We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy atmosphere in the middle of the Nature”
Review of Hotel Trapp Family

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Trapp Family
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 16 October 2017

A tastefully manicured hotel property sprawled in the surrounding rolling hills. The view from the garden where the clouds are touching the hills will make you feel romantic. The food is tasty, restaurant and the waiters and waitresses are superb. The price is very reasonable. It is a place to stay when you are in Monteverde!

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tab G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in monteverde for two nights and trapp family was perfect for us!

Check in: was easy and front desk was very helpful In booking activities for us! I was worried about booking at the hotel because I wasn't sure if there would be availability but, luckily for us there was and we had no issues. We booked a night tour and a canopy tour both were great! Especially extreme adventures canopy tour!

Food: breakfast was great. Not a huge variety but it was tasty and had what we needed. Eggs, rice, plantains and some bread. We also had lunch there and ordered two different kinds of soup and we liked both! And we ordered
Burgers and chicken sandwich and the chicken sandwich was also good. Cocktails were made well by bartender and they were needed after a long day of activities! So thank you for that!

Location: hotel from the town was too far of a walk and roads would be difficult at times so we decided to taxi the entire time wasn't too expensive. Think it was $8-10. Hotel was near the cloud forest. It was an easy 10-15 min hike from the hotel and we did a 2-3 hr hike to the bridge and the forest is beautiful! Breathtaking!

Overall, we enjoyed trapp family and their services!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank stephanie101517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This is a great hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and the rooms come with excellent views of the gardens. It is a quiet place to stay, and the standard of the food was consistently high. Go and visit the nearby hummingbird gallery but turning right out of the hotel and walking for 10/15 mins.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JPH1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Nothing to say about the rooms that were definitely the largest and most beautiful we had in Costa Rica. The breakfast buffet wasn't good at all, with almost nothing to choose from! The lunch/dinner menú wasn't very interesting however the food was good but took very very long to reach the table!! Very good position close to the Monteverde Reserve but the furthest hotel from the town of Santa Elena and from almost every activity (taxi to Santa Elena around $ 10-12). What I was most disappointed about was the absence of a pool even if there was a huge garden with just a couple seats completely unused (it would have been perfect for a pool). Don't get me wrong, I don't want the pool to stay in it all day, but unfortunately the activities aren't a lot and they usually start at 8 a.m. or 2 p.m. with an average duration of 2:30 hours which leaves you quite a bit of spare time where you really don't know what to do!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Arkion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This hotel was graded by our tour operator the same as The Lost Iguana in Aranel. They should not be considered as equal; The Trapp Family hotel was a bit tired. Had no grounds, no pool and was pretty functional. The rooms were adequate. The food was adequate, the service in the restaurants was very good, and the staff generally were very helpful and friendly. The reception staff however didn't seem that friendly or helpful and didn't seem to be just down to a language barrier.
We had 3 nights here but that was probably one night too many.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.9 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
2.2 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
263 reviews
2.1 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,132 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,370 reviews
3 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trapp Family? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trapp Family

Address: LG Monteverde, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: ₹ 6,323 - ₹ 9,871 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trapp Family 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Trapp Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing