We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Tis is a beautiful hotel and walking distance to a number of attractions in the Monteverde area. The staff was courteous, the gardens are beautiful as is the pool area. Only drawback was wireless didn't work in our rooms but you could get a great connection in the garden areas.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliannaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    212
    173
    69
    31
See reviews for
197
273
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel seemed to be nice enough, the staff was pleasant, but the room we had was so disappointing. We had a room right by the parking lot and restaurant. It was tiny, not even a chair in the room to sit on, and very noisy-the noise from the restaurant came through the vents to the room, and the noise early in the morning from cars coming and going was terrible. Part of it was my fault, when we got assigned to this room, I should have gone back and requested a different room instead, but I was just too tired from the trip there.The included breakfast was only mediocre-One morning we got to breakfast at 9am, and the buffet table had probably never been refreshed since its 7am start-disgusting. The one good thing about this hotel is that iit is eco-friendly and very concerned about the environment. It is walking distance to town, but beware, if you want to walk back, you must walk up a very steep sidewalk to get there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Dear trip advisor user: thank you for giving us this opportunity to improve our quality and services, We try really hard to provide the best service possible, sometimes, things just do not turn out the way we´d wish, Your patience and understanding are both highly appreciated,
I know how important is to provide our guests with the quality and service they expect, and saddly, there are not second chances for a first impression.
Please be sure we are doing everything on our behalf to deliver the best service possible,
Each negative feedback, creates a new opportunity to make things better next time.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in March, 2012. Very nice, good food. Rooms were average size, clean. Pool was small by it is a small hotel. Only a 2 minute walk into town.

One item, they use the same menu night after night.

I would recommend night walk, saw Mexican Hairless Porcupines, 12' tall ant mount, traranchula in her nest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St_Louis_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Dear St Luoisr: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I travelled to Costa Rica on a school trip, and Poco a Poco was our favourite hotel. The staff at the hotel is fantastic. They were extremely friendly, and always helpful. The hotel isn't too big which is nice, it's easy to get from place to place. The pool isn't large, yet it's nice and well kept. Besides, if you're staying in Monteverde there is far more to do than spend your time in the pool. The hotel was in a perfect location. It's relatively close the the cloud forest, which is definitely worth checking out. It's also about a ten minute walk to the center of the town, which has many shops, clubs, and things to do. The food at the hotel was good, as were the bars. The rooms were average, but were clean. The Poco a Poco is certainly a great place to stay when staying in Monteverde!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

A nice place to stay, everything modern and clean and Santa Elena centre 5 minutes walk away. The only thing to moan about as this hotel is a good choice is that tour groups seem to call the shots, breakfast was altered one morning to cater for one group who wanted mixed veg!!!, and secondly a group of teenagers who took over the pool area, were very noisy, unsupervised, which forced the other residents to leave the pool area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 30 March 2015
Dear Trip Advisor member: Thank you very much for your comments and review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Poco a Poco, the best value hotel in Monteverde.
Our location, added values, facilities, details, and specially the service are all up the best standars.
Thank you and we wish you had the best time during your vacation in Costa Rica.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.7 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
1.0 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Property: Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,834 - ₹ 13,938
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing