We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and peaceful posada”
Review of Posada Azul Marino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Azul Marino
Ranked #6 of 8 Jose Ignacio B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful posada”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We've just returned from spending 5 nights at the charming Posada Azul Marino and truly enjoyed our stay with them. I think it's fair to start with some basic notes regarding the location: Jose Ignacio is about 40mins drive from the busy partying areas of Punta del Este but we thought that was definetely a plus. We were on honeymoon so were looking for some relaxing time away from the busy partying and Jose Ignacio was perfect. It's only 20mins drive from La Barra and Manantiales which are now quite trendy areas and where a lot of good restaurants and bars are. After 6 days there we came to the conclusion that Jose Ignacio and Manantiales were much more charming and fun than punta del este itself. The posada is lovely, clean and the owners are geniunly friendly and helpful. They offer their help for a lot of things but they also let you relax and help you out chosing restaurants and things to do. The other thing to note is that a lot of wealthy people have houses in Jose Ignacio (Shakira even owns a house there!) so even though it might appear remote at first, that area is very popular now hence the expensive rates. Also, make sure you have dinner at the restaurant next door (Marismo) that was one of the nicest meals we had in the entire trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at Azul Marino 3 nights in November and really enjoyed our stay. The posada is bigger than I anticipated: I went in expecting a home converted into an inn, and instead found a beautifully designed boutique hotel. The rooms were spacious, very clean, with modern/rustic feel and decor. I would definitively recommend staying upstairs to enjoy the views and the balconies, and if you can splurge on the jacuzzi room, it is absolutely worth it. The balcony in this room is the biggest (the size of a livingroom - really big) and since it faces west, you'll be able to enjoy glorious sunsets and a distant view of the Jose Ignacio lighthouse.
Regarding location, the hotel is basically surrounded by nature. When you look out the window all you see are trees and the beach in the distance. It's very peaceful and quiet, most times all you hear is the sound of birds singing. Take the time at night to look up... I have never seen so many stars...
Keep in mind Jose Ignacio is the quiet brother of Punta del Este so don't expect a lot of nightlife around here (especially during off season). The beaches are absolutely amazing and serene, and the hotel is maybe 15 minutes away from what I thought was the best seafood restaurant in town: Parador La Huella (PLEASE have the calamari). The architecture in the area is stunning. I'd say this hotel is better suited for couples or families that want to get away than for young/single travelers that want to sunbathe by day and party by night.
If you do stay here, the hotel is veryyy close to Haras Godiva where you can enjoy horseback riding on the beach.
I greatly enjoyed my stay, and would be happy to go back to this hotel when I return to Jose Ignacio.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

reading some of the other reviews it seems like some people don't know what to expect in terms of the location. Jose Ignacio and the surrounding area is amazing fun for New Year and early January if you know people and can be invited to the parties. If you want nightclubs and busy bars, go to La Barra.

After early January, Jose Ignacio and surroundings is quieter but still chic and fun. There is not ATM, there are hardly any taxis, there are only a couple of small shops for groceries - heavenly for some people and not for others. You need to take cash with you. Rent a car.

It isn't fair that people judge this place on location if they were looking for something else. The staff are friendly, the pool is great, it is right by some awesome restaurants that are open in January. I really enjoyed and we would go back either to totally relax or to use as a base in high season.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatharineBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My wife and I decided to book azul based on adds we read over the internet. Once we arrived, reality set in. This was a glorified bed and breakfast in the middle of nowhere with and owner whose primary objective was to rip you off. We need cash and discovered the ATM was a 20 minute drive away. The only way to get to town to get cash was to rent the owners car for $90 USD!!! He is a crook. Also, you felt like you were imposing on his summer home. We ended up taking a bus to La Barra, which was so cool, and move there for a few days, but incurred major costs. Stay away from this place and stay central.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ASavardCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Great hotel I have stayed there twice now and each time it has been fantastically relaxing and a great base from which to move around. The rooms are cool, in both senses, the place is so peaceful and the couple who own it are great. Very hospitable and helpful.
Breakfast is excellent and healthy, if you want something different ask, they should have it. The staff are lovely and as has been said above make it a pretty family atmosphere.
Internet connection is pretty poor and could do with upgrading it but it could just be that that's the way it is due to the location. It's about a 5 minute car ride from Jose Ignacio or a beautiful 20 mintue walk there if you go directly over to the beach and walk along it to the town. If you want to be in the best part of Punta then you need a car as this is it. Read other things above re cash etc.
Rooms are immaculate, no issues with insects either which is a bonus. Got a lovely swimming pool, bikes that you can use and a great wine list. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jose Ignacio hotels
3.9 km away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.2 km away
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
Posada Arenas de Jose Ignacio
#2 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 km away
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
Bahia VIK Jose Ignacio
#4 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
Playa VIK Jose Ignacio
#5 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
8.9 km away
Laguna Garzon Lodge
Laguna Garzon Lodge
#8 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.9 km away
Arbol Casa Loft
Arbol Casa Loft
#9 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Azul Marino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Azul Marino

Property: Posada Azul Marino
Address: Ruta 10 km 185, Jose Ignacio 20402, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Jose Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Jose Ignacio
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,625 - ₹ 26,807
Hotel Class:4 star — Posada Azul Marino 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Azul Marino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing