We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cape Kidnappers - Little Slice of Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Farm at Cape Kidnappers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Farm at Cape Kidnappers
Ranked #1 of 3 Te Awanga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Cape Kidnappers - Little Slice of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Farm at Cape Kidnappers is situated high upon the hills of New Zealand, overlooking acres of deep green fields and, eventually, the ocean. I have never had such an overall fantastic stay. The rooms are huge yet cozy, the bathrooms incredibly well done (with showers bigger than my own bathroom at home) and the food… well, the food will make you want to fast before coming to CK. Farm fresh vegetables, local veal and lamb, and the best wine selection of anywhere in the country, Cape Kidnappers will make you forget why you would ever want to leave.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
112
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington NZ
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We revisited The Farm for the annual Mission Concert, and were delighted with the significant improvements since our last stay! I wrote a review for the forum after our first stay and most of the negatives related to food/beverage and the value for money the lodge offered; today I am delighted to report that these concerns have been attended to. We were fortunate to be upgraded form the Hill Top to the Ridge Top suites- I would urge guests to go for the latter as the rooms are bigger and more typical of those found at other similar properties in New Zealand.
Once again, the service was impeccable and professional- a very friendly and engaging staff ready to assist and advise wherever necessary. As before, I urge guests to enjoy the property- it is very relaxing and there are plenty of low key activities such as walking, mountain biking, chilling with a magazine in one of the many charming spaces within the lodge
with a glass of local Syrah etc. It is not necessary to go outside the main gate to enjoy your Hawkes Bay stay!
We noted a marked improvement in the catering- a generous selection and quantity of drinks at happy hour, and better food proportions than before at dinner. I congratulate Jay and his staff on picking up on this and making the subtle adjustments that were greatly appreciated.
We enjoyed observing the immense contribution to wildlife conservation that the Robinson family has made on their property- an outstanding effort!
I note other reviewers returning to The Farm have similarly observed improvements between their stays- the place has matured and again this is no doubt due to the focus and dedication of management and the quality staff working at the lodge. We are now looking forward to the Tetsuya Weekend- roll on August!
Congratulations to The Farm- thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Go for the Ridge Top Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drurolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

As we end our New Zealand excursion this year, we again we stayed at Cape Kidnappers to be sheerly delighted by the entire experience. It has been just over 3 years since our last visit and the property itself has matured very well, yet the individual lodges are still immaculate. The staff anticipated our every need, including excellent afternoon teas and fudge ( my wife’s favourite)!!!

The food was local, very tasty and served to perfection, congratulations to all the house staff. While at the property this time we chose to take in the Gannet colony……. Andrew was not only a great host but also gave us additional insights into the working property which all adds to the richness of the experience.

Unfortunately this time we did not have the time or inclination to play golf as I am trying to get fit for the 100k Flyer bike race in Taupo this weekend, however if you really want to get fit……. try cycling the front drive to the cattle ramp a few times over your stay ! Thank you Cape Kidnappers team, we will be back.

Room Tip: The ridge suites are well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uh2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Absolutely wonderful lodge. The farmhouse chic decor is warm and welcoming. And the staff matches. Everyone on the staff is warm, friendly and interested in making sure you have a great experience. The food and service was excellent.
The quad biking with Aidan was great was to see the property and scenery while having great fun. The stop at the Gannett colony was amazing. There were so many birds and babies...and we were alone there so close.
We also loved the Kiwi Discovery walk. Tracking the birds and then holding a baby Kiwi was very special. Yes the activiity it is expensive, but it benefits the research work.
Overall, one of our favorite lodges in NZ (as well as other places!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tid105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

First with the positives. The lodge was the most visually stunning of the three properties. The rooms were very comfortable and more rustic than Kauri. Cape Kidnappers golf course was far too demanding for us amateurs and in that sense we preferred Kauri for golfing pleasure and also views. The ATV and Kiwi experience trips were worthwhile although the Gannet colony struck us as a massively overhyped tourist experience. The main drawback of this property was the poor food and beverage service which was a surprise for such a high brow property. Food was OK although the portions were consistently too small for an average sized male. Unlikely to return to this property.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topcat212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Awanga
8.7 km away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 4 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
18.2 km away
The County Hotel Napier
24.5 km away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#2 of 20 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
The Crown Hotel Napier
#3 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.0 km away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 20 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
4.1 km away
Millar Road
Millar Road
#1 of 9 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm at Cape Kidnappers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm at Cape Kidnappers

Property: The Farm at Cape Kidnappers
Address: 446 Clifton Road, Te Awanga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Te Awanga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Awanga
Price range (per night): ₹ 85,693 - ₹ 1,91,397
Hotel Class:5 star — The Farm at Cape Kidnappers 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Farm at Cape Kidnappers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing