We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Bluefields
Post
Inbox
Search

Jim's Place - Garden Suite - Whitehouse,Westmoreland.

9 reviews
Save
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
1 bedroom
1 bathroom
2 guests
3 nights minimum
Condo/Apartment
Jim's Place is on a hillside acre in a gated community on the beautiful south west coast of Jamaica. We have been here for 19 years, but since 2014 we have been making our place available to guests beyond friends and family. Our studio Garden Suite is private and self-contained, with a sleeping area [double], an equipped kitchenette with dining booth, full bathroom and private veranda with a staircase that leads you to the pool and poolside cabana. The unit, on its own level, is nestled within a larger 3 storey villa home occasionally occupied by the Canadian owner. Although it could be described as 'rustic' [no AC - the house is designed to catch the breezes] it is comfortable and includes WiFi, housekeeping service as required and much advice as to the many local amenities. The South coa...Jim's Place is on a hillside acre in a gated community on the beautiful south west coast of Jamaica. We have been here for 19 years, but since 2014 we have been making our place available to guests beyond friends and family. Our studio Garden Suite is private and self-contained, with a sleeping area [double], an equipped kitchenette with dining booth, full bathroom and private veranda with a staircase that leads you to the pool and poolside cabana. The unit, on its own level, is nestled within a larger 3 storey villa home occasionally occupied by the Canadian owner. Although it could be described as 'rustic' [no AC - the house is designed to catch the breezes] it is comfortable and includes WiFi, housekeeping service as required and much advice as to the many local amenities. The South coast of Jamaica is known for its laid-back, relatively undeveloped nature... an ideal place for rest and relaxation away from the bustle of tourist filled 'all-inclusive' resort life. The village of Whitehouse is 1 mile to the east - a market town known across the region for its fish market as well as the local farmers' market for fresh produce. Our staff will be happy to guide you or do your daily shopping, you can even wake before the sun and meet the fishermen on the beach as they bring in their fresh catches from the night before. There are also many options for day trips to attractions, both local and further afield, and licenced tour drivers are always available. Or you can just sit back and relax - enjoy the amazing view and the soft breeze off the sea. The 'Moon Guide' [a British travel publication] said that we enjoy 'the best sunsets to be had in Jamaica'. And that's the truth. Each night you'll watch as the sun drops into the Caribbean, splashing the sky with it's radiance. There are private [part of our community] and public beaches a 10 minute walk down the hill where you'll discover a truly wonderful way to spend the day, searching for seashells and swimming in the warm ocean surf, but know that we are 240 feet above sea level; so after the walk 'home', you will likely need a refreshing dip in the beautiful horizon pool overlooking our lush gardens and a cold Red Stripe.More
House Rules
Bathrooms
Show more
About the Owner
Jim's P
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:January 2014
Interaction with guests
Although the Canadian owners are not always on the property, they are as close as an email. Our 24/7 caretaker, Hepburn, lives in his own cottage by the main gate and is available to answer any questions or address any concerns. He makes an excellent guide to the local community and is always happy to show guests around the district or arrange for transportation if needed.
Write a review
Reviews (9)

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2019 via mobile

We rented this place for 3 weeks but only stayed one The little mini bar fridge dosent work well ... keeps beer warm The pots & pans & cooking utensils are in horrible shape The place at night fills with bugs , mosquitoes & cock...More

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Xpeabody
Jim P, VR Owner at Jim's Place - Garden Suite - Whitehouse,Westmoreland., responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2019

This guest's review is the exception to the many others over the past 3 years who have left 4 and 5 star reviews on both sites where we are listed. It is true that we offer a semi-rustic experience, unlike what you would find in...More

Reviewed 22 January 2019

Loved the view, location, and especially the folks who made our stay so memorable! Thanks to Oney, our driver Chris, and also Navallee. She made us three different meals while we were staying there, delicious, and we had fun dining with her and Oney. They...More

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank Laury B
Jim P, VR Owner at Jim's Place - Garden Suite - Whitehouse,Westmoreland., responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2019

Laury and John were wonderful guests and we would recommend them to any host. The left the suite neat and tidy. Thank you both and come back any time.

See more reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2019

Just wrapping up our 18 day stay at Jim’s Place. The villa is picturesque and the view is fantastic. The people in the town are very friendly and it is a great walk down to town. Coming back up the hill is not for the...More

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank esbjohn
Jim P, VR Owner at Jim's Place - Garden Suite - Whitehouse,Westmoreland., responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

It was a pleasure to host Laury and John and they will certainly be welcomed back again and by our staff as well. Meeting the needs of each of our guests is a learning experience and we improve every time. We were also pleased to...More

Reviewed 14 April 2018

The property looks exactly as advertised - gorgeous, a little quirky, and refreshingly wild, perfect for travelers who are looking for (possible) adventure with a laid-back vibe. Short walk to the beach - but ask Hepburn how to get there first, otherwise it can be...More

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank msleeadavis
Jim P, VR Owner at Jim's Place - Garden Suite - Whitehouse,Westmoreland., responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Lee Ann was a wonderful guest and a good communicator from start to finish. This is so important when visiting another country or an unfamiliar part of a country you've visited before. She asked all the right questions and I would highly recommend her to...More

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Very good value ,quirky, architect designed, property on a semi-developed, high end ,housing scheme. The pictures are exactly how it is : exclusive, clean pool; chilling hammock gazebo; terrific sea view; quirky shower room with hot water; sunny balcony ; good mattress with fans and...More

Date of stay: January 2017
1  Thank Margaret A
Jim P, VR Owner at Jim's Place - Garden Suite - Whitehouse,Westmoreland., responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Wonderful couple who got into the spirit of our friendly community. They will be welcome back anytime and often. Highly recommended guests, a pleasure to host.

Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: Yes
Kid Friendly: Yes
Suitable For Children Under 5
Refrigerator
Porch
Washer
Safe
Outdoor Dining Area
Towels Provided
Ocean Views
Private Garden
A Winter Sun Getaway
Books
Ceiling Fans
Rural/Countryside Retreats
Linens Provided
Secure Parking
Internet Access
Children's Pool
Toaster
Telephone
Cooker
Grill
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
Local Guides/Maps
Fishing Nearby
Water Views
Housekeeping Optional
Soap/Shampoo Provided
Iron
Beach Or Lakeside Relaxation
Hiking Trips
Good Nightlife
Balcony
Private Outdoor Pool (Unheated)
Wi-Fi
Kettle
Terrace
Patio
See more amenities
Would you recommend this holiday rental to a family with kids?YesNoUnsure
Availability
December 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
March 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
May 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
We are located in a gated community on the south west coast of Jamaica near Whitehouse, Westmoreland. Our 1 acre hillside garden property is about 240 feet above sea level which affords an amazing view of the the sea looking south west and soft breezes which keep the house cool. We have access to 2 private beaches [attached to the community] as well as public beaches used by locals and fishermen. Whitehouse, 1 mile east, is our local market town, with well stocked supermarkets, post office, banks and ATMs as well as a large farmers market for fresh produce and fish direct from the sea - weather permitting. There are also several restaurants - the new Blue Waters Restaurant and Lounge being a favourite, seaside experience. Day trips can be arranged with our licenced driver to the many a...
Getting around
Walking is encouraged in our friendly local community. The beaches are 10 minutes away and all shopping and banking etc. is within 1 mile. Local taxis are also available at very reasonable rates for tours or day trips to attractions further afield.
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2223028233