We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with excellent ammenities”
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with excellent ammenities”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We just returned from our 2nd vacation in Costa Rica. Fonda Vela hotel is very close to the Monteverde Cloud Forest, about 5 min by car. We've got a large room with a very nice view, and good bathroom. Everything were in very good condition, clean and spacious. The main entertainment for our kids was the pool with basketball set, and 2 jacuzzi. The pool has a roof, that makes it more attractive and useful: kids can stay in the pool for a long time without getting a sunburn or catch a rain shower. The restaurant food was delicious, but bit expensive. Overall we really liked staying in the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaSv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    263
    122
    36
    34
See reviews for
196
322
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here two nights on a Lindblad National Geographic tour. Our room was very comfortable, quite roomy with a good view. The grounds were very nice, with a natural feel. The food was very good and the staff excellent. The roads are gravel or dirt, so it gives it a country and mountain atmosphere. You need walking shoes to go to dinner or the bar or the office. It is near the Monteverde Cloud Forest. The rooms are decorated with original paintings done by the owners' father. It is a charming place. Wi-fi in the public areas. Our trip included visiting the excellent Butterfly Garden, hiking in the Monteverde Cloud Forest, seeing the Hummingbird Gallery, touring the Bat place (amazing information) and having an Argentinean lunch there, and touring the Don Juan Coffee Plantation which was excellent. Pool looked nice, but we did not use it or the fitness center. We loved watching the birds in the feeders just outside the dining room, which has a two-story high glass wall for viewing. The cozy fireside room is very nice for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Fonda Vela was a very comfortable hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt the hotel was fairly isolated outside of town w/ a fairly lengthy walk down the dirt road. We ate all of our meals at the hotel and found it slightly expensive but very good w/ good service. Our room was good, not fancy but very comfortable, two story with a double downstairs and one upstairs. There is a minibar that we used for the refrigerator, a coffee maker and a safe. We didn't use the pool as it was full of kids but did sit out in the banana plantation area at a table. (lots of tables and benches around) Free computers to use as well as wifi in the reception area. They also had a water cooler that we used to fill out water bottles. We did the walk around the hotel...very nice and did see wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pachappa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here on a Headwater walking trip. This hotel was very good - huge rooms with King and Queen beds, lovely deck with great views and good bathrooms. Lovely pool in great grounds. Restaurant was very good, staff friendly and the deck outside was great for supping a beer (Pilsen my favourite) and watching lovely sunsets. The hotel is in a great position for the Monteverde Reserve - we had a bus for the tour group but the hotel would be quite distant from the town if you had no transport. A taxi ride would be needed to town.
Roads in Costa Rica are often unpaved but not bad in quality - so just get used to dirt roads!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 - a good position but for he view we would need to sit on the side deck. Our fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenity65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

Lovely room with beautiful view of the gardens. It was a wonderful place to relax with a nice pool a real bonus. 15 minutes walk into monte verde so worth eating outside of the hotel especially at chimera which was great. Cloud forest is truly beautiful so it's definitely worth making the 2 hour journey on terrible roads to get there. The views are spectacular though!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
2.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,095 reviews
1.9 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
1.7 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
676 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Trapp Family
Hotel Trapp Family
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
625 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Property: Hotel Fonda Vela
Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,039 - ₹ 13,884
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing