We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All Slapin, Torrin

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
3 bedrooms
1 bathroom
5 guests
7 nights minimum 
Holiday Rental House
Allt Slapin is a traditional holiday cottage in the crofting community of Torrin on the Isle of Skye. This holiday home has amazing views across Loch Slapin to Blaven and a mature garden surrounds the house. The large lounge/dining room has a stunning view across Loch Slapin to Blaven and Clach Glas with a chaise long to relax on. There is a comfortable 3 seater corner sofa - which converts into a comfortable double bed, flat screen TV with freesat, DVD player and electric remote control stove. It also has a dining table and chairs to seat 6. There are three bedrooms. A large double room which has a double wardrobe, desk and bedside tables. The twin room has a built in wardrobe and free standing chest of drawers. The third bedroom has a 3/4 sized bed which could easily sleep two children...Allt Slapin is a traditional holiday cottage in the crofting community of Torrin on the Isle of Skye. This holiday home has amazing views across Loch Slapin to Blaven and a mature garden surrounds the house. The large lounge/dining room has a stunning view across Loch Slapin to Blaven and Clach Glas with a chaise long to relax on. There is a comfortable 3 seater corner sofa - which converts into a comfortable double bed, flat screen TV with freesat, DVD player and electric remote control stove. It also has a dining table and chairs to seat 6. There are three bedrooms. A large double room which has a double wardrobe, desk and bedside tables. The twin room has a built in wardrobe and free standing chest of drawers. The third bedroom has a 3/4 sized bed which could easily sleep two children or one adult quite comfortably and two built in wardrobes. Torrin is a small friendly crofting community some 7 miles from the nearest main village of Broadford. There are plenty of local walks to enjoy the stunning scenery that surrounds this holiday home. There is parking at the front of the holiday cottage. EPC - E
House Rules
Pets not allowedKid friendlyNo smoking
Inclusions: Linen, towels, electricity & final clean. Additional Charges: Will only occur for breakages or extra cleaning. The owner would appreciate it if the house was left in the same order as you found it. Many thanks. £45 admin fee will be charged for any amendment to the booking. £50 per week Electric Car Charge with own charger. ( The Property does not provide chargers or a stand alone charging point).
Bedrooms
1 Double3 Singles
Bathrooms
1 Full bath

Meet the host
Islands and Highlands Cottages (Property Manager Islands and Highlands Cottages)
Hosting since September 2011
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 95%
Response Time: Within a few hours

Contribute
Reviews (3)
FarAway62522475337
FarAway62522475337
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A good holiday
We loved our stay at Allt Slapin. The views from the picture window towards Loch Slapin and Bla Bheinn were amazing; a high point was seeing two sea eagles swooping low over the loch early one morning. The cottage has been thoughtfully upgraded and it provides a very relaxing atmosphere. The kitchen was very well provisioned with cutlery, crockery and an impressive array of cooking utensils. A thoroughly enjoyable stay in very comfortable surroundings.
Visited April 2022
Written 25 April 2022. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Voyage33651958714
Voyage33651958714
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Grotty and falling to bits
The Good - There is a nice view on the lake or loch side of the property. There are huge amounts of crockery; enough for twenty or more visitors. The wall heaters and the hot water seem to work well and the interior decorative state is fair, with little evidence of spiders. The first bedroom has a nice view and a very good, if rather firm, bed, and the wi-fi in the property seems to work fine. The Bad - The approach lane is down a steep slope and is packed poorly with large rocks rather than aggregate, most of which seem to have been lost over the years. Every vehicle struggles to get up the slope, and most need several attempts, and probably suffer damage to the underside from the loosely packed remaining boulders being thrown up. Any rear wheel driven vehicles will need several attempts to escape. The bridge across the burn is also very narrow and the fencing will not withstand any vehicular impact. The B road to get as far as Torrin is often covered in wandering cows and also cow ‘deposits’ and is not safe, in most terms, as an A road is. I heard from a taxi driver I met, that this is normally known as the ‘Hell-gol road’, being that it goes to Elgol, and it is also known as one of the busiest single track roads in Scotland. On one walk along it I counted over 100 cars went by me in under 90 minutes. So it is a very unpleasant road for pedestrians, cycles, or motor vehicles, at most times of day. The property has no exterior lighting, so any operation after dusk must be done with the aid of your own lights or torches. Take several if you are going to be outside after dusk, particularly if wishing to use a vehicle, as in total darkness you cannot see the gate posts, the stand pipe or the wheelie bins and rocks just off to the edges of the ‘drive way’, unless going in front first. If you go in front first, good luck getting out again at any time of day. Damage to your vehicle is almost certain without taking your own lights, or a number of assistants with lights. The exterior decorative state is dreadful and it is not a pleasure to return to the property from any perspective and viewed from any distance on the outside. The nearest neighbour, at Burnside Cottage emits a lot of noise with their barking dogs, and also shouting and piercing dog whistles for said dogs at all hours of the day and night. My research suggests these are permanent residents, as I see no sign of this being a rental property. Don’t expect a quiet getaway when staying here. Many of the windows and both exterior doors are barely sound and the property is not secure and is also very draughty. Many windows do not fully close and some have handles missing to even try to close them. Many interior doors, and one exterior one, jam in one corner or the other and need to be beaten open, seemingly risking their flimsy construction. The whole place smells musty and mouldy in the extreme. My momentary entry to the third (twin) bedroom made me sure that this one would be uninhabitable, it was so awful. Thankfully I was only using one bedroom. There is so much dark old wood in the place, it makes the mood very depressing. All of the kitchen small items are very old and all of little use. There is nothing sharp that I could find, such as knife or scissors. Take your own utility tools. Gladly I had a Swiss Army knife with me to get into food packaging. I venture the oven has had no deep clean for years. I had a go, with the tiny sponge wipe provided, but it needed proper equipment. The oven door was rancid and completely disgusting. The kitchen cold tap needs a mole wrench to switch it off, and the hot tap requires six rotations to get water running at all. The cold tap even begins running again after you think you have managed to stop it running. There were dangerous baking trays during my visit; ones which were very nasty and had a ‘non-stick’ layer sheering off in dangerous and potentially toxic lumps. Surely a new baking tray each year is not too much investment for a holiday property? I found the cutlery and the kettle both very awkward to use, due to the most inconvenient shaping and weighting I have ever encountered. This is not a property to visit if you have the slightest touch of arthritis or joint issues of any kind. The position of the microwave is very awkward, requiring anyone to lean out of the window to use it with any convenience. There is limited scope for arrangement in the kitchen, but they seem to have managed the very worst options. The ceramic hob requires a torch to operate, as the controls are totally invisible in ambient daylight or with the electric lights in the kitchen. Ceramic hobs; didn’t they go out in the 90s in the rest of the world? It is requested that guests wash & dry the cutlery and crockery before leaving. This is acceptable, but very difficult when there is no drainer to assist with the process. I don’t think a sink drainer is a huge investment in most parts of the world. It was no surprise that some of the crockery was wet when I arrived for my stay. The air vent in the bathroom stays on for a long LONG time, rattling away, after you have switched off the light in there. It is loud and distracting and probably superfluous in a property of this type, particularly with such a breeze through many of the windows. The feature chaise has a good spot in the ‘living’ room, but is very uncomfortable, just as most of the furniture is. It seems to have been upholstered a second time since its original construction, but not padded or cushioned, so has lumps sticking out everywhere. The hide used is also untanned so it will quickly pick up any sign of any type of liquid or fluid, and will look far worse in no time. The only comfortable seats in the ‘living’ room are the two cream-coloured lounge chairs. However the upholstery on the head area of one of these was more of a russet brown because it was so shockingly filthy, so I was reduced to the option of one chair for use anywhere, and you will be too. The second bedroom has a fair bed, which I sat on for a short time, or tried to. The problem is that the mattress is twenty inches wider than the bed, and could never be used for two people. Even one person would be likely to wake up on the floor, having moved slightly and been rolled out, with the mattress falling on top of them. For a couple of nights, I thought there were bats in the belfry, which was a bit distracting, but not uncommon in the highlands. However, it became clear after a while that these are mice, which scurry around at random intervals during the day and night in the roof space. Cute little things to my thinking, but if that creeps you out, don’t come here. There was no sign of them in the areas of human habitation. The TV is so tightly affixed to the wall that there is no chance for you to play anything of your own, by connecting a tablet device, as I had hoped to, to watch a movie or two on the very dark nights. It encourages going to bed early anyway, but limits options rather than expanding them, and intensifies the feeling of confinement and discontent. The Summary – All in all it is a miserable and grotty place to stay. Although prices of all accommodation have soared since the end of covid lockdown, this is very poor value for money, whatever way you look at it. I must admit that it is only 75% of the recent price of a place which I formerly visited, also managed by I & H Cottages, but it is only around 33% of the quality, and is desperately in need of investment, or withdrawal from the rental market. Before visiting, I had already paid a deposit for a visit next spring, due to lack of availability of any other lodging, but I am seriously considering that the 300 pounds deposit may be a reasonable fee to pay in order to never return to the place. I have until February to decide. The ridiculous prices of everything in Scotland, since covid lockdown ended, and the lack of availability of anything decent, had already made me think I was unlikely to visit the region many more times, and two weeks I had in this place has convinced me that, even if I go to Scotland that one more time, it will be the last, and I will only be visiting developed nations for holidays during the rest of my years.
Visited October 2021
Written 13 November 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mobile564282
Mobile564282
Thank you for your review of Allt Slapin. We take all feedback on board, whether good or bad, so please be assured your comments will be noted. However, we are also aware that you didn't have the best holiday due to circumstances outwith our control. We were all in touch during your stay, helping to ensure you were OK, but not once did you mention any of the points you have raised during these conversations. Allt Slapin is a family holiday home that holds dear memories for the owners, and helps to create lasting memories for guests. It is furnished with furniture that has been passed down through the generations, so though it is not new and modern, it is comfortable and homely. Torrin is located on a single track road, similar to most of the roads on Skye once you get off the main trunk road. The access road to the cottage is shared with friendly neighbours. Skye marble has been used for the track as it is not only the local stone, but it is naturally white helping to lighten the track at night. We accept no responsibility for this reviewer's opinion of Scotland as a whole. We think Scotland, and especially the Isle of Skye, is a beautiful country with much to offer guests.
Written 7 February 2022. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

John Q
John Q
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Skye Larking
Spent a week in this lovely cottage with my brother and brother in law for a guys week in the hills. The location is magnificent sitting on the banks of Loch Slappin with views across to the magnificent Bla Bheinn. The cottage itself has everything you need for a weeks self catering. It also has Wi Fi so we were able to WhatsApp the family as there is no phone signal in the area. The next door neighbours Hugo, Caroline and their daughter Catherine are very friendly, they also have chickens whose eggs are delicious. We had the most amazing week and are already planning our next visit to Torrin in Alt Slappin cottage
Visited September 2019
Written 30 September 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

uvk
uvk
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sehr individuell eingerichtete Ferienwohnung mit fantastischen Ausblicken zu allen Seiten
Das Herausragende an diesem Cottage ist der Blick auf die Berge und Loch Slapin. Eigentlich könnte man den ganzen Urlaub dort verbringen (unser absoluter Lieblingsplatz: die Chaiselongue im Wohnzimmer) und einfach nur beobachten, wie sich das Licht auf den umgebenden Bergen verändert und wolken vorbeiziehen ... Diese Ferienwohnung wurde von einem Individualisten eingerichtet; nichts Überflüssiges lenkt von der Aussicht ab. Vom Cottage aus kann man dirket aufbrechen zu schönen Spaziergängen und Wanderungen, ohne groß das Auto zu bewegen. Einziges, aber wirklich nur kleines Problem, scheint die Nähe zum Wasser zu sein: Sobald man eine Weile nicht lüftet, riecht es muffig.
Visited June 2019
Written 2 July 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-3 of 3

What this rental offers
Scenic views
  • Mountain views
  • Waterfront views
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Kitchen and dining
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
Outdoor amenities
  • Private yard
Location info
  • Kid friendly
Indoor amenities
  • Central heating
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Television
Nearby
  • Hiking areas
  • Countryside area
Parking
  • Parking available

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

June 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

July 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4

Map
Getting there
Inverness Airport
123.7 km

Coll Island Airport
77.7 km
Restaurants
Amy’s Place
2 min

The Coffee Bothy
7.2 km

Deli Gasta
7.7 km

Harbour Restaurant
7.4 km
Attractions
Camasunary Bay
6.3 kmBodies of Water

Hand Spinners Having Fun
7.4 kmSpeciality & Gift Shops

Isle of Skye Candle Company
7.1 kmSpeciality & Gift Shops

Love from Skye
7.6 kmSpeciality & Gift Shops
Access
Car required

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 4 pm Check out by 10 am
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo.svg   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL2229137593

Frequently Asked Questions about Allt Slapin, Torrin

Allt Slapin, Torrin is able to accommodate up to 5 guests. See all property details.

Allt Slapin, Torrin has one bathroom available. See all property details.

Allt Slapin, Torrin has 3 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Allt Slapin, Torrin must last at least 7 nights. See all property details.

Tripadvisor - Allt Slapin, Torrin