We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Star Quality”
Review of Westover Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westover Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Three Star Quality”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Attending three plays at the Stratford festival, we selected the Westover Inn, located in St. Mary’s, due to lack of available properties in Stratford. This three star inn is located on a quiet street yet walking distance from the downtown area.
We were greeted by the young staff who tries very hard to accommodate the quests and shown our rooms in the Terrace building. As described on the Westover website, this is the old dormitory with smaller rooms located adjacent to the main house. The rooms have new bathrooms with a high tub surround that makes it difficult for some people to get in and out of the tub. The room was pleasant but shows signs of wear and the mattress and carpet needed to be replaced. The A/C worked fine during our warm stay.
The sloped grounds are pleasant and there is a small outdoor pool for the guests. We did not eat at the Westover due to the many other choices in the St. Mary’s and Stratford area. We tried the Stone Willow Inn for a quick supper and were disappointed with the quality of the food. Our next dinner at Woolfy’s, which features all locally obtained food, was great but portions were on the small size for the cost
We did enjoy our own wine on the Westover patio and the staff supplied us with fine wine glasses and plates. Stop by the provincial spirits store for wine and the St. Mary’s deli for great cheese if you like to enjoy the grounds.
For the price, the Westover is reasonable choice when visiting the area but I would be inclined to book earlier in Stratford to avoid the drive and to have the ability to walk to events in Stratford.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    21
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
33
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We enjoyed our mini-getaway at the Westover Inn. The service was welcoming and professional. The restaurant had great food. The grounds were lovely and peaceful. The room was clean and spacious; Neutrogena products and jewelery cleaner were a nice touch. The location is ideal - in a charming town and a short drive to the Stratford festival. We highly recommend this inn and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2010

My Wife, 10 month old son and I had an incredible escape to the Westover Inn. Just a quick drive from London and we had a chance to experience a break from the hustle and bustle of the real life. It was a real pleasure at the Westover. We were treated very well and had a chance to really connect again. I can only imagine what it would be like in the spring or summer with the massive amount of natural land that the grounds holds.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinRNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This inn is truly a hidden gem in Ontario. The staff are welcoming and helpful. The rooms are spacious, well decorated with country charm and elegance. And the best part is that just when you think it couldn't get any better, the food is amazing. Everything we tried was fantastic. This is a great place for a weekend getaway as it feels removed from the town of St. Mary's (which is very quaint) and has wonderful, well kept grounds. Highly recommend this hotel for those visiting Stratford or for anyone couple looking for a weekend away.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_tips_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2005

We have just returned from our fourth visit to the Westover Inn. Have stayed in the main house, Christopher Plumbers Suite and the Terrace, all rooms are charming, the Terrace rooms a bit compact, but still comfortable and full of lovely touches and toiletries which make the stay here memorable. You can be as private or sociable as you wish. The lovely lounge has a fire for those chilly winter days, and a jar of home made cookies makes a lovely touch. Dinner in the elegant dining room is a delight, we have never had a bad meal here, service and presentation is flawless. there is also a good wine list,..breakfast is as good, with lots of choises. The grounds are wonderful to walk through, weather in the summer months or in the heart of winter. St.Mary's itself is a small country town, minutes from Stratford, with a water feature running through the heart of town. If you are looking for somewhere to go to escape the rat race for a night or two, then this is the place for you....

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuropeLaSalle_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
20.1 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
20.0 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
150 reviews
18.8 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Stone Willow Inn
Stone Willow Inn
#6 of 7 in St. Marys
55 reviews
18.5 km away
Stone Maiden Inn
Stone Maiden Inn
#5 of 89 in Stratford
280 reviews
21.8 km away
Forest Motel & Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westover Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westover Inn

Property: Westover Inn
Address: 300 Thomas Street, St. Marys, Ontario N4X 1B1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > St. Marys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,640 - ₹ 14,015
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westover Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Westover Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westover Hotel St. Marys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing