We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$159
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com$159
Priceline$159
Hurb$163
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (892)
Filter reviews
892 results
Traveller rating
291
340
158
56
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
291
340
158
56
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cloud forest costa rica hardwood floors large windows hotel grounds beautiful grounds spread out pool and hot tub reception area nature trail stayed here for nights monteverde reserve night walk monteverde area tubs birds roads
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 892 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2022

Was a bit nervous before we arrived having read some of the negative reviews. Yes, the property is a bit old and the lighting in the rooms is not great, but they are working to "refurbish" the place. On a positive note, the location and setting is really nice...spread out and peaceful. The terrace bar has a fantastic view, and the food was great. The pool area is pretty good as well (although not a heated pool), with two hot tubs. The staff at check-in were very helpful and provided some guidance on things to do while in Monteverde, as we had not booked anything in advance. If you are making your way through Monteverde for a few nights and are not too fussy about super modern amenities, and you are looking to spend some time just relaxing and hanging out, Fonda Vela is a pretty good choice.

Date of stay: April 2022
Thank yogenp195
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 April 2022

was disappointed on arrival to see that we had nowhere comfortable to sit near the property. There was a bench outside the room but was totally in the shade. We did spend quite a bit of time near the pool but not a lot of loungers. Feel slightly bad rating it a 3 as I slept incredibly well. I liked the mesh at the window and the breeze was a pleasant change from air con and it was very quiet. The staff were lovely and friendly. The pina colada was one of the best I have ever had . After seeing the locations of some of the other hotels I would have preferred to be less isolated.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sillyboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 March 2022 via mobile

Our stay (3 couples in 3 rooms ) in March for 2 nights at this Boutique Hotel in Monteverde did not begin too well as we were fooled by the pictures on PriceLine and the price was in the high end category hotels for this area. The hotel is an old tired property in urgent need of renovations. The rooms are big with two big size beds but that is all. Bathroom need urgent renovation and above all none of the rooms have air conditioning OF COURSE THERE IS NO MENTION OF THIS!in their marketing materials as well as at the time of check in. We checked in on a fairly hot day and only realized that there was no air after searching for the thermostat!!
They gave us a mini fan ( table top ) but there was only one spot with three pin plug point and were offered a cocktail which we politely declined.

Restaurant was excellent for dinner ( JOHAN did great job ) as well as breakfast buffet every morning.

Front desk staff was very polite but passed all the buck on to the MANAGEMENT and of course the General Manager was not accessible to us.

Disappointing property and I would not stay there again.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 509umeshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 March 2022

The reception area, dining room and the swimming pool are the best parts of this place. The grounds are extensive and there are some great views but gardens are a bit shabby in places. The rooms are spacious and ours even had an extra upstairs sleeping area. But on the outside they look very tired and dated. If you book any tours through the hotel, they don't tell you it's not chargeable to your room, which we only found out when we arrived at our tour destination and had no cash to pay! Nice self guided tour around the hotel grounds though.
This place has serious potential with the right backing.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank julian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 February 2022

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. It is a bit dated, but has character. There is some downhill walking to pool and spa, but manageable. The staff is very nice and helpful.
The massages we had were great!! The dinner was very nice. Beautiful views from the restaurant. Only one issue: I left my raincoat behind in a closet and, even tho I authoirized them to charge me to send it to the airport hotel where I would be staying, they were not cooperative and kept my raincoat.

Room tip: our room had a nice shared deck and the grounds were landscaped nicely.
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nana_mac6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews