We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TEIFI HOUSE, comfortable cottage, en-suite, woodburner, WiFi, nearby river

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Policies
Overview
3 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
6 guests
3 nights minimum
Holiday Rental House
This semi-detached cottage is in the village of Cilgerran near Cardigan in Wales and sleeps six people in three bedrooms.Teifi House is a semi-detached cottage in the village of Cilgerran near Cardigan in Wales. The cottage sleeps six people in three bedrooms which are made up of a king-size double, a double, and an adult bunks room. There is also a bathroom, a kitchen, a sitting room with a dining area and a woodburner, and a utility. Outside there is off road parking for two cars and an enclosed front patio with furniture. Teifi House is ideal for families and friends as there are a variety of activities in the area. Amenities: Oil central heating with woodburner. Gas range oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi. Fuel, power and...This semi-detached cottage is in the village of Cilgerran near Cardigan in Wales and sleeps six people in three bedrooms.Teifi House is a semi-detached cottage in the village of Cilgerran near Cardigan in Wales. The cottage sleeps six people in three bedrooms which are made up of a king-size double, a double, and an adult bunks room. There is also a bathroom, a kitchen, a sitting room with a dining area and a woodburner, and a utility. Outside there is off road parking for two cars and an enclosed front patio with furniture. Teifi House is ideal for families and friends as there are a variety of activities in the area. Amenities: Oil central heating with woodburner. Gas range oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi. Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburner inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. Off road parking for 2 cars. Enclosed front patio with furniture and steep side garden. Two well-behaved dogs welcome. Sorry, no smoking. Shop, pubs, restaurant and cash machine 5 mins walk uphill. Note: Side garden is steep and accessed via a private path, care to be taken. Region: Famous for its choirs, stunning mountain ranges and beautiful valleys, this wonderful country has something for everyone. From Snowdonia in North Wales to the Brecon Beacons and the Pembrokeshire Coast in the South. Town: Cilgerran is a delightful village with three pubs and a village store near to the popular market town of Cardigan. Situated above the Teifi Gorge, there are walks down to the river and the two castles; the National Trusts Cilgerran Castle and the romantic ruins of the 13th century castle. Within walking distance are The Welsh Wildlife Centre and Teifi March Nature Reserve, providing fabulous trails along the stunning River Teifi and the chance to explore a rich variety of habitats and enjoy relaxing by the river. Nearby is the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, Preselli Hills and the stunning coastline of Cardigan Bay.More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Bathrooms
1 Full bath, 1 Attached (ensuite)
Show more
About the Manager
Sykes Holiday Cottages
Languages spoken:English
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:October 2009
Contribute
Reviews (6)
Jen Howells
Jen Howells
Bridgend, United Kingdom6 contributions
Having read some of the previous reviews, I have to admit that I was a little nervous. I needn't have worried. The place was absolutely spotless and well equipped with everything you could possibly need. A lovely cosy cottage in a fabulous location. Had a lovely Sunday lunch and evening meal in the Cardiff Arms and the breakfast in Adele's is fab too. Would not hesitate to book this cottage again.
Visited September 2020
Written 19 September 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Katie H
Katie H
Bridgend, United Kingdom166 contributions
We arrived on Saturday 12th September for a Saturday to Saturday staycation. The place was lovely and clean and looks like it has been recently refurbished. The photos do not do it justice. The beds are really comfortable and we didn't hear any noise at all. Thr cottage is close to places like carmarthen and Tenby both within an hours drive. The Cardiff Arms isn't too far away and does a beautiful Sunday lunch and you wouldn't go too far wrong having cheesecake for dessert. We were lucky with the weather too but wouldn't have minded staying at the cottage watching the dvds that were there or playing cards on the table in the kitchen. There is a fireplace there but with the heating we didn't need to use it. Will hopefully be back again
Visited September 2020
Written 17 September 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Catherine S
Catherine S
4 contributions
Was surprised by previous reviews, as I have just returned from an excellent week's stay with the family! In a really lovely peaceful location on the Teifi River and the house has everything you could need and much more! Lovely big kitchen diner with everything you need, 3 fab bedrooms with very comfortable beds and a great lounge with a log burning fire. Also the location is great for exploring the Teifi River and Cilgerran Castle as both in walking distance. Plus if want to go further afield to places such as New Quay and Tenby, which are both worth a visit. Poppit Sands a lovely local beach which is a most also! Will be booking again soon as we all had a great time!
Visited January 2019
Written 14 January 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Graham S
Graham S
Skegby, United Kingdom4 contributions
We booked this holiday for our Christmas break towards the end of the summer when all the reviews were positive. Shortly before our holiday we checked on the reviews again to find some very negative feed back. So we contacted Sykes cottages to express our concerns. They then contacted the owner who said all the cleanliness issues had been resolved with a change of cleaning company. On arrival we found this not to be true. We unloaded the car after our 5 hour trip put the kettle on and the oven to warm some food we'd bought with us. The kitchen filled with smoke and the smell of burning fat. On wiping the work tops down found they were very dirty and sticky with grease. On further inspection the microwave was dirty the inside rubbish bin covered in grime and dirt on the outside. The whole kitchen felt grubby and we didn't take our shoes off as the floor was covered in dog hairs and bits (soil and dirt) the lounge carpets needed a damm good vacuum, the dining room chairs were covered in crumbs. The stairs carpet and surrounding paintwork was covered in dust dog hairs. The upstairs carpets were the same, the window sills up stairs had months of mould on them. All the windows in the house needed a damm good clean, the down stairs patio doors were covered in muddy dog foot prints and doggy nose art. On a good note the beds were clean and comfy. The sinks, toilet and shower upstairs were clean. The downstairs toilet was dirty. The dishwasher did not work the lights were on but nothing happened. The owner had told us there maybe a problem with it but was trying to get someone to come and look at it. We contacted the owner that evening with our concerns, he was very apologetic. He arranged for the cleaner to come that evening to discuss our concerns, on arrival he was very rude and had an aggressive manner and said the house was clean and we had made the mess on the carpets as he himself had vacuumed earlier with a dyson (must have forgot to plug it in ) we then asked him to leave and contacted the owner again and told him what had happened the cleaner then burst back into the kitchen and said he would hoover what we thought was not vacuumed . At this point I told the owner we were uncomfortable with what had happened . So he told us to tell the cleaner to leave . He later arranged for a professional oven cleaner to come Christmas eve . So the next day we all set too and washed the pots we needed to use on our stay and vacuumed all through the house and wiped all the surfaces . (Happy holidays ) After all the drama on the first evening we settled down to watch the tv only to find out that it didn't work properly. So contacted the owner AGAIN, by this time it was 9pm, who then after various text messages back and forth and after rebooting and re tuning the Freesat box managed to get the tv working. On returning from our holiday we rang Sykes Cottages and lodged our compliant who have since contacted the owner and is now disputing the house is dirty. Surprise surprise could this be because we have asked for some money back . Sykes Cottages have asked for evidence .We have some photos although grease grim and unvacummed carpet do not photo very well especially the lounge carpet which is cream with brown flex in it and photographs of the windows just focuses on the things outside. The whole experience has spoilt our Christmas and that of our friend s . We will not be using Sykes cottages again or returning to teifi house which is a shame as the setting for this little cottage is in a perfect place . It would be heaven on earth during the summer months.
Visited December 2018
Written 2 January 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Quest258378
Quest258378
Good Afternoon graham2000, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Teifi House. I can see we have spoken with you today and are currently awaiting your photographs so we may complete a full investigation into the issues you have brought to our attention. We hope to bring this to a swift conclusion for you and thank you for your continued patience with this matter. Kind regards, Becki at Sykes Cottages
Written 2 January 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ahh21
ahh21
28 contributions
Sorry Sykes. We are here now, due to check out in the morning. I don't think anyone does any cleaning. Whoever was in the house before us, left the dishwasher full of dirty dishes, dirty microwave, the outside bins had soggy rubbish in them not bagged, dog poo in the garden, downstairs toilet not clean, the trap on the kitchen sink wasn't screwed on and the water just poured through to the cupboard, must have happened before judging by the state of the cupboard and the empty sink unblocked cleaner bottles. Not hoovered with dog treats and chews around the lounge. No Visitors Book to comment in. The Idiots Guide to the House is well worn and parts unreadable. In their favour it's a toasty house with instant hot water and heat at the touch of the Boost button, couldn't fathom out the timer. Beds were clean and comfy. Towels were clean although only small bath towels. The sinks and bathrooms upstairs were clean. So half a job has been done. So I didn't mind if my dog ran all over the house and left dog hairs, I just hope the hoover works in the morning so I can clean it before the next person.
Visited November 2018
Written 16 November 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Quest258378
Quest258378
Good Afternoon ahh21, Thank you for your comments. I cannot see you have contacted us during or after your stay to raise any concerns other than complete our standard feedback form which we have tried to contact you about to discuss your experience on several occasions; unfortunately, we have been unable to reach you. To confirm, we would not expect any of our customer's to clean the property on their arrival and had we known about these issues, we would have looked to have resolved this for you as soon as possible. Should you wish to discuss your comments, please do give us a call. Kind regards, Becki at Sykes Cottages
Written 26 November 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

HDM
HDM
2 contributions
Upon arriving at the cottage I thought great, but was surprised to see lots of wine bottles left outside, and rubbish sacks. Once in the house, the layout is superb, but the standard of cleanliness was very poor, carpets needed vacuuming before we could move our stuff, window sills upstairs had months of mould on them. In the kitchen, doors were hanging by 1 hinge only, dishwasher didn't work, oven was difficult to ignite but once lit had 1 temperature only...lets burn the food. We had to clean the kitchen table as there was cooked rice on it! Garden was unkempt, overgrown and decking covered with dog hair. Cleaner should be sacked. Great potential very poorly run, will not return!!! We have photos to prove!
Visited September 2018
Written 9 October 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Quest258378
Quest258378
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Teifi House and I am very sorry your experience was not as expected. The cleanliness and maintenance issues outlined are extremely out of character for this property and have been addressed with the owner direct; I am pleased to report that no further problems have arisen since your stay so thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. I can see that a gesture was offered to you and this has since been resolved. Once again, apologies for your experience and thank you for allowing us to resolve this for you. Kind regards, Becki at Sykes Cottages.
Written 5 November 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-6 of 6
Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Central Heating
Dishwasher
Freezer
Refrigerator
Internet Access
Kettle
Business Travel
Microwave
Parking
Private Garden
Cooker
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
Rural/Countryside Retreats
See more amenities
Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

December 2022

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1

January 2023

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
Map
+
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby
Cancellation Policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available if you cancel thereafter

Enter your trip dates to see an exact cancellation policy.

*Booking fee is excluded from refund amount

About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2226979145
Frequently Asked Questions about TEIFI HOUSE, comfortable cottage, en-suite, woodburner, WiFi, nearby river

TEIFI HOUSE, comfortable cottage, en-suite, woodburner, WiFi, nearby river is able to accommodate up to 6 guests. See all property details.

TEIFI HOUSE, comfortable cottage, en-suite, woodburner, WiFi, nearby river has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

TEIFI HOUSE, comfortable cottage, en-suite, woodburner, WiFi, nearby river has 3 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at TEIFI HOUSE, comfortable cottage, en-suite, woodburner, WiFi, nearby river must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.