We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, accommodating, good value”

Carnoustie Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Alfred
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carnoustie Guest House
Ranked #16 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Yvonne was most friendly, helpful and accommodating without "smothering" as sometimes happen with guest houses. The location was good and the facility had all the amenities we could hope for. The room was large and well-equipped. Everything was super-clean and neat. The only downside was hot water. We had the misfortune of waking up later than another guest who loved very, very long showers/bath, and used up all the hot water, causing us to have cold showers, and being middle of the winter it was not fun. Our top-tip would be to get up a bit earlier and enjoy a hot shower.

Room Tip: We were in the corner room and it was great - best views and no traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

This B&B rates highly based on the owners, Anthony and Colleen, who are so friendly I'd go back over and over! The rooms themselves are spacious, beautifully decorated, and luxurious, and breakfast was laid on like we were at a 5-star resort! If the weather had been nicer we'd probably have taken advantage of the pool; as it was we lounged around in the lovely comfortable living room and helped ourselves from the honour-bar. A really restful stay making Port Alfred well-worth visiting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We drove into small seaside town of Port Alfred without a hotel booking and in desperate need of somewhere clean, comfortable and welcoming after having spent the previous night without sleep on safari in one of the Eastern Cape’s game reserves. Sometimes in life – chance can pay dividends. And by chance we saw a road sign to “Carnoustie” showing 5 stars with its promise of just that - the 5 star luxury we were craving. So we followed the signs and found a perfect resting place.

Carnoustie (or is it 4Carnoustie?) is about 1 block from the shore but built on a hillside giving panoramic views of the shoreline. The property is built on a number of different levels with most of the guest rooms located on the top floors. We were shown to a corner room at the end of the veranda with double aspect windows. Fantastic views, spacious bright room with comfortable bed and pillows, air-con, free wifi and amazing value for money. Even the en-suite shower had a view. We paid 800 Rand for the room plus breakfast. I would happily have paid double!!

Just along the veranda was the lounge and a small splash pool. Incidentally, we noticed on the floor below a large apartment with self catering kitchen and open plan living accommodation, 2 double bedrooms with ensuite and private decking. Again with stunning views so I made a note for the future because, for 2 couples sharing, it would be a great location. Our host, Anthony, was most charming and very helpful. That evening we drove into town to eat and at Anthony’s suggestion went to the Wharf Street Brew Pub which was a delight. Would definitely stay at Carnoustie again but next time for longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank UliFe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
2.5 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
331 reviews
3.0 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
112 reviews
10.9 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
376 reviews
2.2 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
315 reviews
27.2 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Guest House

Address: 4 Carnoustie Avenue, Port Alfred, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Guest House Port Alfred, Eastern Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing