We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BLUEBELL COTTAGE luxurious, woodburner, WiFi , open plan in Baycliff Ref 916664

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
2 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
4 guests
3 nights minimum 
This fabulous mid-terrace cottage is one of four properties situated near the village of Baycliff, six miles from Ulverston on the Furness Peninsula in Cumbria and can sleep four people in two bedrooms.Bluebell Cottage is a fabulous mid-terrace cottage, and is one of four properties, situated near the village of Baycliff, six miles from Ulverston on the Furness Peninsula in Cumbria. This lovely cottage can sleep four people in one king-size double bedroom and one super king-size double both of which have a luxury freestanding bath and en-suite shower room. The rest of the cottage contains an open plan living area with kitchen, dining and sitting area. Outside there is a private patio with hot tub and off road parking for two cars. Bluebell Cottage is an ideal property for those looking for...This fabulous mid-terrace cottage is one of four properties situated near the village of Baycliff, six miles from Ulverston on the Furness Peninsula in Cumbria and can sleep four people in two bedrooms.Bluebell Cottage is a fabulous mid-terrace cottage, and is one of four properties, situated near the village of Baycliff, six miles from Ulverston on the Furness Peninsula in Cumbria. This lovely cottage can sleep four people in one king-size double bedroom and one super king-size double both of which have a luxury freestanding bath and en-suite shower room. The rest of the cottage contains an open plan living area with kitchen, dining and sitting area. Outside there is a private patio with hot tub and off road parking for two cars. Bluebell Cottage is an ideal property for those looking for a luxury break in this part of Cumbria. Amenities: Underfloor heating with woodburning stove. Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 3 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, WiFi. Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. Travel cot and highchair on request. Off road parking for 2 cars. Patio area with hot tub. Sorry, no pets and no smoking. Shop 6 miles. Note: There are 11 steps leading from the car park to the cottage. Note: There are internal doors joining this property with Primrose Cottage and both parties have to unlock each door to gain access. If the properties are booked separately, the doors will remain locked to ensure privacy. Note: There is a public footpath directly opposite leading to the sea/beach. Note: This property can not facilitate a Sunday arrival Region: Impressive mountains, open fells and clear-water lakes, the Lake District has it all. From walking in themountains to exhilarating watersports or just a gentle cruise on a steam-powered yacht, Cumbria is the perfect holiday destination. Town: Situated on the coast, across from Morecambe Bay is the small village of Aldingham. Local folklore says that the village was once a mile long and that many of the cottages were washed away. Aldingham also has a reputation as a smuggler's village, the perpetrators hiding brandy from France and tobacco from America within the church crypt. The village itself is close to Furness Abbey as well as the ancient market town of Ulverston, just five miles away. Ulverston boasts a street market every Thursday and Saturday, in addition to many festivals throughout the year. These include an amazing lantern procession in November and an atmospheric Dickensian weekend in early December. The town is also the birthplace of Stan Laurel, famous for his work with Oliver Hardy, and as such is home to the only museum dedicated to this double act in the world. With all the attractions of the Lake District National Park and the sandy beaches of the Furness Coast, this quiet and peaceful area has plenty to offer!
House Rules
Pets not allowedKid friendlyNo smoking
Bedrooms
2 Super Kings
Bathrooms
2 Attached (ensuite)

Meet the host
Sykes Holiday Cottages
Hosting since October 2009
Languages spoken: English
Response Time: Within a few hours

Contribute
Reviews (9)
Gemma C
Gemma C
5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful cottage.
STUNNING accommodation the maintenance staff said the interior was redone 12 months ago and it is to a high standard. The only negative is it is SO HOT upstairs in the bedroom to the right. I would not book in July/August to stay here. I really would recommend the owners provide fans, we would stay again with no hesitation if there was one. At the moment the warmth on a night has us doubting a return stay. Also the upstairs windows could do with some child safety. We had to shut them on an evening as they were directly above the bed with the windowsill easy to climb on to from the bed and the windows fully opened. We were worried our toddler would climb out with ease if unsupervised (while we sleep). Again this did not help the temperature of the room. Other than those issues the accommodation really is stunning and has everything you’ll need for a weeks stay. The baths felt so luxurious and had amazing views. The hot tub was a great addition we enjoyed every night, some chairs at the back of the accommodation as well as the ones at the front would be better though. Especially on days where you want to hop in and out of the hot tub.
Visited June 2023
Written 8 June 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Imogen
Imogen
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
You might want a hot brew to read this lengthy review
We stayed at Bluebell for 5nights over Christmas with our 1 year old daughter. Our very first impressions of Bluebell Cottage were good ones. It had a cosy/romantic feel to it. Things changed quickly though, on our first night we had problems with the heating, we couldn't get it working at all so our first night (xmas eve) was a very chilly one. There was also no logs or kindling supplied for the log burner like it says there will be. We tried making contact with the owners and had no luck! It was a very unpleasant and cold first night to say the least. The heating finally kicked in the next morning so atleast we warmed up....but then it went to the other extreme and we were peft absolutely melting! We managed to enjoy a couple of days over Christmas and then on our 3rd day we woke up to all the electrics tripped, we tried to contact all 3 contact numbers left at the property for 'in case of a problem' - we rang each number, whatsapped and text messaged each number with not a single answer nor response. The whatsapp message was clearly read on one number because they accidently left a voice note (of background noise) but still failed to respond to our message. After giving them some time to respond we got in touch with Sykes and they got in touch with the owner on our behalf. Sykes told us the owner had said they would send out an electrician and that the problem we were experiencing is a common problem (which means they have failed to rectify a reoccuring issue) because the hot tub trips the electrics if it gets wet.... which led us to believe the hot tub is not safe! We hadn't used the hot tub prior to this problem and then felt unable to be safe whilst doing so. There is also a cctv camera pointing straight at the hot tub - this is not disclosed anywhere prior to booking or within the 'welcome pack'. On the back door there is a notice with 'rules' of the hot tub on, not a single mention of the camera being there. This made us feel extremely uncomfortable, like we were being spied on. The hot tub was also poorly maintained... only on day 5 of our stay was it dipped/ph levels tested. The points above were big problems during our stay. There were a few niggly things too - no scissors, only one frying pan, no hairdryer, photos of property need updating as theres a new sofa to those shown, no antibacterial spray, fridge/freezer not cold enough, no fire starter pack when we arrived like it said there would be, property dusty, bathrooms/ensuites are really smelly, heating has mind of it's own and the layout is a bit confusing (bin where fridge should have been etc). Very disappointing stay and terrible owners that clearly don't give a flying poo about their guests enjoying their holiday. Unfortunately, we would highly recommend others due to stay here to cancel for a full refund and go somewhere else. We had looked forward to this stay all year and it's been a complete flop. We paid over £800 for our stay and feel absolutely ripped off. We spent 2 days of our 5 night break trying to sort problems out! Not the relaxing break we had been looking forward to all year! We booked through Sykes and they literally couldn't care less about their customers. They run to the owners and believe anything they say! The owners have told Sykes there are notices in the property of cctv - there isn't and I have video evidence of the whole property to prove this. I would avoid booking anything though them because they don't want to know when there is a problem.
Visited December 2022
Written 29 December 2022. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

DysonL
DysonL
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic
We have just returned from a lovely week in Bluebell cottage. The cottage was clean and really well equipped. Hot tub was fantastic in a private garden. The upstairs is definitely the 'wow' part of the cottage offering lovely quiet, relaxing, luxurious space, the photos on the website hadn't shown off quite how airy and spacious the rooms are. The bed is definitely the most comfortable I have ever slept in which is unusual for holiday accommodation. The views from the bedrooms are fantastic, we loved waking up to the horses, cows, corn field, sea, it was perfect. The only negatives for us was the adjoining door to next doors cottage downstairs, luckily the family next door were quiet but could hear general conversation, the television and also smell food that they were cooking. It just made us paranoid about disturbing them too. The water temperature could do with turning up a little to be able to enjoy the luxurious baths, this wasn't a big enough issue to be bothering anyone with though and would definitely not prevent us visiting this beautiful accommodation again. The setting is perfect, only a few minutes into Barrow or to Ulverston, we discovered Walney close by which was perfect for the children, lots of open space with large play area. An all round lovely place to be!
Visited August 2021
Written 21 August 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Freedom467460
Freedom467460
Wigan, United Kingdom20 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fabulous short break - stunning views
We decided on a short getaway, absolutely gorgeous cottage, the decor and facilities so good. We loved the bedrooms so much daughter and I had to toss a coin on which one we got. Seriously lovely great location, stunning views, but if luxury with hot tub. Will be booking again. Loved it thank you.
Visited August 2020
Written 25 August 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

asmahuss87
asmahuss87
England, United Kingdom2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mrs
On arrival at the cottage it was clear that it had not been cleaned since the last occupants. There were dirty towels in both rooms, smears on the showers and sinks in both bathrooms and the bed sheets were also stained. There was also left over food in the microwave. The owners confirmed they were not expecting anyone till 4 days later which led us to believe the cottage had been double booked as we had booked for 7nights - at this point the cleaners were booked to arrive the following morning and we were offered vouchers for a later date so we did not cause a fuss. On the third day we attempted to use the hot tub which was in a very bad state. The handles on the lid were torn and the lid itself looked as if it was broken in places. We decided to avoid using it and to speak to the owners however the lid got jammed between the hot tub and the wall and despite our best efforts we could not pull it out. In the end we had to wait over an hour for someone to come to force the lid out, which required someone jumping on the lid to force it to move. This caused it to break apart even more and resulted in the hot tub water becoming cluttered with foam and dirt from the lid. We were reasured that someone will come to drain and restore the tub with a new lid the following day, but this did not happen. We then had to leave a day early due to circumstances at home, the owners promised a 50% refund due to the poor experience we had during our stay. It is now 2 months down the line and we have yet to receive the refund despite trying to chase this with the owners who are now not resonding to messages. The cottage itself is beautiful and is perfectly located and with the option to connect the linked cottages it was ideal for a larger family visit. Unfortunately due to the poor service we will not be visiting any of these cottages again.
Visited March 2020
Written 5 May 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

TorlaRM
TorlaRM
Kidderminster, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A big thank you for a wonderful family holiday 👌
We have had a wonderful time staying at Bluebell Cottage. Perfect place to explore The Lakes together with the contrast of being by the coast. The cottage was perfect....comfy sofas, such comfy beds and baths with a view! Looking at the odd review about noise levels, the cottage is not remote and is part of a group of 4 cottages and so our expectations were that we would have neighbours for the week. All 4 cottages were occupied for the week we stayed and we can say that having neighbours did not impact on our enjoyment of the cottage at all! The hot-tub was an added bonus too! Cottage was warm, cosy, had everything you needed and much more. We shall be coming back for sure! Thank You! The Rob-Moggs xx
Visited October 2018
Written 4 November 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

setdesign01
setdesign01
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Extremely noisy and heating out of control.
This is a beautiful looking cottage but don’t be fooled! We went to stay for a week over Christmas as near my sisters. The cottage was extremely cold and took 3 days to heat up. The underfloor heating did not relate to the thermostat and and once warm it was unbearably Hot. We all slept in our underwear despite the minus figures out side. What ever we did seemed to have no affect on a mind of its own heating system. The rooms upstairs also were in a temperature zone of their own again either freezing or boiling. A real nightmare with kids. The right hand bedroom with large window never warmed up we could feel a draft the whole time. My daughter was so cold in there that we all ended up in one bedroom. The other major no no for me was the noise from the strong winds outside and surrounding cottages. It felt like being on a boat in the Atlantic. You could here nieghbours on both sides and below the bedroom. I felt like we were on the road as we could hear the cars roar by. Sound proofing an oversight here I feel. The layout is a bit strange too the bin in the dining area and the fridge in the hall way. Was constantly opening doors trying to cook a Boxing Day meal. And carrying dripping teabags to the bin. The dishwasher was also broken so a lot of washing up. But to be honest Noise and heating ruined this week for us. Thank goodness I packed my earplugs cos boy do you need them at this place. We did approach the company we booked it through Sykes who were lovely but basically told us the landlord was not interested. It’s important to call these people out as at £700.00 a week this should have been a lot better. Off to get some sleep in my less noisy and warm (but not boiling) london abode.
Visited December 2017
Written 30 December 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Quest258378
Quest258378
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry you feel disappointed with your chosen property. I can see we have spoken with you directly, and the owner offered to attend the property to assist with the heating, which was declined. The owner is disappointed you did not enjoy your stay, as they have had consistently positive feedback previously.
Written 9 January 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lisa S
Lisa S
Mauchline, United Kingdom32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mrs
Just returned from a 7 day holiday at this wonderful cottage . Lovely and clean and homely. The hot tub was great as was the bath tubs in the bedrooms, loved this feature. Central for most tourist hot spots in the lakes.
Visited July 2017
Written 30 July 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

lynnhoey65
lynnhoey65
Glasgow, United Kingdom7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic cottage
Thoroughly enjoyed our week in this cottage, finished to a very high standard . Hot tub amazing and the baths are superb . Highly recommend this cottage and will definitely be back .
Visited April 2017
Written 13 April 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-9 of 9

What this rental offers
Kitchen and dining
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
Parking
  • Parking available
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 15 min walk)
  • Countryside area
Entertainment
  • Television
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Hot bath
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Location info
  • Kid friendly
Indoor amenities
  • Central heating
  • Internet access

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

July 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4

August 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1

Map
Getting there
Newcastle Airport
137.2 km
Restaurants
Bosuns Locker Cafe
6.8 km

Nicha's Thai Kitchen
6.1 km

Hartleys
6.2 km

Oscar's
6.3 km
Attractions
Bardsea Alpacas And Llamas
4.3 kmFarms

Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre
6.4 kmReligious Sites

Furness Abbey
6.1 kmAncient Ruins

Piel Island
7.6 kmIslands
Activities nearby
Golf course (within 15 min walk)

Things to know
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

If the owner has provided contact information, you may contact him or her directly. If not, you can contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to check if the property is still available. If the owner has listed a phone number, you can also call to follow up. send enquiries to other properties. If you still don't hear from the owner, Tripadvisor recommends that you send enquiries to other properties.

If the owner approves your stay, he or she will let you know which forms of payment are accepted. This owner does not currently accept payments via the Tripadvisor inbox. You can ask him or her to sign up; payments made via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.

If you would like payment protection, ask the owner to sign up to accept online payments on Tripadvisor. Payments made via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/FK_Supplier_Logo.png   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #FKN2226989687

Frequently Asked Questions about BLUEBELL COTTAGE luxurious, woodburner, WiFi , open plan in Baycliff Ref 916664

BLUEBELL COTTAGE luxurious, woodburner, WiFi , open plan in Baycliff Ref 916664 is able to accommodate up to 4 guests. See all property details.

BLUEBELL COTTAGE luxurious, woodburner, WiFi , open plan in Baycliff Ref 916664 has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

BLUEBELL COTTAGE luxurious, woodburner, WiFi , open plan in Baycliff Ref 916664 has 2 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at BLUEBELL COTTAGE luxurious, woodburner, WiFi , open plan in Baycliff Ref 916664 must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.

Tripadvisor - BLUEBELL COTTAGE luxurious, woodburner, WiFi , open plan in Baycliff Ref 916664