We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, great price - just brilliant”

restaurant les sports
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 26
Cuisines: French
Description: French traditionnal restaurant the "chef" is the "Boss" Fine and fresh products with a very large choice of French gastronomy tradition. From 12€ to 26€ complete menu. Kids menu 9€
Restaurant details
Description: French traditionnal restaurant the "chef" is the "Boss" Fine and fresh products with a very large choice of French gastronomy tradition. From 12€ to 26€ complete menu. Kids menu 9€
Reviewed 27 December 2015

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. The food was very good and the staff went out of their way to be accommodating changing anything we wanted from the menu. We will definitely be returning.

We previously visited a place around the corner on the main road called Au couer Veneen- It was the absolute opposite of this place, terrible food terrible customer service and over priced.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elli0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2015

We stayed within walking distance of this restaurant. We booked for our party of 11 plus two pushchairs and had such a delightful meal that we went back on the last night of our holiday. Good value too - 300 euros including drinks!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank RichardBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

I have enjoyed dining in the Vendee for over twenty years and was expecting good things from this reasonably well reviewed restaurant. However the experience itself was to say the least, disappointing, at worse, appalling.

I cannot comment on the food or the drink or the ambience as my wife and I walked out after 60 minutes after not even being offered a drink while deciding what to eat. Whilst we were waiting a rather vacant looking waitress handed out menus/food/drink to two adjacent tables and whilst doing so completely ignored our table.

As I said I have dined in many restuarants in the area and have no issue when there is a sizeable pause between courses, but to not even be served or acknowledged after an hour is completely unacceptable.

There are many restaurants in the area, I suggest you try them all before coming here.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Willlmottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We ate here at Easter time for lunch, we were a group of friends on holiday, 4 adults and 2 children
When we arrived we were the only people in the restaurant, and with our limited pigeon French, much to the waitress amusement we managed to decipher the menu.
There was a choice of 3/4 set priced menus, although there is A La carte, 3 of us had set, and one had the steak, the childrens menu was good, burgers or chicken and chips, cooked the french way.

The food was all substantial, and very well cooked, the steak was served with a cheese sauce and potatoes, not what we expected, but very nice and different, the fish we ordered was fresh and plenty of it, most main meals came with sauce on.
The starters were set on large plates and served as you would expect from a high class restaurant , decorated with drizzles and jelly and sauce, but twice the amount of food you would get in posh restaurants and a third of the price.

The restaurant started to fill up as we sat there, all local families and workers,pets were welcome in the restaurant, much to the children's joy, great atmosphere, and buzzing. We enjoyed watching what the locals had ordered, and nice to see we had chosen what they were eating as well.

The highlight for the kids was the cornetto ice cream as part of the meal, instead of the normal scoop of ice-cream, ours was the homemade Creme caramel and Chocolate mousse.
I would advise to check what specials they have on the chalk board.
If you like people watching and exploring the local food and culture, then dine here.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ajt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoine M, Gérant at restaurant les sports, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed restaurant les sports also viewed

Longeville-sur-mer, Vendee
Saint-Vincent-sur-Jard, Vendee
 
Longeville-sur-mer, Vendee
Jard-sur-Mer, Vendee
 
Jard-sur-Mer, Vendee
Saint-Vincent-sur-Jard, Vendee
 

Been to restaurant les sports? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing