We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
10
28
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
28
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic tables grocery shopping minute drive swimming pool is holiday beach resort the air conditioning stove wifi penticton unit fridge lake
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

I have been coming here for 35+ years with my family for our annual family reunion. The area is beautiful and quiet. The rooms aren't fancy but there is everything you need plus a great view. The lake right across the street is great for swimming/kayak and just hanging out in. There is a park designed for kids within sight. The swimming pool is always clean as are the rest of the grounds. Bring some briquettes for the brick barbecue. The staff is always friendly and accommodating.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We stayed five nights over eight days and appreciated the many pluses of this well-located motel, adjacent Skaha Lake. There is easy access to the KVR and other walking trails in the area. Supermarkets and shops are easily-accessible and also within a short walking distance... .

Our rooms were fully self-contained, appointed with almost everything we needed.* Many upstairs rooms have lake views.

Efficient gas barbecues enabled us to grill our salmon, sweet potatoes and corn on warmer evenings... and outdoor tables and chairs encouraged guests to enjoy dining outside in fine weather. A well-maintained swimming pool was frequented by many families.

The motel is efficiently run, by friendly, helpful hosts.

* Wifi was unreliable during our stay. On countless occasions we were unable to connect... and drop-outs occurred very frequently. As Canadian telcos offer _minimal_ service to overseas tourists, we depend on reliable wifi... .

Room Tip: Upstairs for a view. Downstairs if frail-aged or infirm.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozcan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Firstly - this is a resort, not a motel. Cancellations are 14 days, although management is very accommodating and pleasant and was willing to accept a cancellation only a few days prior. Guests are also expected to wash the dishes and clean the kitchen area.

What was GOOD (our experience)

- Location - across the road from the beach area, close to cycle rail trail (to Kaleden & Penticton). There is a road and public beach between the "beachfront" rooms and the water). Some of the public visitors park their vehicles on the road in front and sometimes in the motel parking stalls.

- Friendly management - host was very accommodating during booking and our stay.

- BBQ & Pool area - An excellent place to relax around the pool and enjoy a BBQ.
There is a large mowed grassy area to run around on and a horseshoe pit. (A "beach volleyball" court is also there but appears as if it is unused for some time...)

- Kitchenette format - our unit had a semi-private bedroom, living/dining room, kitchenette & 4 pc bathroom. For a stay of more than a couple days this would be handy.

- Price - $145/day for rooms in the 2 story back section (near the pool), $165/day for beachside one story (6 units) - more than some nearby in town motels (Oliver), less than other resorts

DOWNSIDE (our experience)

- Housekeeping: in a word, our unit (#5-beachfront) was not clean. a towel wipe test of the bathroom floor came up black, there were splashes of ?? on the bathroom wall, crumbs in the pantry shelves, dirt smears on the wall... a good going over every week by housekeeping would have made our stay pleasant.

- Plumbing - older plumbing resulted in water temperatures going from shower temp to freezing to scalding several times in a short shower - if anyone in nearby units used water (taps, shower, flush?) this is understandably an older place in reasonable repair.

SUMMARY
If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay a few days, and are willing to overlook older property shortcomings, this place offers good value.

We would absolutely consider staying here again if we knew the rooms would be clean... Most likely would not spend the added $$ for "beachfront" - probably go for a back unit near the pool.

This is an older facility in reasonable upkeep. The exterior landscaping is good... it really is a shame that poor housekeeping spoiled an otherwise fun "retro" visit...

Room Tip: A public road beach between the rooms and lake - it's a busy street... poolside back row units have less traffic.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

On a busy Okanagan long weekend, we were lucky to find Holiday Beach. $120/night for 4 nights may seem like a lot of money for what appears to be a low-budget motel, but we had a very large room (not exactly a suite).
The decor was plain and dated, but the berber carpet appeared quite new, the bed comfortable, the shower pleasant, the air-conditioning efficient, the bar fridge effective, the pool inviting, the manager couple friendly... and everything was clean. Right across the street is a nice park and beach.
There was no housekeeping service. If that's important to you, stay away.

Room Tip: Ask for room 21 if you like space
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Uno_de_los_amigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We were in Okanagan Falls for one night and fortunately the Resort had one room available for that night. The Holiday Beach is not set up for one night stands since it is a resort. Cancellation requires two weeks notice and credit card information is taken immediately. The owner told us that since they are open only for the six months during spring summer and early fall, there is no special rate for seniors or BCAA members etc. This is really an old motel that has been made into a resort. We did not use the pool or the picnic area which seemed very nice. The Resort is across the street from the beach so there is easy access. The unit is well equipped except for a hair dryer and set up for long term rental. There is no daily housekeeping although fresh towels are available if needed. Although there is supposed to be free wifi we could not get it to work.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brienbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews