We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”

McGill's Cafe and Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
McGill's Cafe and Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in New Minas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 22
Cuisines: International, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Friendly courteous staff and interesting food choices. From lunch to the supper menu superb food. A go to place to entertain business clients or a lunch stop. Have really enjoyed the evening menu for special occasions.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017

I lunched at McGills today and a month ago. Both meals were fabulous...tasty,nicely presented, great service and reasonable in price. Today we had a trio of fries...delicious and crispy and turkey BLTs, which were fresh and nicely flavoured. We even had space for yummy carrot cake with lemon cream cheese icing and chocolate cheesecake. Topped off with a glass of white wine, overall it was delicious menu.Over time, I have tried many menu items, and I've always had a wonderful meal. Their attention to fresh ingredients and a good chef makes for a great choice. Their theme nights are very popular too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Stopped in one afternoon for a lunch we loved the menu! Fresh inspiring sandwiches plenty of other options too! Great coffee and treats to finish off with as well! Service was also attentive and pleasant, overall a great spot to visit!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review Aimee. We do have a nice selection of freshly made sandwiches on our menu. We only use freshly baked breads & in house baked turkey & ham. You can always find a lovely treat to finish off the meal in our display case. I am happy that you had a great experience and hopefully we see you again soon.

Cheers
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Located right next to our eye doctor, this restaurant offers the best spinach salad I have ever eaten, with a choice of 2 sizes, and chicken or shrimp as add-ons.

In a smart marketing move, the restaurant posts a sign by the doctor's entrance inviting you to turn off your car (be eco-friendly), and go have a coffee or snack while waiting. The restaurant will call you when the doctor is ready! Brilliant!

2  Thank tileduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate hearing from our guests about their experience at McGill’s. I agree with you that our spinach salad is great; we have an amazing culinary team. I hope we see you again soon.

Cheers
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

My fiancé and I had some important guests visiting from California and they were eager to try some fresh Nova Scotian oysters. McGill’s special ordered 3 different NS regions for our table! Thank you again to McGill’s for being the most accommodating restaurant I’ve ever wined and dined at! The back dining room is truly a special spot if you’ve never been. Special thank you to our server Gilbert who took very good care of our table. The food, service, ambiance, and wine was all five star! We can’t wait for our next time back!

2  Thank Jolene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Our culinary team & FOH staff try their best to accommodate our guests needs when their are special requests. NS Oysters are definitely a treat especially when you can enjoy them in our beautiful cellar room. We look forward to seeing you again Jolene.

Cheers
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGill's Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

New Minas, Kentville
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Port Williams, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Port Williams, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to McGill's Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing