We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of The Clive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clive
Ranked #1 of 1 Bromfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A very pleasant stay with a lovely, spacious room which was very comfortable. Reasonable overall cost for a two night stay (for two) with dinner both nights. All staff very welcoming and pleasant, service excellent and quality of food on both nights was very high.

Liked the fact we had a great quality break without any pretentiousness or compromise on standards. Highly recommend and if in the area would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 435 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at the Clive as part of a group of 6 couples for a 3 night, 3 for 2, break. The rooms are located at the rear of the main building in a U shaped courtyard. We had room 102. This turned out to be somewhat smaller (but perfectly adequate) than the other rooms taken by the group. The external door also opened immediately into the room unlike a number of the others.

Rooms 214 and 215 are the two rooms on the second floor, over a “Boardroom” - these were quite spacious with beams dividing up sections of the room. Also unlike ground floor rooms they were very deep pile carpeted. Other ground floor rooms taken by the group were 104, 106 and 108. All were wooden floored and all reportedly quite warm with underfloor heating and radiators. Room 102 was actually quite cold on our arrival, and as it had no radiator we asked for the thermostat to to turned up. This was something that you could not control yourself as it was located behind a closed panel. We were provided with an electric heater which we retained for the duration of our stay. It never actually got overly warm during our 3 day stay; it was quite comfortable overnight, but a little cold first thing in the morning when getting out of bed. The electric heater was definitely needed then. The weather during was not particularly cold whilst we were there and I wonder in a really cold spell how comfortable the room would be. The double bed was actually two singles pushed together – plenty of room, quite firm and very comfortable.

The bath room unlike the bedroom was always very warm, heated by an excellent towel radiator. The towels were luxurious, the bath sheets being really fluffy and thick. Heated by the towel radiator they were a joy to use. The bathroom otherwise had a bath/shower.

Our room contained two easy chairs, tea and coffee making facilities, really well placed hair dryer and mini bar. No safe and disappointingly no biscuits, unless you count those available in the mini bar at £1.00 for Frank's luxury Shortbread Biscuits (65gms). There is however a shop just behind the room courtyard where you can buy a wide range of items including papers, biscuits, soft drinks etc. Close to it there is also a café.

The main road outside the Clive is quite busy but this was not a problem for us as the Clive was situated between us and the road. There was a slight background rumble but nothing obtrusive and I actually deliberately listened for it given previous entries. We had no issues with early morning deliveries.

Breakfast was very good, and the excellent service. Whilst normally an Earl Grey tea drinker, which I was able to get each morning, I did try the coffee. This was fine, not particularly strong as previously mentioned.

Dinner each of the three nights was very good. I tried the venison en croûte, well cooked if a little small for my greedy liking; chicken stuffed with tarragon mousse and a trio of pork. Well cooked, well served, in modern dining room. The bar, also modern in design was OK, if lacking a little in atmosphere. Real ales on tap, Hobson's and Ludlow Gold. Obviously well kept because they tasted fine and they did not run out at any time during our stay which is more than can be said for other places we have been. Service at all times was excellent.

As I mentioned earlier we were on a 3 for 2 dinner, bed and breakfast rate. This incorporated a £28 allowance per person per day for dinner. You could either opt to choose from a subset of the a la carte menu which was costed at £28 or take your allowance from the main menu. During our stay we did both. What was very impressive was the fact that when you spent under the £28 allowance the difference was credited to your account at the end of the stay. Really impressive.

We took a taxi into Ludlow one day (£6.50 each way). The Ludlow Food Centre is just a walk across the car park from the Clive, well worth a visit was the Blist Hill Victorian Town - £11.95 entrance fee per person over sixty, and if you know me you will now that when I say value for money it must have been good (40 mins drive from the Clive).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Clive and would be only to happy to stay again. Our 4 rating has been influenced by our experience of the heating in our room, but otherwise it was a very enjoyable stay, with very good food, very good beer, and excellent service. Thanks to the Clive.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 102 only you like a warm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Two_Fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had been to this restaurant on several occasions before and been very impressed indeed. But this latest time was completely different. The food was second rate generally, over ambitious and pretentious, and in some cases inedible, the service was poor and the atmosphere depressing. I can only assume that it has recently changed hands. My husband thought it was the worst meal he had ever had. A great disappointment - we will not be going again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank gillian e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We went to the Clive for an anniversary break. The room was large and comfortable and the bathroom was very well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a sitting area and the bed was huge. I had booked to eat in the restaurant on each of the 3 nights of our stay. Now the bad stuff. The bed had a plastic sheet on the bottom which not only made an annoying crackling sound but meant that one woke up soaking wet and cold. I asked if it could be removed, but this didn't happen. The first evening meal was a let down. The starter was very good, but the main course vegetables were not cooked. I can just about deal with raw green veg, but not seriously undercooked potatoes. They took the food away to rectify this, but it came back no better. I cancelled the next night's dinner and went elsewhere. We tried again on the following evening. I think that the chef has a particular blind spot for potatoes. The gnocci were heavy, leaden huge lumps served with a delicious sauce. The main course came with mash, this tasted just like it had come from a packet. Such a shame that these details spoiled what should have been a lovely meal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzyc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

The Clive is, overall, an excellent place. Although it is primarily a restaurant, the rooms are of the very best quality. We stayed in one of the outside blocks on the first floor. We had a very big room, beautifully furnished and expensively fitted out, with a modern large and well equipped bathroom. Thick carpets, old oak beams and a french window with a staircase. And yes, it was a little hot during the night as reviewers have said, but once you opened the Velux windows it was fine.Dinner was very good. We were four and had quite a bit of champagne and wine and the bill was not too frighteneing. The restarant service was friendly and prompt, in spite of the fact that the restaurant was virtually full. Breakfast was also very good with more than the usual English Breakfast choice. Friendly service again. Breakfast is individually cooked rather than buffet. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromfield
3.0 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
467 reviews
3.1 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
915 reviews
3.6 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
3.6 km away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
460 reviews
3.6 km away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#6 of 48 in Ludlow
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clive

Address: Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow > Bromfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bromfield
Price Range: ₹ 9,105 - ₹ 12,283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clive 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clive Restaurant With Rooms Hotel Bromfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing