We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
217
294
148
47
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
294
148
47
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the reserve closest hotel mountain suites cloud forest costa rica space heater mountain view national park wood floors taxi into town walking distance plenty of blankets main building hummingbird gallery santa elena monte verde large windows
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in monteverde for two nights and trapp family was perfect for us!

Check in: was easy and front desk was very helpful In booking activities for us! I was worried about booking at the hotel because I wasn't sure if there would be availability but, luckily for us there was and we had no issues. We booked a night tour and a canopy tour both were great! Especially extreme adventures canopy tour!

Food: breakfast was great. Not a huge variety but it was tasty and had what we needed. Eggs, rice, plantains and some bread. We also had lunch there and ordered two different kinds of soup and we liked both! And we ordered
Burgers and chicken sandwich and the chicken sandwich was also good. Cocktails were made well by bartender and they were needed after a long day of activities! So thank you for that!

Location: hotel from the town was too far of a walk and roads would be difficult at times so we decided to taxi the entire time wasn't too expensive. Think it was $8-10. Hotel was near the cloud forest. It was an easy 10-15 min hike from the hotel and we did a 2-3 hr hike to the bridge and the forest is beautiful! Breathtaking!

Overall, we enjoyed trapp family and their services!

Date of stay: September 2017
Thank stephanie101517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This is a great hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and the rooms come with excellent views of the gardens. It is a quiet place to stay, and the standard of the food was consistently high. Go and visit the nearby hummingbird gallery but turning right out of the hotel and walking for 10/15 mins.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JPH1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Nothing to say about the rooms that were definitely the largest and most beautiful we had in Costa Rica. The breakfast buffet wasn't good at all, with almost nothing to choose from! The lunch/dinner menú wasn't very interesting however the food was good but took very very long to reach the table!! Very good position close to the Monteverde Reserve but the furthest hotel from the town of Santa Elena and from almost every activity (taxi to Santa Elena around $ 10-12). What I was most disappointed about was the absence of a pool even if there was a huge garden with just a couple seats completely unused (it would have been perfect for a pool). Don't get me wrong, I don't want the pool to stay in it all day, but unfortunately the activities aren't a lot and they usually start at 8 a.m. or 2 p.m. with an average duration of 2:30 hours which leaves you quite a bit of spare time where you really don't know what to do!!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Arkion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This hotel was graded by our tour operator the same as The Lost Iguana in Aranel. They should not be considered as equal; The Trapp Family hotel was a bit tired. Had no grounds, no pool and was pretty functional. The rooms were adequate. The food was adequate, the service in the restaurants was very good, and the staff generally were very helpful and friendly. The reception staff however didn't seem that friendly or helpful and didn't seem to be just down to a language barrier.
We had 3 nights here but that was probably one night too many.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Timmooreuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Trapp Family for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The room was classic with a small attached sunroom to relax in and watch the weather changes. It was a short walk to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, and a short taxi ride to/from the town Santa Elena. The tours we went on all included pick-up/drop-off, so transportation was pretty good. The hotel restaurant was very good, and the service was excellent. We ate dinner there all three nights. Their complimentary breakfast was delicious, a few steps above most.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jing C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews