We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$247
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$247
View deal
FindHotel
$217
View deal
Priceline$247
Hotels.com$247
Travelocity$247
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,877)
Filter reviews
1,877 results
Traveller rating
1,366
368
97
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,366
368
97
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews juice bar farm to table sunset room cloud forest costa rica micro brewery farm tour main building restaurant balcony beautiful hotel hot tub yoga studio the pacific ocean happy hour nicoya peninsula amazing views superior room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,877 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2022

Near the town of St Elena and the Monteverde national park, this large Swiss style wooden built hotel is an absolute joy to stay at. We had an average priced room overlooking the beautiful gardens, with a distant view of the Gulf of Nicola. Such comfort and beautiful polished wood everywhere. Great cocktails and beer and wonderful food. Breakfast especially amazing. It is within walking distance of a few good eating places and shops. Also a fantastic bat experience along with a few other good places to visit and of course the fabulous Monteverde cloud forest reserve. Make sure you have a guided tour. It was a great shame that the real,ale brewery on the hotel’s grounds was not open while we were staying.

Room tip: The higher up the better for views, but there are no lifts.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AneClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2022

The property and location were perfection. We LOVED our room which let us wake to birds in the trees every morning. Rainbows in the afternoon and misty sunny swinging on our deck. We loved the farm to table concept. The drinks are FANTASTIC. If you want to support a business who believes in the environment and invests in preventing waste this is your place.

The service and staff are very lovely.

We will be back!

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2022

We chose this hotel because we wanted to support a local family who are pioneers in ecotourism. We expected a beautiful property with a fantastic restaurant, top-notch amenities and quality service-and Hotel Belmar more than delivered. We had a peninsula room under the restaurant, and we found it cozy and delightfully close to the garden. (Other reviewers have noted noise from the restaurant but we found it to be moderate and at limited hours, so it did not disturb our comfort.) We were able to walk the wonderful trails, and we wished we had more time to use the jacuzzi and visit the smoothie bar. As delightful as the property was, the real jewel is the amazing team at Hotel Belmar, who go above and beyond to take care of their guests. When we checked in we were offered warm towels to wash and a cup of verbena tea from their own farm. We arrived late and asked if a plate of food could be set aside for us - cheese and bread, sandwiches, whatever - and once we were in our room a tray of the freshest, most amazing cheeses, chutneys and sandwiches arrived. The food was so fresh and the flavors were so vibrant that we were amazed. And every meal we had was more of the same. When my husband left his cell phone in a local taxi, the hotel team not only helped us to recover it, and also showed genuine concern for us. This may not be a luxury resort per se, but it is an incredibly high quality establishment and we consider ourselves fortunate to have been their guests. If we return to Monteverde, it will without a doubt be to the Hotel Belmar.

Room tip: If noise is a concern, consider a room on an upper floor.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScarletMacaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

Loved our short 2 night stay at the Belmar. Our room had the most spectacular view of Monteverdi and the ocean you could ask for. It was spacious with a massive bathroom and walk in shower.

Staff were fantastic - especially on reception and went over and above in their customer service. We ate here one night and the food was delicious along with the fresh breakfasts served.

Only negative was the jacuzzi on our balcony looked like it had seen better days so we gave it a miss. Mind you, it was so windy during our stay it wasn’t somewhere we necessarily wanted to be !!

Would definitely recommend the Belmar for a unique stay in the Cloud forest.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GCHOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

Hotel Belmar was recommended by a friend and it was a great place with views from the top of the forest to the pacific coast. Very professional staff throughout . The restaurant served homegrown farm to kitchen food of excellent quality …..
They serve local craft beer and a full liquor bar .
I would definitely stay here on my next visit ….

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 943dougs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews