We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Azul Marino
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio(Jose Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$ 126
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Suaya(Jose Ignacio)(Great Value!)
US$ 180
US$ 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posada Paradiso(Jose Ignacio)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Laguna Garzon Lodge(Jose Ignacio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbol Casa Loft(Jose Ignacio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lomas de San Vicente(Punta del Este)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
16
16
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
16
6
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at Azul Marino 3 nights in November and really enjoyed our stay. The posada is bigger than I anticipated: I went in expecting a home converted into an inn, and instead found a beautifully designed boutique hotel. The rooms were spacious, very clean, with modern/rustic feel and decor. I would definitively recommend staying upstairs to enjoy the views and the balconies, and if you can splurge on the jacuzzi room, it is absolutely worth it. The balcony in this room is the biggest (the size of a livingroom - really big) and since it faces west, you'll be able to enjoy glorious sunsets and a distant view of the Jose Ignacio lighthouse.
Regarding location, the hotel is basically surrounded by nature. When you look out the window all you see are trees and the beach in the distance. It's very peaceful and quiet, most times all you hear is the sound of birds singing. Take the time at night to look up... I have never seen so many stars...
Keep in mind Jose Ignacio is the quiet brother of Punta del Este so don't expect a lot of nightlife around here (especially during off season). The beaches are absolutely amazing and serene, and the hotel is maybe 15 minutes away from what I thought was the best seafood restaurant in town: Parador La Huella (PLEASE have the calamari). The architecture in the area is stunning. I'd say this hotel is better suited for couples or families that want to get away than for young/single travelers that want to sunbathe by day and party by night.
If you do stay here, the hotel is veryyy close to Haras Godiva where you can enjoy horseback riding on the beach.
I greatly enjoyed my stay, and would be happy to go back to this hotel when I return to Jose Ignacio.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

reading some of the other reviews it seems like some people don't know what to expect in terms of the location. Jose Ignacio and the surrounding area is amazing fun for New Year and early January if you know people and can be invited to the parties. If you want nightclubs and busy bars, go to La Barra.

After early January, Jose Ignacio and surroundings is quieter but still chic and fun. There is not ATM, there are hardly any taxis, there are only a couple of small shops for groceries - heavenly for some people and not for others. You need to take cash with you. Rent a car.

It isn't fair that people judge this place on location if they were looking for something else. The staff are friendly, the pool is great, it is right by some awesome restaurants that are open in January. I really enjoyed and we would go back either to totally relax or to use as a base in high season.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatharineBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My wife and I decided to book azul based on adds we read over the internet. Once we arrived, reality set in. This was a glorified bed and breakfast in the middle of nowhere with and owner whose primary objective was to rip you off. We need cash and discovered the ATM was a 20 minute drive away. The only way to get to town to get cash was to rent the owners car for $90 USD!!! He is a crook. Also, you felt like you were imposing on his summer home. We ended up taking a bus to La Barra, which was so cool, and move there for a few days, but incurred major costs. Stay away from this place and stay central.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ASavardCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Great hotel I have stayed there twice now and each time it has been fantastically relaxing and a great base from which to move around. The rooms are cool, in both senses, the place is so peaceful and the couple who own it are great. Very hospitable and helpful.
Breakfast is excellent and healthy, if you want something different ask, they should have it. The staff are lovely and as has been said above make it a pretty family atmosphere.
Internet connection is pretty poor and could do with upgrading it but it could just be that that's the way it is due to the location. It's about a 5 minute car ride from Jose Ignacio or a beautiful 20 mintue walk there if you go directly over to the beach and walk along it to the town. If you want to be in the best part of Punta then you need a car as this is it. Read other things above re cash etc.
Rooms are immaculate, no issues with insects either which is a bonus. Got a lovely swimming pool, bikes that you can use and a great wine list. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We were here for 4 nights and it was very nice. It is quiet and the grounds are lovely with a view of the sea over the trees. There is no a/c but we did not need it as the nights were cool and there was a fan in the room. We were happy to be away from the hub bub of Punte de Este and even La Barra. Both nice to visit but absolutely crazy in January. The beach is close and beautiful with hard packed sand and very wide. The beach is not crowded near the hotel either. The town/village of Jose Ignacio is very quaint and we had 2 great meals (lunch and dinner) at Isla de Flores and would recommend it highly. You can eat lunch with a view of the beach and the lighthouse.
The staff were very nice at the hotel, even allowing us to get coffee 30 minutes earlier that they usually do (8:30AM) each morning. The room was small but well appointed and had a great wrap around porch where we had coffee in the morning and drinks in the evening. The bed was good and the shower was great, both issues that can ruin a hotel experience for us! All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it .

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kentislandwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews