We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abbey Farm Holiday Homes - The Haggart

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
1 bedroom
1 bathroom
3 guests
Minimum stay varies 
The minimum stay for this property changes depending on the dates selected
Cottage
A newly constructed single storey wheelchair accessible 1 bedroom cottage furnished to provide 4 star accommodation. 1 twin bedroom (1 double and 1 single bed) with wet room (toilet, basin and wheel-in shower) and spacious open plan kitchen/dining/living room with an open fire. The living room leads out to a sitting area overlooking the shared central courtyard.
House Rules
Pet-friendlyKid friendlyNo smoking
No parties allowed Pets must be on a lead when outside. Electricity is charged extra on meter read at end of stay
Bedrooms
1 Double1 Single
Bathrooms
1 Shower

Meet the host
Mary F
Hosting since June 2012
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsYou are welcome to come and see the cows being milked on the farm

Contribute
Reviews (20)
Vicky C
Vicky C
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great, friendly, wheelchair accessible
The Abbey Farm was one of the coziest places we have ever stayed at. My husband is wheelchair bound and was able to move around freely and the bathroom was very accessible. Mary made us feel very welcomed and comfortable making sure all our needs were met. We were a large group and it was great having our own space and plenty of room when we got together. We hope one day we are able to return. Castillo
Visited April 2024
Written 11 June 2024. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

johnboy1234978
johnboy1234978
Roscommon, Ireland8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
EXCELENT LOCATION
13KM from Skibbereen the location is ideal to travel around West Cork which is idyllic We spent a week in the Haggard Cottage which was very clean and all the amenities required for a comfortable stay Mary & Aiden were very helpful and were very generous with their time during our stay We would highly recommend this holiday rental which is a perfectly quiet location in a superb picture environment Hopefully we will get the opportunity to return
Visited April 2023
Written 16 April 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Karin E
Karin E
Skibbereen, Ireland1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly recommend
Amazing and welcoming hosts. The house felt spacious and it was very clean and tidy. Beds were super comfortable and kitchen well equipped. The location is great, just outside Skibbereen, which was an ideal base for exploring West Cork attractions. It was awesome to stay on a real working farm and Aidan is very happy to talk about what goes on. Very welcoming to pets. Highly recommend!
Visited January 2023
Written 24 March 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Macmagner
Macmagner
37 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Gorgeous home away from Home
Beautiful cottage much bigger on arrival than the photos look. Located beside a working dairy farm. Wonderful hosts so friendly and welcoming! Even left brown bread, milk & eggs on arrival which was much appreciated. Only a stones throw from Skibbereen and easy access to all the main west cork attractions. House is spotlessly clean , tv , wireless internet , ample parking , washing facilities etc. So quiet and peaceful. We will be back!
Visited August 2020
Written 12 August 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Dream39983817196
Dream39983817196
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent wheelchair accessible accommodation
Family run courtyard of 4 houses, a few kilometres from Skibbereen, lovely setting in the countryside. Very good location within easy reach of Lough Hyne, Baltimore , Mizen head, Clonakilty, Bantry etc. The Haggart is a comfortable accessible bungalow and Mary and Aidan are very helpful and obliging. This was our second year and please God we will be back again.
Visited July 2020
Written 25 July 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Info A
Info A
Thank you for the great review. Delighted you enjoyed your time with us again this year. Looking forward to having you back again sometime. Mary
Written 30 July 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

katharinamartin07
katharinamartin07
Berlin, Germany3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sehr gerne wieder
Wir hatten einen so wunderbaren Aufenthalt dort, dass ich gar nicht weiß, wo ich anfangen soll. Das Haus (The Haggart) ist sehr gemütlich und freundlich eingerichtet. Vom Essbereich bis hin zur Couch. Es ist sauber, gepflegt und sehr gut ausgestattet. Man hat alles, was man so zum Kochen etc. benötigt. Das W-Lan funktioniert sehr gut. Der Kamin ist so gemütlich. Wir sind so gern nach einem Ausflug nach Hause gekommen. Es fühlte sich wie zu Hause an. Wir konnten draußen auf der Terrasse unseres Hauses in der Sonne sitzen, was ich sehr genossen habe, weil das Wetter auch so gut war. Deshalb fand ich es auch besonders schön, dass wir unsere eigene Terrasse hatten. Toll fand ich, dass wir beim Melken der Kühe zusehen durften! Danke Aidan! Es ist auf einer Farm, wo es noch mehr Ferienhäuser gibt. Es liegt sehr ruhig und doch zentral. Das Zentrum von Skibbereen ist ca. 3 km weg, also sehr schnell zu erreichen, mit allen Einkaufsmöglichkeiten, Restaurants und Cafe´s, Fahrradverleih etc.. Samstags gibt es dort einen tollen Markt mit regionalen Produkten. Das Haus liegt ideal für sämtliche Ausflüge (z.B. zum Mizen Head), Wanderungen, Radtouren etc.. Die Eigentümer leben ebenfalls auf dem Gelände. Sie leben die irische Gastfreundschaft und sind so unkompliziert! Liebe Mary und lieber Aidan, vielen Dank für eure Gastfreundschaft und Freundlichkeit. Ihr habt diesen Ort für die Zeit, die wir da waren, zu einem zu Hause gemacht. Danke für die Milch, den Torf und, dass ihr immer ansprechbar wart. Ich hoffe, dass wir bald mal wieder kommen können! Ich plane in meinem Kopf schon die nächste Reise :-) Wir haben uns so wohlgefühlt bei euch! Liebe Grüße von Katharina und Tobias M. aus Berlin!
Visited September 2019
Written 10 October 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Info A
Info A
Katharine We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Haggart. Thank you for the great review. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Written 16 October 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sally A
Sally A
Sheffield, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Brill
Stayed here a few times but first time in haggart very clean had everything we needed Mary even moved the bed into the living room so my daughter didn't have to sleep with us lovely couple and looking forward to coming back next Yr
Visited September 2019
Written 11 September 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Info A
Info A
Thank you for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed, yet another trip to Abbey Farm Holiday Homes. Looking forward to meeting you all again in 2020
Written 17 September 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stephen B
Stephen B
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Not 4 star
First thing you get is a damp smell placed needs a deep cleaning wardrobe smells couches damp and stained needs replacing very uncomfortable microwave dirty and rusty this is not 4 star that the add leads you to believe sorry very bad move to Kerry Ocean Lodge only 3 star lovely place spotless still waiting for refund from haggard
Visited August 2019
Written 25 August 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Info A
Info A
Thank you for your review, we always encourage and welcome feedback from our guests, as we continually try to improve their experience with us. Unfortunately you didn't communicate any concerns to us while you were staying at our accommodation, if you had, we would have endeavoured to address them and I'm sure would have been able to give you a more positive experience. I tried calling you numerous times but didn't get a reply. On points you raised, the house is cleaned on a weekly basis/when guests leave and is not damp. As you can see from other reviews, your complaints are not shared or even noted by other guests. Thank you for acknowledging receipt of the FULL refund which you received within 4 working days of forwarding your Bank Account details to me. Again to reiterate, it is regretable that you didn't talk to us before leaving the accommodation as I am sure we would have resolved this matter between us, there and then.
Written 17 September 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Thomas F
Thomas F
Carlingford, Ireland1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hosts, great accommodation
Aidan and Mary were wonderful hosts. Really generous with their time. Couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely cottage. Great base for exploring beautiful West Cork. Highly recommended. Would love to return. Aidan and Mary were wonderful hosts. Really generous with their time. Couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely cottage. Great base for exploring beautiful West Cork. Highly recommended. Would love to return.
Visited August 2019
Written 4 August 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Info A
Info A
Thanks for the great review. Delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you and we would love to have you stay with us again.
Written 22 August 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Neil H
Neil H
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just the job
Over the years, it has proven very difficult to find truly accessible/disabled friendly accommodation in locations we wish to visit. The Haggart is much bigger and more spacious than it looked online and after one or two email exchanges with Mary, it became clear it was 'just the job'. Plenty of room to move around and most importantly, a wet room with all the right kit in terms of hand rails in the shower and around the toilet. The toilet itself is high which is important for my partner. To her credit, Mary listened to a couple of pointers that would top things off and I'm confident she will sort these out - she was that kind of person. The sofa was a bit too low for people with some types of disability to get out of without help and the gravel at the front was extremely difficult to move a wheelchair across. Don't get me wrong, The Haggart is fantastic and ultimately ticked all our boxes as did the country and its people of course. Mary and her husband couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, especially given they also run a working farm! A 'big up' for The Haggart from us both.
Visited August 2016 Travelled as a couple
Written 1 September 2016. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Info A
Info A
Neil, Thanks for the great review and I'm delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us. The gravel is easily sorted we have brushed this away from in front of the house, which makes it easier now for wheelchairs. As for the couch I will certainly be on the look out for a higher one. This is something I wouldn't have thought of myself, thanks for pointing it out. We always ask for feedback as we try our best to make it as accessible as possible for everyone.
Written 6 September 2016. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 20

What this rental offers
Things to do
  • Fishing spots available
  • Watersports
  • Cycling areas
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Television
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Iron
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Kitchen and dining
  • Grill
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
  • Horse riding facilities
  • Tennis court
  • Hiking areas
  • Countryside area
Outdoor amenities
  • Patio
Indoor amenities
  • Fireplace
  • Internet access
  • Cable television
Parking
  • Parking available
Scenic views
  • Mountain views
Location info
  • Kid friendly

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

June 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

July 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4

Map
Getting there
Cork Airport
64.2 km

Kerry County Airport
71.4 km
Restaurants
An Chistin Beag
1.8 km

The Church Restaurant
2 km

Kalbos Café
2.1 km

The Sibín
6.9 km
Attractions
Lough Hyne
5.5 kmNature & Wildlife Areas

Skibbereen Heritage Centre
1.7 kmHistory Museums

Abbeystrewry Graveyard
14 minCemeteries

Cre Pottery Studio
2.2 kmPaint & Pottery Studios
About the neighbourhood
1 mile outside the town of Skibbereen on a working dairyfarm. Enjoy the peace and quite of the country life, hear the birds singing in the morning while town is accessible in 4 minutes drive.
Access
Car advised
Activities nearby
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)Horse riding facilitiesTennis courtWatersports

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 4 pm Check out by 10 am
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 8 weeks before check-in
  • 25% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed
Notes from owner
Terms & conditions of booking 1. € 150.00 Non-refundable deposit. 2. Balance of payment payable 4 weeks prior to arrival. 3. Electricity by meter reading at end of stay. 4. Arrival time 3pm, departure time 10am. 5. Dogs allowed with prior consent. 6. No smoking allowed inside the houses.

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Still can't find what you're looking for?

Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/FK_Supplier_Logo.png   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #FKN2223510471

Frequently Asked Questions about Abbey Farm Holiday Homes - The Haggart

Abbey Farm Holiday Homes - The Haggart is able to accommodate up to 3 guests. See all property details.

Abbey Farm Holiday Homes - The Haggart has one bathroom available. See all property details.

Abbey Farm Holiday Homes - The Haggart has one bedroom available. See all property details.

Tripadvisor - Abbey Farm Holiday Homes - The Haggart