We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but had a bit of a mishap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My kids went crazy for this hotel which had baby foot tables, a wii surrounded by comfy bean bags and very teenage perfect rooms with giant screen TVs, hip magazines, etc....
The hotel is a little off center but great for a night, with location right by Place Jourdan (lots of restaurants and chez Antoine, reputedly the best fries in Brussels) and by nice Park Leopold. The ride to the airport took about 25 minutes.
What I was not crazy about: the gym is very small. Also, the shower in one of our rooms did not drain correctly and it flooded the bathroom. There really was no correction possible for this problem which happened late at night other than moving us which would have been impractical. No compensation offered for the problem.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Solange72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Hi Solange72,

Making the kids have a good time with us ensures that we are already at least half-way in making sure the parents have a nice stay as well, we think. That's why we have a Wii game room, pool table, football table, board games and Camp Aloft (build your own camp in your loft) all at their disposal.

We actually believe our fitness is a great size for the number of rooms we have in the hotel. All key equipment is available, from dumble waits, bikes, cross trainers, running machines, etc. All machines are from Life Fitness and less than 2 years old so guaranteed good quality!

I'm sorry to hear about the problem with your showerhead. We'll certainly make sure our re:pair department goes in to fix it. I hope it did not inconvenience your stay too much.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,771)
There are newer reviews for Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 850 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

Visit Brussels very often for work. This is a newly built hotel, very trendy. Very close to the EP, the Council and the Commission but still leaves a sense of a young urban meeting place. Will surely be my preference for next visits!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank KNektaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hi Nektaria K,

Thanks for talking so highly of us! It almost makes us blush a little, but we are very happy with your compliment.

The location is indeed excellent for visiting the EU - we're litterally only steps away from all the key buildings.

We will very much look forward to seeing you soon again.

Have an easy breezy day!

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Aloft schuman was a great discovery and surprise. Great design, spacious rooms, nice bathroom facilities, coffee/tea maker with a basic choice (although the coffee milk was well expired), and nice common areas. The lobby is well thought with design furniture, a free pool and a free baby foot. The staff are really cool but also professional. They also have self check-in/out possibilities which is really comfortable if you just stay one night. The metro is just 2 mins away.

I will definitively come back there next time I'm in Brussels.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank maott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Hi maott,

Great to see that you have discovered what Aloft is about as well. Indeed, casual but profesional service in a cool setting and located in a nice part of town - slightly off center but close enough to walk or take the metro and you'll be standing on the Grand Place in 15 minutes.

Do make sure to come back soon - Brussels has a lot to offer!

Have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very comfortable rooms with all mod cons, free wifi, bottled water in room each day. Staff very friendly & helpful. Lovely bar & snack area. Great location close to European quarter. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connollycaoimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Hi connollycaoimhe,

Great design combined with tech savvy features and a buzzy social scene is all what Aloft is about. It seems you've ticked all boxes in your review which is great news! Indeed, free wifi, 42" flatscreen, DJ nights and delicious cocktails are only some of the things Aloft has to offer you.

We do hope you will be back soon for some more a-list experiences.

Have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very comfortable and quiet rooms. Close to the tourist spots that you will want to see (Center, parks, shopping, subway, etc) but far enough away to enjoy the people of Brussels.
Very close to the subway.
The hotel doesn't have the room service or other accomodations that some people like but that gives you the opportunity to eat locally and enjoy the true atmospher of Brussels.
Best hotel beds that I have slept in.
I highly recommend the Aloft and its staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coenvan, General Manager at Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Hi John C,

Thanks very much for writing so positively about us and sharing your experience with the rest of the tripadvisor world. The location of the hotel is indeed slightly off center but easily walkable (25 mins) or reachable via the metro, being only 3 stops away from the central station.

It's great to read that you have enjoyed the design and particularly the custom designed beds that we have. Do make sure to come back soon for more!

Have an easy breezy day.

Coen van Niersen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etterbeek
0.5 km away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#15 of 198 in Brussels
1,514 reviews
2.3 km away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
2.1 km away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 198 in Brussels
613 reviews
0.3 km away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#7 of 198 in Brussels
1,798 reviews
0.7 km away
Radisson RED Brussels
Radisson RED Brussels
#2 of 15 in Ixelles
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel

Address: Place Jean Rey, Etterbeek, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Etterbeek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Etterbeek
Price Range: ₹ 5,271 - ₹ 25,511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tune it up in the capital of Europe. Tuned into modern day expectations with open loft-inspired approach, tech-savvy features and self-service options, Aloft Brussels Schuman gives an innovative concept to early adopters travelling for business or leisure. Autonomy and flexibility are key: our guests can fully customize their stay, from choosing to grab & go anytime, anywhere, to mixing up work and play in our free-flowing re:mix space. The rooms are modular, comfortable, and can also become an open-plan urban office in an instant. Where others imitate, Aloft Brussels continues to break new grounds, supporting up and coming music talents with a vibrant Live @ Aloft programming in W XYZ bar and offering a platform for creative entrepreneurs to showcase their creations to our guests in the re:mix lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel Etterbeek, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing