We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin okay, but short on amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Club Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

When we checked out at this resort we got a large 2-bedroom cabin, which turned out to be pretty nice. But the furniture was a bit outdated, and I think we were missing a chair. We were hungry, but only a few of the items on the menu were available. I can only confirm what another reviewer said about the power; it kept going out several times during the evening which was pretty annoying. Wifi turned out to be available in the cabin (since we were close to the reception area), but it disappeared together with the power. We had buffet dinner included in our deal, but it was only average. We did not try the activity center nor the pool. The resort is located in a very beautiful area near Munnar. Quite high elevation made it a bit chilly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MortenNygard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Club Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 454 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed here 2 nights in February 2012. The cottage ambience is very outdated. Bed is very small and not comfortable. Quality of food is horrible specially the room service. They have Buffet for Breakfast and Dinner lots of different choice but quality is ok. Power keep going out 3-4 times while were their and their generator is not auto start so it take 5-10 minutes for power to come back on. The cottages are kind of far from Reception they do not have prompt shuttle service inside the resort area. I will not recommend this to any one expecting 4 star service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A popular hill station located in Idukki district, appr 22 kms away from Munnar town. What an exotic location.this property has a great view including that of a lake which is appr 200 feet below. It is my favourite properties in Munnar. This property best of best in class massage, restaurant serving continental and Indian cuisines and good service. Most rooms have a valley view and are well-maintained. I can say, This is the best property in Munnar. Try it out . It also has a good banquet hall for conferences and business meetings.

Room Tip: 2 bed room cottages
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarjiths_newdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This is probably one of the most unique resorts you will ever find in India. Stone cottages on steep roads with lush greenery do make for a very memorable holiday. Rooms are quite large with a separate living plus dining room. On a full moon night, walking in the resort at night is magical.

Facilities were not top notch though. There were no hair dryers for example. Toileteries were of pretty good standard.

Views from most rooms were non existant. Only rooms with numbers 234 and above command a view. Very few of these are the much vaunted lake view ones.

Room service is tardy at best and downright non existant at the worst. The staff are polite though.

Food at the restaurant is the worst part. Not only does it taste like slop, the restaurant seemed understaffed, to an extent that water was served on our table midway through the meal.

We found a stone piece in the payasam. On complaining, they took it very lightly. Wonder if that is a common occurrence there.

The variety was also limited. And if you are a bit late, chances are that many of the items on the buffet would be over.

Room Tip: Select rooms with numbers 234 and above. Not only do they command a better view, they are closer to...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Askalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Property is excellent. Well maintained. 2 Night package included beakfast and dinner. 2 Bed room cottages are very nice. We did not use the other room. But 2 Bed cottage with living and dinning room is good enough for family. Views are awsome. Food was reasonable. Service was on the better side. Rooms were clean. Bedsheets, towel and other furniture was of good quality and gave luxurious feeling. All in all worth for family, may be bit expensive just for 2 people. Only complained I have these properties owner should provide better accomodations/facility for drivers.

Room Tip: Only couple of rooms has good view. And it is worth paying for it.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AGupta68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinnakanal
15.6 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
946 reviews
3.6 km away
SpiceTree Munnar
SpiceTree Munnar
#1 of 15 in Chinnakanal
450 reviews
0.4 km away
The Siena Village
The Siena Village
#5 of 15 in Chinnakanal
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
10.9 km away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
721 reviews
15.7 km away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club Resort

Address: Chinnakanal Suryanelli Rd, Chinnakanal 685612, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chinnakanal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range: ₹ 6,257 - ₹ 14,836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Club, Munnar is the best and finest luxury resort in the evergreen mountains of Munnar, Kerala, and India. It is located on a quite hillside in a small hamlet called Chinnakanal. From the early days of the 18th century, Munnar has been the favorite holiday destination of the erstwhile royal families, celebrities and nobles from India and abroad. The mesmerizing natural beauty and the weather is really unique. Mountain Club, Munnar is a real tribute to a typical type of architecture which is prevalent in the hill stations of Kerala. The exterior walls made from pure stone and the typical Kerala roof tiles provides the rustic look. . Surrounding the resort are extensive tea gardens and mountains with nature trails. Exclusive Food and Beverage outlets, conference halls, meeting rooms and a host of recreational facilities matching first class standards is available to make your holiday a truly amazing experience. Mountain Club, Munnar has many firsts to its credit. Each of its cottages contains a cozy and spacious living room and a bedroom. For those who are traveling with families and friends, we have two bedroom cottages, which have a living room as well. Every cottage is equipped with a fire place. Needless to mention, we have provided all amenities in our cottages. Take a dip and laze around the one and only swimming pool in Munnar. The resort has the largest conferencing facilities in Munnar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Yatra, Expedia and MakeMyTrip so you can book your Mountain Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club Resort Kerala/Chinnakanal, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing