We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property

The Buttery

front of terrace
1 of 15front of terrace
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms , 4 Bathrooms , Sleeps 10
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England
5 bedrooms, sleeps 10, sea views from front balcony and rear terrace, carefully restored and modernised in 2011 by architect-owner and being made available for the 1st time in Aug 2011. Ideal for families. Piano. Perfectly located near shore & moor in the wonderful village of Mortehoe, near fabulous coastal paths, moorland walks, golf, local swimming beach and Woolacombe surfing. Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Unesco Biosphere reserve, conservation area, surrounded by National Trust farmland.
Listing #HL190970
About the Owner
Dominic P
Languages spoken:Czech, German, English, Italian, French, Spanish
Response Rate:95%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:November 2011
Interaction with guests
Happy to answer all questions at any time.
Reviews from our community
Write a Review
Reviews (53)

1 - 3 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2018

We stayed at the buttery with 3 families. The house is lovely, spacious and well equipped. The location is perfect, closed to Mortehoe pubs, tea room and take away. Also you can easily walk to the Woolacombe beach and avoid the busy beach car park....More

Thank Sophie D
jumpsky, VR Owner at The Buttery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Hi Sophie, many thanks for sharing your experiences, great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Mortehoe.

Reviewed 23 April 2018

From the time we booked Dominic was an excellent host, providing detailed info on the house and village. The outside paint work does need a little TLC, but don't let this put you off. This is a fabulous house, large and spacious with everything you...More

Thank BirminghamWineSchool
jumpsky, VR Owner at The Buttery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hi Rob, great to read your review, we would love you to return to Mortehoe and if you do you will find that the window frames were just about to be repainted when you stayed ... sorry about the peeling bits! :)

See more reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017

The Buttery was a wonderful location for a half term get away! We were a large group, of 5 children between 2 and 8 and 4 adults, yet we never felt cramped or under each others feet! Plenty of trip to the beach and some...More

1  Thank Antje M
jumpsky, VR Owner at The Buttery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Many thanks for your stay and for your feedback. :)

Amenities
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Bunk Beds:(1)
  • Cable/satellite TV
  • Central Heating
  • Cooker
  • Dining Seats (18)
  • Dishwasher
  • Double Beds:(1)
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • En Suite Rooms (2)
  • Freezer
  • Full Baths (1)
  • Hairdryer
  • Highchair
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room Seats (8)
  • Microwave
  • Ocean Views
  • Parking
  • Queen Beds:(1)
  • Refrigerator
  • Shower Rooms (1)
  • Single Beds:(2)
  • Sofa Beds:(1)
  • Stereo System
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • VCR
  • Washer
  • Wi-Fi
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets allowed
    Smoking not allowed
    Check in: 4:00 PM
    Check out: 10:00 AM
Bathrooms
    1 Full bath
    1 Shower
    2 Attached (ensuite)
Bedrooms
    1 Bunk
    1 Sofa
    1 Queen
    1 Full
    2 Twins
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Please contact the manager for complete rate information.
Fees
  • Damage Deposit: ₹ 18,701 / stay - Deposit
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Includes all laundry (bedding and bath towels, bath mats, tea towels etc), WiFi, free phone calls to UK landlines, satellite TV, electricity, gas and so on.
Out of season we are happy to offer short breaks. Please see mortehoeholiday.co.uk or contact owner for more info and pricing.
Hide Rates
Map
About the neighbourhood
Mortehoe is an unspoiled village within walking distance of Woolacombe's famous surf beach. There are more secluded sandy beaches and hidden coves to explore lierally just down the hill from Mortehoe. The village is an ideal base for exploring the dramatic coastline and rugged uplands.

Whatever the weather there is an attraction or activity to suit, and plenty of retail therapy in Barnstaple, Ilfracombe and Braunton. Or just enjoy being in this ancient and unique community. Whether enjoying the sandy beaches, the fascinating local nature or even the occasional Atlantic storm, the Mortehoe area gives you the best that North Devon has to offer.

Your journey starts here!
Access
Car advised
How to get there
Airport: Exeter: 98.0 km
Railway: Barnstaple: 22.0 km
Ferry: Plymouth: 120.0 km
Located in the heart of Mortehoe village.
DRIVING: for SatNav the house's exact coordinates are 51.18449,-4.20927. Or use the postcode EX34 7DX to get to Mortehoe and you'll find The Buttery and Cromlech House opposite the Chichester Arms pub.
Directions from M5:
At junction 27, take the A361 exit to Tiverton/Barnstaple (0.3 mi)
At the roundabout, take the 3rd exit onto A361 heading to Barnstaple/Tiverton/Halberton/Sampford Peverell
Go through 2 roundabouts (25.6 mi)
At N Aller Roundabout, take the 3rd exit onto A399 (14.3 mi)
Turn left onto Long Ln/A3123 (2.8 mi)
Turn left onto A3123 (4.1 mi)
At the roundabout, take the 2nd exit onto B3343 (1.8 mi)
Turn right onto Mortehoe Station Rd
When you get to Mortehoe Village follow the road when it
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Golf Course Is On Site Or Within 15 Mins Walk, Horse Riding Nearby, Water Park Nearby, Watersports Nearby, Nearest Beach: 0.4 km.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL190970
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply