We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveller rating
427
178
42
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
178
42
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nurse sharks set menu our waiter fish dive school turtle point hermit crabs maldivian night octopus room boy indian ocean dive centre bbq night rustic charm bed art sunset bar buffet breakfast and lunch
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 671 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Our stay at Makunudu was great! Nice staff, beautiful rooms, comfortable location and very very good food! I would recommend Makunudu if you are looking for an hideaway spot where to relax and have a pleasant stay in an authentic Maldivian style

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank O6354FUmarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear O6354FUmarcos ,

Greetings from Makunudu Island!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, the first line itself truly reflects what Makunudu is for all our guests. I am glad we stood up to your expectations and all of us in the team look forward to welcoming you back to your new found home soon;

With my warmest regards,
Ally Mohungoo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Makunudu is an amazing place for people who like staying in the nature, with a beautiful ocean and an amazing house reef just few meters away from the shore. Snorkeling and diving are fantastic: plenty of colorful fishes, a resident turtle, sharks, even manta rays! The staff is super friendly (although do not expect a 5-star treatment!), and everything on the island is just right: from the bungalow, to the beach and the restaurant!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FilippoG1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Filippo G,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation regarding your experience at Makunudu Resort Island on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I took particular pleasure in reading your comments regarding the natural side of our resort which is our moto to continuously keep up same to make our guest felt the taste of untouched nature on our private island.

We are most grateful for your valuable feedback and shall be glad to welcome you back for another memorable stay among us.

With my warmest regards,
Ally Mohungoo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

The Island itself is very nice. We wanted to get a basic island feel for a change. Love the lack of overwater Villas. This is a lovely basic, no frills option with great staff and reasonable prices. Great diving center with amongst the lowest prices in the Maldives. Just be aware of the level of hotel this is and you will be absolutely fine and love your stay.

Where are the issues?
Privacy: Nearly no privacy as the rooms are very close to one another, you share your stretch of beach and people staying next to you can easily see into your room when they are at their beach loungers or at the chairs in front of their rooms. Most private rooms are #10, #17 and #6.
Rooms: They have a nice decor but the bathrooms are small and have incredibly old infrastructure. But that alone is not an issue at all really as you know your not going to a luxury resort. The only thing that is truly lacking are coconut mats or the like at the entrance where you could clean your feet from the sand.
General areas: Overall the finishing is lacking. Cables are in the open and loose, lots of the things are dated and not well kept, still OK but just to a low standard. The music they play does not fit the place (no concept, from trance to rock to Indian radio)
Food: Very focused on European Guests, lack of Asian and local options. Food is incredibly bland but catered to the taste of guests. Restaurants are not really nice compared with what you could do with the location.

Overall: Good place, and with just a little bit of TLC this could be much much much better. Just increase privacy by planting between the huts, get a good island soundtrack, fix the couple of obvious wires, add some lounge seating options on the bar deck and add some light and local food options at the bar and this would be in the 3-4 star range.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Georg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Georg H,

Thank you for leaving a feedback online after your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed your holiday though certain aspect of it was not to your satisfaction.

The maintenance and garden team has been advised on your comments and we shall identify possible solutions to this problem. As for the bathroom is concerned it is already scheduled for refurbishment as from March 2018 without interrupting the good peaceful atmosphere of the hotel.

Thanks again for your comments which are always useful in ensuring that we are focused on areas needing our attention. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With my warmest regards,
Ally Mohungoo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Wonderful island, very friendly staff.
Corals were quite damaged since our visit 3 years ago, that was very sad to see, however marinelife were still fantastic, with turtles, sharks and tons of fish..

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bjarnev2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear bjarnev2018,

We thank you for choosing Makunudu Island Resort for your holidays and for writing a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to read that you had a great time and were well looked after by our dedicated team members who always strive for the comfort of our guest.

We reiterate our thanks for your visit and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again on your well preserved natural Island.

With my warmest regards,
Ally Mohungoo
Hotel Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Our second visit, really glad we went back a really special seasonal festivity. Maldivian island as they should be experienced, simple beauty with just the right amount of indulgence when you want it. Simple but conforatable beach house with wonderful food and catering. Great dive centre and accessible dive sites, lovely extensive house reek. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Paul G,

We wish to address our sincere thanks for sparing your precious time to post your holiday experience on Trip Advisor at Makunudu Island Resort.

We are delighted to read that you have been embraced by the service quality delivered by our team members as we sincerely believe in a culture of excellence.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience with us.

With my warmest regards,
Ally Mohungoo
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews