We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

KOULOURA, pet friendly, with a garden in Southerness, Ref 7666

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
2 bedrooms
1 bathroom
6 guests
3 nights minimum 
Holiday Rental House
Sleeping up to six people in two bedrooms, this detached single storey cottage is set in the coastal village of Southerness.Kouloura is a charming holiday home, a single storey detached property within easy reach of the beach in Southerness. There is a double bedroom, and a family bedroom with two sets of bunk beds. There is also a family bathroom. The kitchen has a dining area, while the sitting room offers a cosy open fire, and there are also two conservatories, ensuring a sunny spot in which to relax throughout the day. Outside, the cottage offers off road parking for three cars, and also lawned gardens to the front and rear. With the beach a short walk, and the rest of Dumfries and Galloway a short drive, Kouloura makes a wonderful base for family, friends or walkers to discover this b...Sleeping up to six people in two bedrooms, this detached single storey cottage is set in the coastal village of Southerness.Kouloura is a charming holiday home, a single storey detached property within easy reach of the beach in Southerness. There is a double bedroom, and a family bedroom with two sets of bunk beds. There is also a family bathroom. The kitchen has a dining area, while the sitting room offers a cosy open fire, and there are also two conservatories, ensuring a sunny spot in which to relax throughout the day. Outside, the cottage offers off road parking for three cars, and also lawned gardens to the front and rear. With the beach a short walk, and the rest of Dumfries and Galloway a short drive, Kouloura makes a wonderful base for family, friends or walkers to discover this beautiful part of Scotland. Amenities: Electric heating with open fire in sitting room. Electric oven and hob, fridge, freezer, washing machine, TV, DVD, books/games/DVDs. Fuel, power and coal for open fire inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. Cot and highchair on request. Off road parking for up to 3 cars. Enclosed lawned garden surrounding the property with garden furniture and children's play house. Two well-behaved dogs welcome. Sorry, no smoking.Note 3 pubs in village - one closes in winter, one open all the time, one with restricted hours in winter Note: There is a bar open all winter for food and drink within a 5 minute walk. Note: Local shop/Chip shop - closes in winter Note: Closest shop in winter is 7 miles away. Note: This property does not accept Hen/Stag parties or similar. Region: From the lush green farmlands of the Borders to the ruggedness of the Highlands, the Scots are proud of their land and identity. Scotland also has some of Britain's best beaches with glorious stretches of clean sand over which to roam. Town: Established in the late 18th century, the village of Southerness looks out over the Solway Firth and forms part of the Colvend coast. Home to two pubs and a village store, the seaside village also boasts two miles of sandy beaches with dunes, rock pools and warm Gulf Stream waters, as well as one of the oldest lighthouses in Scotland. Built in 1748, this beacon was one of the first in the country. Nearby Criffel Hill is an impressive 569m tall and offers varied walks with wonderful views of the farmland and the sands of the Nith Estuary. The Southerness Championship Golf Course is definitely worth playing for its panoramic views of the Solway Firth, the Cumbrian Lake District and the Galloway Hills.
House Rules
Pet-friendlyKid friendlyNo smoking
Bedrooms
2 Doubles1 Single
Bathrooms
1 Shower

Meet the host
Sykes Holiday Cottages
Hosting since October 2009
Languages spoken: English
Response Time: Within a few hours

Contribute
Reviews (7)
Scenic544868
Scenic544868
Montrose, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Kouloura
Good location warm welcome on arrival from the owners, open fire was lit and the wine,eggs and biscuits were well received. The cottage benefitted from the conservatory at the front which was well used by us in the evenings, the garden was fully enclosed as described and our two dogs enjoyed the freedom they had. Access to the beach was just minutes away as was the Paul Jones Hotel which provided excellent food and drink and was extremely dog friendly. The owners provided us with information on what was of interest locally and leaflets were readily available in the cottage of places to visit further afield. I would definitely return in the future.
Visited August 2014
Written 17 August 2014. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Jaycee33 -:- Sedgefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cosy with large garden and conservatory
Lovely cosy cottage with open fire and a super conservatory at front and small conservatory at the back. Everything we needed was there-just like a home from home. The garden was great for the dogs which was just as well as the adjacent beach is either rocky or the sandy part is very silty. Good fish shop but can`t comment on pubs as we don`t drink. I would recommend this lovely little cottage to anyone taking dogs or kids.
Visited May 2013
Written 19 July 2013. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Highland lassie -:- Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect family holiday
A fantastic time in a lovely spot. Wonderful space in the conservatory and garden and a cosy nook sitting room with a real fire to snuggle up in the chilly spring evenings. Spotless and with extremely clean but cosy beds.
Visited March 2013
Written 22 May 2013. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Anne Oglesby -:- Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spacious but cosy
Lovely spacious accommodation but with a cosy feel enhanced by the real fire. Large enclosed garden ideal for our two dogs. Five minute walk to big beach and ten minute walk to dog friendly pub, shop and chip shop. Owners very welcoming and helpful with ideas. Kindly left wine, eggs and useful OS map. Will definitely be returning as surrounding area really pretty and still lots more to see.
Visited September 2012
Written 7 December 2012. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

MacFellwalker -:- Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A Hidden Gem
I'm so sorry it has taken me so long to get this review on the website but initially after my stay I'd put one directly on Trip advisor not realising that holiday cottages have to go through their booking agents. However I stayed at Kouloura in February this year and it was the most fabulous "getting away from it all" experience! It is not a busy place at that time of year but the cottage was just amazing. Sandy and ann have put a lot of thought into caring about the comforts of their visitors. Sandy was most helpful with showing me where to go walking with my dog and made sure that I was comfortable with plenty of heating and coal during the cold snap. The beach was within minutes of the cottage and my dog and I just loved twice daily walks either on the sandy beach to the left of the cottage or the really intersting shell beach with lots of rock pools to the right towards the light house and beyond! Wilma who owns the local pub was so welcoming and friendly which just added to the experience. Kouloura is a beautiful cottage, comfortable and homely with so many loving touches. Southerness is a little haven in the wintertime if you can appreciate the natural side of life. Certainly not for people who want to be entertained and have everything at their fingertip without going in search for it! I'll be back for sure!
Visited February 2012
Written 18 August 2012. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Marcus H
Marcus H
Newcastle, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A Perfect Getaway
This was a wonderful holiday, hardly in keeping with the other review which seems to have stayed at another location. My wife, son and I stayed here and it is a lovely little cottage with a great garden for dogs in a nice area. Yes there is a caravan park next door but we stayed in August and there was no noise or trouble but why should there be? Unless you are prejudiced against such places of course. The beach was great for exploring the rock pools and the tide was sometimes in and sometimes out. This is called nature! The owners of this cottage go out of their way to make sure you have all relevant information wether it be the cottage itself or the true beauty of the surrounding area.
Visited August 2012 Travelled as a couple
Written 12 August 2012. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

mac55_12
mac55_12
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
we lasted two days
the description of the area in my opinion was totally inaccurate. This was described as the scottish rivierra ............ if you like to be in the middle of an estate with a large caravan park overlooking your garden and beaches you cannot take your dogs on as they are covered in shells and rubbish then this is the place for you. We were told the beach was a short walk away however when we tried this we were told by one of the local residents we would have a way to go before we hit sand and the tide was in anyway so we could not get around. Next we drove to the visitors centre (approx 4 miles away) and were told to follow a path for 10 minutes and would arrive at the beach after walking along a very boggy and muddy path for 25 minutes the beach was no where in sight. We gave up after this and decided to head home. None of the ammenities in the village were open and when we questioned this with sykes we were told we should have researched the area before we arrived. This place is totally geared up to the caravan park when it is opened. When we tried to complain to the rental complany that the description was totally inaccurate and we would like a refund of some of our money we were told no an that the descriptions was accurate. I do not think of myself as a fool but could honestly not find this beach which was the sole reason we went with our dogs. If you do decide to rent this property please reseach it carefully to make sure it is what you want. We have been to many cottages in scotland and this is the first we have had problems with and i was shocked at the lack of consideration from sykes who were totally unwilling to even consider our side of the story. The cottage itself is ok but the area is a different story and the description given is totally inaccurate.
Visited January 2012 Travelled as a couple
Written 27 February 2012. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for your review and we were sorry that you were disappointed with your holiday in this beautiful location. After having left the property without first consulting the owner or ourselves, we have since discussed the issues raised with you at considerable length. As you are aware, when you arrived late in the evening at the property, a day later than expected, the owners gave you detailed information about all the nicest places to go, supplied you with a large scale OS map and welcomed you with a bottle of wine and fresh flowers. The online pictures show a very pretty beach which is sandy and stony and accurately described as a short stroll away with easy access. There are long stretches of sandy beach in both directions, which are clearly visible and within very easy walking distance of the property. You also informed the owners that you had played on Southerness championship links golf course previously - a long sandy stretch of beach with 20ft high sand dunes is quite visible from and, in fact part of, the golf course, as is the caravan park at the back of the village. We have had no negative comments whatsoever from any of our previous guests, either regarding the property or the local area, and indeed the advantage of the close proximity of the beach is regularly commented on. We are sorry that you were unable to see the beach when the tide was in. We are very disappointed that you did not take the time to enjoy the beautiful area, the lovely hotels and restaurants, and friendly village. The owners are genuinely at a loss to understand what more they could have done to give you a more enjoyable visit to their delightful property.
Written 26 February 2012. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-7 of 7

What this rental offers
Parking
  • Parking available
Bathroom and laundry
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Indoor amenities
  • Internet access
Kitchen and dining
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
Outdoor amenities
  • Private yard
Entertainment
  • Television
Location info
  • Kid friendly
Scenic views
  • Ocean views
  • Waterfront views

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

June 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

July 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4

Map
Getting there
Glasgow Prestwick Airport
93.5 km

Carlisle Lake District Airport
50.8 km
Restaurants
The Steamboat Inn
5.5 km

Paul Jones Hotel
2 min

Tea Caddy
2 min

JJ's Fish and Chip Shop
2 min
Attractions
Arbigland House and Gardens
3.1 kmArchitectural Buildings

Mersehead Nature Reserve
6.6 kmEducational sites

John Paul Jones Birthplace Cottage & Museum
2.8 kmHistoric Sites

Southerness Lighthouse
4 minLighthouses

Things to know
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

If the owner has provided contact information, you may contact him or her directly. If not, you can contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to check if the property is still available. If the owner has listed a phone number, you can also call to follow up. send enquiries to other properties. If you still don't hear from the owner, Tripadvisor recommends that you send enquiries to other properties.

If the owner approves your stay, he or she will let you know which forms of payment are accepted. This owner does not currently accept payments via the Tripadvisor inbox. You can ask him or her to sign up; payments made via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.

If you would like payment protection, ask the owner to sign up to accept online payments on Tripadvisor. Payments made via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/FK_Supplier_Logo.png   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #FKN2222403060

Frequently Asked Questions about KOULOURA, pet friendly, with a garden in Southerness, Ref 7666

KOULOURA, pet friendly, with a garden in Southerness, Ref 7666 is able to accommodate up to 6 guests. See all property details.

KOULOURA, pet friendly, with a garden in Southerness, Ref 7666 has one bathroom available. See all property details.

KOULOURA, pet friendly, with a garden in Southerness, Ref 7666 has 2 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at KOULOURA, pet friendly, with a garden in Southerness, Ref 7666 must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.

Tripadvisor - KOULOURA, pet friendly, with a garden in Southerness, Ref 7666