We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Summer Island Maldives(Ziyaaraifushi Island)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 403
US$ 224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 263/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

One&Only Reethi Rah(Reethirah Island)
US$ 3,525
US$ 2,033
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
smartline Eriyadu(Eriyadu Island)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 719
US$ 230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 386/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 659
US$ 514
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coco Bodu Hithi(Bodu Hithi Island)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 673
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 1,059/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Coco Prive(North Male Atoll)
US$ 54,912
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Huvafen Fushi Maldives(Huvafen Fushi Island)
US$ 1,195
US$ 801
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$ 986
US$ 494
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$ 891
US$ 739
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
402
175
40
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
175
40
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnurse sharksset menuour waiterfishhermit crabsdive schooloctopusmaldivian nightturtle pointroom boybbq nightrustic charmindian oceandive centrebuffet breakfast and lunchmaldivian stylesunset bar
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We have stayed many times over the years including the last 3 christmas/new year. Always a great holiday. Staff are so kind. Bathrooms could do with a little updating now. Although clean and serviceable could do with upgrading to match bedrooms.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank redbubbaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Redbubbaboy,

Greetings from Makunudu Island!

Your short and sweet review is truly well received by the entire team here. The team at the resort with their simplicity, genuinity and friendliness ensures that all our guests celebrate Life and I am glad you did especially during the festive season!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in your most preferred resort.

Warm island regards,
Ally Mohungoo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

- Friendly and pleasant staff (a special mention to Arjay for his responsiveness and professionalism in handling all our queries before and during our stay, all the way through to departure)
- Small island, relaxed and simple atmosphere with no unnecessary extras like TV, swimming pools or water villas
- No motorised water sports, so you can be sure it is quiet
- Wearing no shoes during the whole stay, which feels great
- Magnificent lagoon for swimming and snorkelling
- Great house reef with direct access from the beach and abundant marine life (eagle rays, turtles, octopuses, whitetip and blacktip reef sharks...)
- Good food & cocktails (sunset bar)
- Very comfortable beds, which helps a good sleep
- Overall, comfortable and spaceful accommodation (bungalows with direct access to the beach)
- Professional and friendly in-house dive center

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SoSolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear SoSolar,

Greetings from Makunudu Island!

Thank you so much for your beautifully worded review on us. It is always a pleasure to know that we have been able to deliver shining services to our guests, making a remarkable impression on them. Thank you for mentioning Arjay in your review. They are indeed STARS that keep lighted our resort in all aspects of the operation and they deserve all the praise!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the gem of Paradise for another wonderful experience.

Warm island regards,
Ally Mohungoo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Our stay at Makunudu was great! Nice staff, beautiful rooms, comfortable location and very very good food! I would recommend Makunudu if you are looking for an hideaway spot where to relax and have a pleasant stay in an authentic Maldivian style

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank O6354FUmarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear O6354FUmarcos ,

Greetings from Makunudu Island!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, the first line itself truly reflects what Makunudu is for all our guests. I am glad we stood up to your expectations and all of us in the team look forward to welcoming you back to your new found home soon;

With my warmest regards,
Ally Mohungoo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Makunudu is an amazing place for people who like staying in the nature, with a beautiful ocean and an amazing house reef just few meters away from the shore. Snorkeling and diving are fantastic: plenty of colorful fishes, a resident turtle, sharks, even manta rays! The staff is super friendly (although do not expect a 5-star treatment!), and everything on the island is just right: from the bungalow, to the beach and the restaurant!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Filippo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Filippo G,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation regarding your experience at Makunudu Resort Island on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I took particular pleasure in reading your comments regarding the natural side of our resort which is our moto to continuously keep up same to make our guest felt the taste of untouched nature on our private island.

We are most grateful for your valuable feedback and shall be glad to welcome you back for another memorable stay among us.

With my warmest regards,
Ally Mohungoo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

The Island itself is very nice. We wanted to get a basic island feel for a change. Love the lack of overwater Villas. This is a lovely basic, no frills option with great staff and reasonable prices. Great diving center with amongst the lowest prices in the Maldives. Just be aware of the level of hotel this is and you will be absolutely fine and love your stay.

Where are the issues?
Privacy: Nearly no privacy as the rooms are very close to one another, you share your stretch of beach and people staying next to you can easily see into your room when they are at their beach loungers or at the chairs in front of their rooms. Most private rooms are #10, #17 and #6.
Rooms: They have a nice decor but the bathrooms are small and have incredibly old infrastructure. But that alone is not an issue at all really as you know your not going to a luxury resort. The only thing that is truly lacking are coconut mats or the like at the entrance where you could clean your feet from the sand.
General areas: Overall the finishing is lacking. Cables are in the open and loose, lots of the things are dated and not well kept, still OK but just to a low standard. The music they play does not fit the place (no concept, from trance to rock to Indian radio)
Food: Very focused on European Guests, lack of Asian and local options. Food is incredibly bland but catered to the taste of guests. Restaurants are not really nice compared with what you could do with the location.

Overall: Good place, and with just a little bit of TLC this could be much much much better. Just increase privacy by planting between the huts, get a good island soundtrack, fix the couple of obvious wires, add some lounge seating options on the bar deck and add some light and local food options at the bar and this would be in the 3-4 star range.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Georg H,

Thank you for leaving a feedback online after your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed your holiday though certain aspect of it was not to your satisfaction.

The maintenance and garden team has been advised on your comments and we shall identify possible solutions to this problem. As for the bathroom is concerned it is already scheduled for refurbishment as from March 2018 without interrupting the good peaceful atmosphere of the hotel.

Thanks again for your comments which are always useful in ensuring that we are focused on areas needing our attention. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With my warmest regards,
Ally Mohungoo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews