We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
143
57
12
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
57
12
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We found the pousada easily enough, just a 20 minute walk out of town, everybody we asked knew where it was.
We arrived early (0700) and had no problem getting to the room, a cleaner showed us the way but gave us no information as to who owned the place and how things worked there, we were kind of just dumped in the room, but we thought this was OK, it was very early.
The room was small with 2 double beds, but we were just a couple so it was not to cramped, 4 people with 4 bags would of struggled as there was no wardrobe space.
The only cleaning that took place was the beds got made, all empty plates, glasses and bottles were just left in the room.
The location was beautiful, with the waterfall in the background but not once did the owners introduce themselves, not even during the sao joao party that we were NOT told about, we heard about it from the other guests talking and the food was cleared away as we arrived, which to us was strange as pousada's are generally family run hotels run by friendly people, we did not get this vibe here. The young couple's in the room next to us were the only people who said "hello" during our 4 day stay.
Overall we felt pretty un-comfortable during our stay in the pousada, which was a shame because it has great potential.

Room Tip: Four people in one room will be tight.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joewe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I arrived at the pousada late at night and was too tired to explore the place and went straight to bed. when i woke up the next morning and stepped out, the view was amazing. the pousada is surrrounded by hills with a river nearby.
The rooms are separate units some distance from the office and the restaurant. They are average, not much to talk about.the breakfast is included and very good.

Room Tip: when i checked out, i was charged more for the room than i was originally quoted for (single). the owner told me that they had assigned me a different room (double), so they had to charged me more, although it was no fault of mine. Please check the rates and room availability when you check-in.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prasola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel R, Proprietário at Pousada do Capao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Recomendo o quarto com vista para o Capão
  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel R, Proprietário at Pousada do Capao, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmanuel R, Proprietário at Pousada do Capao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews