We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please avoid” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Hagerstown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in July 2011. The room was gross, smelled moldy and was very dated, like nothing had been changed since the 1960's. To list one positive thing, the view from our 2nd floor room was very nice.
The place was like a ghost town, no one was at the bar, not even a bartender. The restaurant seemed to be closed as we couldn't get any service at 6pm, after waiting long enough for someone to come around we ordered dinner which was NASTY!!! The next morning the breakfast wasn't so great either...the pancakes were palatable. The front desk staff was rude and not helpful at all. the best thing about our 2days in Monteverde was going Ziplining at Selvatura!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    252
    114
    34
    33
See reviews for
179
314
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel Fonda Vela for 3 nights in January. We had great weather and enjoyed the grounds.Our room was large and comfortable with a beautiful view of the trees and billowy clouds blowing by. The hotel staff were so accomodating and helped us with getting set up with butterfly and hummingbirds at Selvatura and great zip-lining and a night time hike. The pool area was great and we enjoyed complimentary cocktails upon our arrival. We enjoyed meals in the dining rooms; one small & intimate and the other larger, light and airy restaurant with good service.

Room Tip: Room faced west toward the sunset...beautiful views.Very roomy with couches to lounge on in the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

This hotel is disgusting. I really can't understand why anyone would give them a good review. We promptly checked out of the hotel and arranged a much nicer one. The furniture in the room was broken, the floor had gaps in the wood, the bathroom smelled of mold and mildew, the beds looked disgusting. Really, how hard would it be to buy new linens or wash them? This hotel might be for some people, but it definitely wasn't for us. We tried the restaurant and the burgers were frozen, pre made burgers (this was the worst meal we had all vacation, in fact- the only bad meal). There was no bartenders at the bar, and the hotel owner was very rude and condescending to my husband. The only positive thing I can say about the hotel is that they did refund our travel agent the money so we could leave their hotel and get into a better one, but not before lecturing us about how they were the best hotel in Monteverde... let me assure you, they are no where close the best hotel ANYWHERE.

Consider yourself warned! Do not stay here!

Room Tip: Find a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tkc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

we had paid in advance for our 3 night stay but had to cancel because my wife got sick. Hotel never displayed their cancellation policy on their website and we later learned that it was 45 days in advance. Because we had to cancel with less than 45 days, the hotel kept our money and refused to even return a portion of it.

Terrible ethics and business practice. Please think twice before making a reservation here-they are much more interested in taking your money.

Room Tip: make sure you verify cancellation policy in advance
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pacplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed at Hotel Fonda Vela on my trip to Costa Rica in March. Unfortunately the weather was very bad during my visit so my review reflects that experience. First the positives. The Hotel has a great location not far from the entrance to the Monteverde Cloud Forrest. The hotel restaurant is excellent. For breakfast, the large windows in the dining room overlook beautiful vegetation with feeding stations for the birds and other animals. It is wonderful to see the birds and animals up close during meals. There is a small dining room with a fireplace which is cozy to have dinner in at night. The dinners we had there were memorable.
The downsides: There were torrential rains while we were there (and it was the "dry" season). The driveways that you walk to and from your rooms and to the restaurant are unpaved and muddy if it rains. I got very chilled hiking in the rain and wanted to warm up badly with a bath but our room only had a shower. I am unsure if any of the rooms have baths, but if this is important to you, I would ask about it.
I know if the weather had been better it would have been a different experience. I think there are wonderful views from the hotel, which we were unable to see. I would certainly go back and give it another try.

Room Tip: We were in a lower room of a two level building. I would ask for one of the upper rooms next time. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJLERC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
2.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
1.8 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.7 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.6 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#9 of 23 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Property: Hotel Fonda Vela
Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,926 - ₹ 11,660
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing