We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,281)
Filter reviews
1,281 results
Traveller rating
864
320
68
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
320
68
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly garden costa rica expeditions butterfly room balcony room cloud forest el jardin restaurant private dinner heated pool santa elena beautiful grounds small balcony restaurant staff frog pond every evening three nights walking trails white faced monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 1,281 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We loved, loved, loved our stay at Monteverde Lodge. Every last detail was thought out and executed perfectly including:

*pick up at our hotel in San Jose
*driving to the lodge with a biologist as a guide who made the four hour drive fun and interesting including a delicious stop at a fruit stand
*qualified guides for forest preserve walks meaning more bird/animal sightings and explanations of the forest ecology
*outstanding meals (loved the tropical tuna salad!)
*staff that were friendly, professional but not self important
*a nightcap and cookies waiting for us in our room at night
*a balcony overlooking the forest canopy were we could sit for hours
*a heated pool
*a hammock/reading area with a view of the forest canopy
*yummy snacks at 5pm
*a butterfly garden next to the lobby
*comfy bed and a quiet room
*signs and information about the hotel written with a sense of humour

I could go on and on. This is most certainly a lodge, not just a hotel. It has a tropical, relaxed and comfortable feel, but every detail was top notch. Highly recommended as is their parent company, Costa Rica Expeditions.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear SML_CISVer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts in TripAdvisor and for listing every point that makes Monteverde Lodge & Gardens "a lodge with a tropical, relaxed and comfortable feel, but top notch details".

As you mentioned in your recommendation, Monteverde Lodge is owned by Costa Rica Expeditions, a full service inbound tour operator. We design customized itineraries for guests. We also own the Tortuga Lodge & Gardens in the lowland tropical rain forest of Tortuguero (rated #1 on Trip Advisor).

Costa Rica Expeditions specializes in arranging customized itineraries in Costa Rica. Guests work with a Costa Rican Travel Planner using our Lifetime Memory Costa Rica Expeditions Vacation Planning Process, for results, visit the CRE page here on Trip Advisor.

The company was founded in 1978 and has a very long history of requesting feedback and then acting on it. It’s the key to how we communicate with guests.

You're right, Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We loved the Monteverde Lodge & Gardens. The location (easy walk to town), grounds (beautiful and peaceful), butterfly garden, food (breakfast was particularly good), and our room (comfortable, good lighting, good space) were wonderful. We were in a forest balcony room and loved to sit on the balcony and read and gaze out. The staff were great and we loved the lodge's tipping system: instead of giving to individual staff members, there were two boxes for tips--one for the restaurant and one for the rest of the staff. Our only gripe was that the walls are thin so if your neighbors speak loudly, you hear them. Despite this, would stay again.

Room Tip: Forest balcony rooms are great.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank AJSSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear AJSSeattle,

Heartfelt appreciation for taking the time to share your review with the TripAdvisor community.

Our Forest Balcony rooms are a guests' favorite because you can sit on your balcony with morning coffee and the toucans, bellbirds and monkeys often give you a show. Night time balcony sitting is also special, on clear nights the stars will entertain you.
If you are unable to get a Balcony Room (reserve early) you may want to consider our Superior Garden Room, with direct access to the garden and small patio where the wildlife and stars are equally active.
Next would be the Forest View Downstairs Rooms, they have exactly the same layout as the Balcony rooms but with a bay window instead of a balcony. These are more affordable, have views of the forest under story where you will often see monkeys, agoutis, and Emerald toucanets.
Finally our most affordable option are our Garden Rooms. They are quite small but cozy, all have King beds, they have direct access to the garden with a small terrace.
To let our readers know, this year the lodge will soundproof its rooms, so hopefully soon you'll hear nothing more than the music of the forest.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We were disappointed in our room. Although clean it is very small and the attempts at upgrades in an old hotel are lacking.
The staff is friendly and efficient. Only free WiFi indicated this Property is in the 21st Century, otherwise it’s the 1950’s. No amenities in the room like tissues, lotion, etc. Don’t look for a TV either.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hineconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear hineconsult,

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. The lodge is not from the 1950’s, it was built in 1991. At that time, we were the only the second lodge in Monteverde that had private bathrooms.

If you want more modern architecture, we’re not for you. We’re about giving people access to the cloud forest, to world class Naturalist Guides and to the service that is our claim to fame.

For readers that are curious:

All rooms have free wireless internet.

All rooms do not have air conditioning or television, so you can appreciate the sounds of the tropical cloud forest.

The service style is personalized, informal, caring.

Our food is what a Costa Rican grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef.

The atmosphere in our lodge is quiet, laid back and tranquil with an open fireplace. No background music.

Our bar serves up creative cocktails. Like the Jigüiro, with fresh guava juice, rum, triple sec and squeezed lemon.

Suggested activities while you’re at the lodge, explore the gardens, with La Posa de Doña Yolanda solar-heated pool, the main fern and bromeliad garden, and the butterfly and humming bird garden.

Among the suggested activities in the area are hiking or bird watching with a naturalist guide, horseback riding, and zip-lining or hiking through the canopy.

We suggest you spend between 2-4 nights with us.

We recommend that before you reserve with us, you consider carefully whether we’re a good fit. This may mean spending 15 minutes on our website and calling us directly with questions. We will be the first ones to tell you if we don’t think we’re right for you, the last thing we want is for a guest to be unhappy with their stay.


Vacation Time is Precious!

Natalie Ewing
Director Marketing & Guest Satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here two nights in a forest balcony room with spectacular views over the forest especially on a windy morning. Rooms and bathroom very clean. Food was very good both at breakfast and dinner, we were joined by two white faced capuchin monkeys for breakfast one morning. The garden trails offer views over the valley and we spotted a coati and agouti on the path. The butterfly house was lovely. There is a small pool, yoga area and different areas with hammocks for quiet reading.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Safari444213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens here in TripAdvisor.

Just as you mentioned, the lodge itself is quite rustic, we don't have AC, TV, mini bar or background music at the lodge. The luxuries are found in the warmth of the staff, the mature gardens which are home to a lot of wildlife, the great food and the special touches.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Lots to do and see in Monteverde. Forests, birds, night hikes, butterflies, tarantulas - I nearly forgot the cheeky capuchin monkeys (they visit the Lodge dining room). And, as your superbly comfortable base, Monteverde Lodge. With a friendly and welcoming staff team throughout, domestic staff, waiters, front desk. Changing your previously booked tours, no trouble. Late dinner because you've been on a night hike, no problem. And the gardens, the gardens, so restful and relaxing, with one good trail. We loved it there.

Room Tip: Our balcony overlooked the gardens
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Le0ncavall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenn D, Guest Satisfaction Specialist at Monteverde Lodge & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Le0ncavall0,

Thank you for sharing your review on Monteverde Lodge & Gardens with fellow TripAdvisor users,

As you mentioned, there are so many options for activities in Monteverde.
We suggest our readers to visit our website and go to the Activities tab where they will find descriptions and prices for canopy tours, horseback riding, hikes in the cloud forest just to name a few.

If you're not sure about something feel free to contact us directly.

Vacation Time is Precious!

Jenn Dunn
Guest Satisfaction Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews