We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very bad experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Bellary, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

i had booked this hotel through a agent. i had paid every thing for 2 days stay before hand. i had a slip mentioning package for 2 days including food and laundry. this was brought to the notice of receptionist prior to check in. but on the day of check out receptionist MR.BALA(very arogant and ruthless fellow) asking me to pay food bill. he has started speaking abusive language. when i called hotel manager. he was also stating same thing. i was not worried abt money. being a doctor i was worried about my self respect. manager was not even tried to clarify this matter from the agent. after enquiring with a agent (after 30 min) manager called me inside and says "sir we are sorry the reciept which we got from agent is wrong, you have paid every thing, we will not repeat such things to any of our guests". though discourtacy is not a legal offence, can any body help me to fight this issue legally so that atleast other persons will get benefit. what excuse shall i give to my kids (6yr & 1yr old) who were waiting for me for about 90 min outside? still today my elder kid is asking the incident and says" papa we will stay in our house , people in the hotel are very bad". i request the hotel management to change persons like BALA and manager. i request i my friends that before entering this hotel clarify everything from the manager. other wise you may also face similar incident.

Room Tip: think before booking. read all reviews and come to conclusion
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank drshekappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We are extremely concerned about the experience you have undergone. Our apologies for the same. We have taken a serious view of this incident and will be taking steps to ensure that such behaviour is not repeated. We have also sensitized our staff in this regard.
Assuring you that your next experience with us will be one will meet your expectations.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    347
    126
    40
    40
See reviews for
424
248
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Don't have words to describe the terrible place! Stayed for 6 nights and food was horrible. There were lizards in the heater and no swimming pool was there and electricity was cut off every evening!! The drivers of taxis are rude and staff was ruder and waiters are foolish and cook is horrible. Magician is good!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karanmihirpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We would like to let you know that we have made note of your complaints. You will be glad to know that our resort in Munnar has undergone extensive renovation since your last visit. Please do visit our website and take a look.

Assuring you that your next experience with us will be one that will meet your expectations.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

The resort is under renovation and the rooms are not in a good state at present, mainly in terms of cleanliness. However, we stayed in one of the renovated rooms and of the rest of the resort becomes like that, then it should be very good.

The location is quite good as it is away from the town of Munnar and is surrounded by tea gardens all around. However, the service is not good. The staff is not interested in what the customers want.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAman_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Instead of taking the cottages, take the rooms in the main building. God hotel, good staff, food not that gr8, but in a place like Munnar, its one of the best environs to live in. Ya..Airtel does not work here...

Room Tip: We stayed in the suites and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

The resort is divided into old and new buildings.
We were given accommodation in the old building. But good thing was that they had upgraded our rooms to keep our entire group together. The Welcome was nice, the rooms were clean and spacious. We went for buffet dinner and breakfast. There are sales executive who start presenting offers the moment you check-in. Although it appears expensive prima-facie; the food is good, they have plenty of options. However the day when we dined there, most curries were sweet which upset a few of us. Due to Christmas week, they had organized some DJ music – though there was no DJ we enjoyed the music and bon-fire.
The resort is spread in a vast area and they organize various activities for the guests. However, in the name of Children play area they just have rides which toddlers will enjoy.
The resort is divided into old and new buildings, we were in the old but it was alright.
The Spa experience was great. It is reasonably charged and I found it very relaxing. Take the complete package if you are going for it, because it is cheaper than other places in Kerala.

Room Tip: I think the new building should have better rooms, we stayed in the old part. But it was also fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
15.0 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
15.1 km away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
15.1 km away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#4 of 13 in Chinnakanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
14.3 km away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
12.7 km away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,777 - ₹ 8,246
Hotel Class:4 star — Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Greens is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ClearTrip, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Sterling Resort Munnar
Sterling Hotel Munnar
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala/Chinnakanal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing