We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,268)
Filter reviews
2,268 results
Traveller rating
1,290
602
195
89
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,290
602
195
89
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jordan valley italian restaurant il terrazzo dead sea champions bar indoor pool great resort breakfast buffet public areas direct access golf cart great facilities main restaurant day pass belly dancer mud bath beach area
Filter
Updating list...
992 - 997 of 2,268 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in December, 2014, earlier this month. The property itself is well located, with private access to the Dead Sea, good rooms. Some things could do with improvement:
a) Our package, booked through a tour operator, included lunch on one of the days. We confirmed this at the time of check in and were told it was included. However when we had lunch, the manager asked us to pay. Inspite of my clarifying the manager insisted we need to pay. Then I had to pull out my itinerary, ask them to recheck again and then they said it is included and apologized.
b) The hotel had a spa attached to it. The steam bath and sauna in Marriott Petra were complimentary but here we were told we had to pay extra. We did not understand why when we are paying such fancy prices for the rooms as it is we need to pay extra.
c) The hotel had less than 10% occupancy and so they could afford to be more generous but we did not find that coming through in their approach. Another elderly couple in their late 60s who were staying in the same hotel and needed to catch a flight at 9pm in the night were asked to check out at 6pm and sit in the lobby for 3 hours. This when the hotel was under pressure whatsoever on rooms! What an opportunity lost in creating customer good will.

Ramakrishna Nishtala

Room tip: No particular tip to offer in this respect
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramakrishna_nishtala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russel S, General Manager at Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2015

Dear ramakrishna_nishtala,

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the miscommunication between the agency and our resort team. I have shared your feedback with the hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to sweimeh.

Sincerely,

Russel Storey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

We ended our nine days in Jordan with two days to relax at the Jordan Valley Marriott. It is a wonderful facility on the edge of the Dead Sea including a beach and great pools. They have several restaurants on the property and a lot of open space. We loved our exploration of Jordan, but it was nice to unwind at this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JudgeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russel S, General Manager at Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2015

Dear JudgeT,

Thank you for your short but great review and I’m delighted to hear that you liked our resort and were able to relax here after your tour around Jordan.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Sincerely,

Russel Storey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2014

Beautiful location right on the Dead Sea. It is a long hike down and then back up and no beach right on the water, but plenty of options near by as well as choices of pools. Wifi only available in the lobby made international contact difficult. Breakfast buffet was good and plentiful.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott10jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russel S, General Manager at Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2014

Dear scott10jo,

Thank you very much for your feedback as it integral to our ability to continue to improve our service and provide our guests with a great resort experience.

We hope that you will come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Russel Storey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2014

We visited the hotel in early December. December is the perfect time as the weather is mild and there are very few tour groups. The property is beautiful. It has 3 pools in addition to the beach, and even has a water slide. The bars and restaurants are comfortable and the service is excellent. The staff genuinely took an interest in our well being. They clearly enjoyed working there as many told us they had been at the hotel for several years. My wife enjoyed repeated visits to the spa. We look forward to the opportunity to visit again.

Room tip: We were offered free wifi in the room and free breakfast during our stay.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0m77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russel S, General Manager at Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2015

Dear R0m77,

Thank you very much for your review and I’m glad that you got the chance to stay with us and enjoy our great weather.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Russel Storey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2014

If you are looking for a restful place to relax then this is the place. A very spacious place overlooking the dead sea with plenty of swimming whether in the dead sea or in the resort's many pools. There is a mall within walking distance where you can buy some things for your room as well as some other eating options other than what's in the hotel. The hotel is rather out of the way if you are looking to go to Petra. It is a three hour ride but the views are awesome and our driver was very accommodating. As with everything in Jordan the rides and food are a bit pricey as well as some of the local sights. Be prepared to spend some money, but it is well worth the relaxation. I would like to come back and journey across the bridge into Israel which you can see right across the dead sea.

One con was there is no wifi in the rooms and it is only available in the common areas of the hotel.

Room tip: If you can get a room away from the main pool it would be better as this is the one used the most by family and children. It wasn't too distracting but if you are looking to sleep in it would be a better choice.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoJo1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russel S, General Manager at Dead Sea Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2014

Dear JoJo1922,

I really appreciate your feedback and am delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in exceeding your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you choose to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Russel Storey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews