9-16, 2021 - everyday was exceptional- the weather, the peaceful surroundings, the lovely folks in Upper Island Cove & the beautiful scenery!!!! The house is amazing!! I saw the love & care that went into this unique home!! Highly recommend Love Anchor!!
Visited July 2021
Written 16 July 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

JadeH
JadeH
1 contribution
This place was cozy and had amazing,breathtaking views! I would consider it more of an adult type place but overall the experience was great! The owners take great pride in their place and are very easy to communicate with as well!
Visited September 2020
Written 19 September 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

thecroziers2017
thecroziers2017
Edmonton, Canada1 contribution
This was the last place we stayed on our tour across Newfoundland. It was a beautiful home, so comfortable, clean and accommodating. This was the exact experience I was hoping to have on our trip. The caretaker on arrival was lovely. If we ever return, we will definitely revisit this house and community.
Visited September 2017
Written 29 January 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jodi
Jodi
Thanks so much for the review and we are glad you had a wonderful stay. We agree, our caretaker is lovely! If you do return, we would be happy to have you stay at our place again.
Written 17 March 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Trip707611
Trip707611
1 contribution
Beautiful clean home with lots of character! Lovely area! We had a wonderful relaxing stay in this cute cottage. Hoping to go back again sometime :)
Visited April 2017
Written 21 April 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jodi
Jodi
We are glad you had a great stay, and we would be happy to have you back again in the future!
Written 17 March 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

stephanie b
stephanie b
St. John's, Canada1 contribution
Cozy , beautiful , private cottage ! Only negative is that we are both tall people and the main floor has 6ft ceilings, luckily no major injuries, but it would of been worth it !
Visited October 2016
Written 25 October 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jodi
Jodi
Thanks Stephanie! We definitely try to warn people before they book and it's only the kitchen and adjoining room that have original 6 foot ceiling beams to duck under (the living room and entire upstairs, bedrooms and bathrooms are all 8 foot ceilings).
Written 31 October 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SUSIE F
SUSIE F
London, United Kingdom18 contributions
Bad start to the stay got worse. I have NEVER been expected to make my own bed on arrival. On each bed was a plastic pack containing linen and pillow cases. We were also given explicit instructions in the information book, on changing the sheets and washing / drying the bedding at the end of the stay. Added to this: The house sleeps 6/8 there was one glass wine glass and 1 plastic one! We were assured that there were 12 but clearly the cleaner had not checked the house. The TV didn't work. - which was a shame as we had a film on Newfoundland to watch before leaving. We couldn't locate the bar-b-que.- it transpired that it was locked in the shed but we had no key. The house had post it notes all over kitchen and information book (see attached) saying what to do and what not to do. All rather obvious. Do we need to be told to treat the property with respect ? Would now think twice about other Canada Select properties
Visited June 2016 Travelled with friends
Written 4 July 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jodi
Jodi
We are truly sorry that your experience wasn't the best, and we no longer have guests make their own beds. As for your other concerns, they could have been addressed easily with better communication. There was nothing wrong with the TV just one of the outlets. You had called us about it and we had our caretaker come and had the impression it was resolved. The glasses may have been in another cupboard and we also could have had the BBQ brought out of the shed had you asked. We strive to have the best satisfaction for our guests and apologize that this wasn't met for your stay, but we hope this didn't permanently sour you on Canada Select properties.
Written 17 March 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LadyV15
LadyV15
St. John's, Canada3 contributions
Started with great, convenient communication with the owners even though they are far. It was close to St. John's which is great for young kids. It was slightly challenging to find as the streets are not well organized but it was also at night. The place was oozing rustic, seaside charm with an updated twist. Very well decorated. Not a huge fan of the religious edge to the decor though. Loved the ensuite and the balcony coming off was a fantastic retreat. The view was phenomenal and walking around was picture perfect. It was a great place for a family to stay!
Visited March 2016
Written 1 June 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

rmckay267
rmckay267
Grimsby, Canada1 contribution
We stayed here with my grown two sons. Everyday my family would walk down to the wharf and see what the fisherman had brought in for the day. The house had a real homey feeling and the washer and dryer were a great feature to have. Lots of hiking trail in the area to explore!
Visited September 2014 Travelled as a couple
Written 15 February 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

weerambolina1
weerambolina1
St. John's, Canada26 contributions
Second visit to this immaculately presented home with views to die for with peace and tranquillity thrown in... The home has all mod cons,every piece of kitchen ware youll ever need to cook for the family,bbq, fire pit area for cosy nights, gorgeous upstairs bedrooms with main ensuite bathroom Jacuzzi bath and secondry bathroom downstairs. Perfect stay for romance or family trip so relaxing with free whale shows from our window. Cannot recommend this place any higher spotlessly clean,3 perfect bedrooms,2 bathrooms ,kitchen,living room with t.v,dvd and disc selection ,parking and great decking area top and bottom of the house.. Great communication from owners and easy to deal with will always cherish my 2 visits there definitely not my last..
Visited September 2014 Travelled with family
Written 5 October 2014. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-9 of 9
Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Balcony
Grill
Deck
Dishwasher
Dryer
Refrigerator
Internet Access
Iron
Linens Provided
Microwave
Ocean Views
Parking
Cable/satellite TV
Cooker
Terrace
Toaster
Washer
Water Views
Waterfront
Fishing Nearby
Horse Riding Nearby
There Are Tennis Courts Nearby
Watersports Nearby
Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
Cycling Trips
Hiking Trips
See more amenities
Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

February 2023

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
1
2
3
4
5

March 2023

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
27
28
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
Many other wonderful benefits are included in this home in the Avalon area off the Baccalieu trail, such as rocky beach 50 yards down the lane, views of the town wharf, quiet secluded area, access to shopping 15 minutes up or down Conception Bay. Many attractions in the area within 15-30 minute drives such as museums in Carbonear, historical trails in Bay Roberts, art exhibits, beach at Salmon Cove Sands, see the fishing boats at Harbour Grace, popular, historical town of Brigus and we are just over an hour from St. John's, with pubs and live music, Cape Spear Historical Sight, Signal Hill, Irish Loop and Ferryland LIghthouse and so much more.
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, Horse Riding Nearby, There Are Tennis Courts Nearby, Watersports Nearby
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • 25% refund* if you cancel at least 2 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.

Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2224904690
Frequently Asked Questions about Love's Anchor by the Sea (oceanview rental)

Love's Anchor by the Sea (oceanview rental) is able to accommodate up to 8 guests. See all property details.

Love's Anchor by the Sea (oceanview rental) has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Love's Anchor by the Sea (oceanview rental) has 3 bedrooms available. See all property details.