We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
7
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hospitality the river owen reserves hosts ocean accommodation views port
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

What an experience to spend time in this truly excellent home from home. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave, we were looked after by our hosts, Owen and Joanne Hilliar. The accommodation is five star, the home one shares has everything one could wish for - a quiet library, comfortable lounges, full television, wi-fi, and views across the ocean to die for. Their terrace is both comfortable and a place to sit and watch the abundance of birds that live in the indigenous areas and the ships passing out to sea. The pool is a must in summer and is situated in a very well planned and cared for indigenous garden. Owen and Joannes Staff are delightful and assist in every way possible. There is plenty to do around Port Alfred - golf, game reserves, art and culture, walks etc and Owen and Joanne are well equipped to help with any decision on the days activities. I am certainly looking forward to my next visit.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank 136judyp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

What a wonderful stay with fantastic hosts. We have never felt so relaxed in such beautiful surroundings. Accommodation is very comfortable and luxurious but we felt so at home due to due our hosts hospitality. Meals were excellent and even accommodated special diets with such ease. Great place to go to feel totally relaxed and get away from hustle bustle. Josie and Owen help you to relax and enjoy the tranquility of their home and surroundings always making you feel comfortable and welcome as though part of the family. Highly recommend for those needing to get away from business of life to have total relax.....

Room tip: Rooms have garden view not sea view, but do open onto pool so very private. Owners own space to get away to, so we always felt at home.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sherree2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

The owners and our friends Josie and Owen will shift the world to please their guests ! They are beautiful, warm-hearted people, with a passion for nature and Port Alfred. Come breath the fresh air, catch a fish on the river from their cabin boat or from the rocks, go for long walks on the pristine beaches....just come !

Room tip: Pool facing rooms !
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francois19570513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Josie & Owen made us feel so welcome and at home the moment we walked in the door. Wonderful hospitality, with a warm homely ambience. Its such a relaxing place to spend a few days, the views are breath taking, the meals are top quality and delicious. the rooms are beautifully decoarated and there is a beautiful pool to relax next to and enjoy some peace and quiet under the African Sky. We were taken out for walks along the beach, up the river on the boat, amongst other outings, we had such fun and laughed a lot which is definitely good for the soul. We will definitely be back there as often as possible.

Room tip: All the room are beautifully appointed.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarge1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend stay. So enjoyed it that I felt the need to share this little known but very special place. Accommodation is excellent, very well appointed. Hospitality is homely but very professional. We felt must welcome and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamC6032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews