We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful views, great base for hiking”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunnyside Cottage

Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink. Breath taking view down St Johns Vale from your lounge and master bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink.
Breath taking view down St Johns Vale from your lounge and master bedroom.
Sunset view towards Keswick enjoyed from your lounge and patio.
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink.
View out of the living room on the the Helvellyn range and down St Johns in the Vale.
Modern cosy living room
Patio doors leading out on to the roof terrace
Kitchen/dinner with with view up to Blencathra range
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Dining area for four
View from master bedroom
Master bedroom, bed configuration can be one queen bed or two singles.
2nd bedroom with views up  to vBlencathra mountain range
Modern bathroom
Full bath with shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Threlkeld, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
1 review
“wonderful views, great base for hiking”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely few days here. The view is stunning, flat is clean and comfortable and it's a great place for walking right from the doorstep. We enjoyed some lovely walks, including challenging hike up Blencathra. A shame the sofa in the flat faced the wrong way but we turned it round so that we could see the view from the lounge! We enjoyed eating out on the terrace with the beautiful view of the garden and the mountains. We'd love to come back and it would be great for a family holiday with several adults as we could also rent the larger flat next door, sharing the terrace!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with and took the challenge of Blencathra on! Thank you for you comments and the layout of the living room is one we are considering and trying to adapt so everyone can take full advantage of the view. We hope to see you again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thank you for the amazing review, it was lovely to meet you both. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday in the UK and if we are ever in your neck of the woods we may just take you up on your kind offer and let you show us the sights, although I don't think we could fit the view in our case.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thanks for the review, it was lovely to see you both again, Val enjoyed e catch up.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
814SarahT
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, cosy, clean, well equipped”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a 3 night stay over the Easter break with my two teenage daughters. The bungalow is neat, clean,cosy and well equipped. Val was very welcoming. Threlkeld is a lovely village in a great location, within an easy drive of Keswick and Penrith. The view from the lounge is superb. We ate for 2 nights at the Horse and Farrier in the village, good pub grub and welcoming. We also went to Penrith for a fantastic curry at India Gate. This was our first trip to the Lake District and we did a walk up to the Castlerigg stone circle which broke us soft city types in to do the 10 mile circular walk around Derwent Water the next day. We were blessed with great weather and we were all overwhelmed by the amazing views at every turn. Felt very lucky and have vowed to return. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Hi Sarah, thanks for the fab review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have that amazing view out of our window after all these years we never tire of it. You must have taken the sunshine with you as we've seen little of it since. Please bring it back when you return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonjun...
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect position, beautiful views”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

this cottage provided good, clean accommodation, there was a warm welcome. first impression from the outside was unexciting, then we walked into the living room and - wow! What a view, straight up St Johns in the vale.
Easy parking, walks straight from the door.
Dog friendly, excellant pub in the village for a meal .
Cottage was well equiped for self catering.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing