We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$158
Hotels.com$158
Priceline$158
Travelocity$158
Tripadvisor$158
eDreams$158
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
446
140
34
19
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
446
140
34
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hammock garden night tour the owner night walk hiking trails costa rica wood fired pizza tilapia amazing views cloud forest great trails bunk beds rooms are very basic sunset view large bathroom hot water eco lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2022

Our family of five spent two nights here and were immediately impressed by the setting, the nature reserve and particularly the service. Our room wasn't large, but clean and comfortable. The grounds are extremely well-maintained, and the nature preserve is a treat to explore. You can see the care that goes into creating a family-friendly atmosphere from the central open space to the hammocks in the nature preserve. We had the opportunity to chat with the owner Jonah while we were there. It's clear he walks the walk when it comes to environmental commitment and permaculture, and he and all the staff were a great resource for information about the area and the country as a whole.
Construction was taking place while we were there, and the restaurant wasn't doing dinner service, but once that is complete I'm sure this property will be even more attractive and welcoming.

Room tip: There's a variety of room types so you may want to check with the staff before booking.
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 November 2022

We loved our time at Valle Escondido, the staff was amazing, so nice and helpful, great recommendations on where to go in Monte Verde. They even booked our shuttle to our next location for us! The grounds were beautiful, we loved the trails. We saw wildlife every day. Highly recommend for a relaxing and beautiful stay.

Room tip: Make sure you save time to spend on the grounds, the trails are beautiful and you can learn about medicinal plants and eco farming
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank svea l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 September 2022

I can't imagine staying in another place in Monteverde. Valle Escondido was a unique experience. It is located on an entire nature preserve that is on the cutting edge of sustainability. We explored all the trails and were really able to be in the nature. The restaurant is delicious and uses lots of resources grown right on the property. The tea infusions and water kefir were especially appreciated. Highly recommend doing the permaculture tour while you are here! The staff is accommodating and friendly. There is also amazing Aerial yoga every day that made my body feel great. It is definitely a family vibe but we were on our honeymoon and had a great time. You will enjoy your stay more if you slow down and appreciate the larger mission of this reserve - to be integrated and cooperative with the surrounding nature. The views are incredible. The rooms are very simple so don't expect anything fancy - the surrounding area is what you come for!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Excursion582726
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 September 2022 via mobile

Could not be happier than to find Valle Escondido. The hike around the farm's nature preserve complete with luscious fauna, flora and an overview of the distant gulf, stunning butterflies and wandering coatis was worth the price of admission. Excellent, healthful food, gracious staff, a base from which to conveniently hike the cloud forest and tramp the wondrous hanging bridges... Last but not at all least an unparalleled education afforded by a tour of the grounds and facilities manifesting brilliantly thought out self-sustaining and permaculture (a rebranding of indigenous peoples' wisdom) principles. An inspiring experience not only because I am a professional homeopath and acupuncturist. Jerry Kantor (author of Sane Asylums, the Success of Homeopathy Before Psychiatry Lost Its Mind)

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank K2852VVjerryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 September 2022

If you're looking for a place with amazing hiking trails, spectacular views in all directions, immaculately maintained grounds, and a staff who are excited to share their campus with you, look no further.

We loved the guided night walk, we loved how Dunia was so nice and helpful with answering all our questions, we loved the service that Guillermo offered in the restaurant, and we really enjoyed discussing permaculture with Jonah.

It was a really fantastic time. If you're interested in five-star accommodations, this ain't the place. But if you're interested in connecting with nature in a gorgeous environment, I can't imagine a better place.

Room tip: Take advantage of all the place has to offer.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlbanyGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews