We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet retreat with stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gordejuela 1

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Los Realejos, Tenerife, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

silvergir...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Panoramic coastal views from front path outside the house...”
Reviewed 1 May 2019 for a stay in April 2019
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the coastal walks on the Rambla Castro, which went directly past the house to a beautiful 16th century mirador cafe and restaurant. The house LOOKED beautiful from the outside, but sadly it was dingy, dark and dusty from rough, pitted concrete floor, and old brickwork inside. HIgh ceiling made it echoey and austere. You had to stand right by the windows to peer out through iron bars at the view (no views from the yard outside). It hade a high staircase with no bannister or guard rail away from the wall side. We loved seeing the little colony of colourful lizards, who joined us for lunch on the patio, :-) (but we were'nt so pleased when they peeped out of the inside rough brick walls at night!), I had hurriedly picked up my own pair of padlock keys as we left on the first evening for a short walk, (my mistake!) and let the door blow shut without worrying, only to find ourselves locked out, and paying 20 euros to the owner to get back in! We decided to move out earlier than planned, and get alternative accommodation, with traditionally tiled floor and clean walls, light and airy, with garden and views, just a short distance along the Rambla Castro, nearer to Puerto de la Cruz.

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2019
Thanks for writing a second review about the same house (??) Read all other reviews, we always get 4 or 5 stars and guests are very satisfied. As you can see on the pictures, the floor was left like it was years ago. This and the orignal walls make this place so special. You found it dusty, but it wasn´t. We always take care the place is clean. Some guests have mentioned the nice lighting we have. But eveyone thinks different. I think you chosed the wrong holiday house for you. The outside courtyard is closed to give some privacy to the guests. If you want, you can open it and have less privacy but great views. The house number 2 has a spectacular view with privacy. It is only 10 € more per day. At your arrival we told you to take care that the door don´t close with the key inside. It is also written at the information inside. But, you locked yourselves out, called us at 10 pm, we had to send someone. Than, you told that you left the key inside the lock (!!!) and that you took another key with you (there was only one key set). The woman had to go to the office to get the keys of the communicating doors between the houses. We had to disturb the guests from the other house by night to go through. You didn´t pay a fine. You payed the person who spent more than one hour at 10 pm solving your problem. Even a change of lock wouldn´t make any difference if you leave the key inside the door.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterdF36...
Stow-on-the-Wold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb location but not for us”
Reviewed 28 April 2019 for a stay in April 2019
1
person found this review helpful

The house is reached via a long bumpy unmade track and is a tall1905 restored industrial building in a stunning cliff-side location overlooking a small cove and the sea. The view was impressive from outside the house but also visible through the barred windows in the sitting room. There was no view at all from the enclosed outside courtyard - somewhat reminiscent of a prison exercise yard!
The house was moderately fitted out but uneven concrete floors throughout made it austere and the lack of proper lighting gloomy. We found it dusty due to unsealed exposed rough brickwork. The balcony bedroom was accessed by a set of open treaded stairs with no banister - not good for young children or the elderly.
That same balcony bedroom was open on one side with only a flimsy 5 wire barrier. And yes we locked ourselves out (it blew shut!) due to the deadlocked lock - to get back in we paid a 20 Euros fine to the owners!
Suggest a change of lock to mitigate as I daresay we are not the first!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2019
As you wrote: Not for you !!! Read all other reviews, we always get 4 or 5 stars and guests are very satisfied. As you can see on the pictures, the floor was left like it was years ago. This and the orignal walls make this place so special. You found it dusty, but it wasn´t. We always take care the place is clean. Some guests have mentioned the nice lighting we have. But eveyone thinks different. I think you chosed the wrong holiday house for you.

The outside courtyard is closed to give some privacy to the guests. If you want, you can open it and have less privacy but great views. The house number 2 has a spectacular view with privacy. It is only 10 € more per day.

At your arrival we told you to take care that the door don´t close with the key inside. It is also written at the information inside. But, you locked yourselves out, called us at 10 pm, we had to send someone. Than, you told that you left the key inside the lock (!!!) and that you took another key with you (there was only one key set). The woman had to go to the office to get the keys of the communicating doors between the houses. We had to disturb the guests from the other house by night to go through. You didn´t pay a fine. You payed the person who spent more than one hour at 10 pm solving your problem.

Even a change of lock wouldn´t make any difference if you leave the key inside the door.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry A
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet retreat with stunning views”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

If you are looking to escape the chilly winter weather I can recommend a week or two at Gordejuela near Puerto De La Cruze. The property overlooks the sea and is situated adjacent to the clifftop walking route into town.

The accommodation is beautifully kept and tastefully furnished. While the external appearance of a chapel dating from 1905 has been maintained the interior is fully modernised. Everything you need is here including T.V., Wi-Fi, kitchen facilities and a large comfy bed.

Irene and Katie are always friendly and helpful should you need any assistance during your stay. The property is well away from any main roads so Katie arranged a rendezvous so I could get to the property in my hire car without problems.

The walk along the coast into Puerto takes about an hour. As you approach the town from the pretty western side there are plenty of cafe's and retaurants for a "pit stop" before investigating the wide range of shops.Local beaches are clean and the sea relatively warm, even in December!

Easy drive into Puerto and road access to the rest of Tenerife.

Will be booking my next stay at Gordejuela soon!

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thanks for your comments. I´m very happy that you enjoyed your stay and I´m looking forward to see you soon again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chimayred
Durham, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
1,097 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 569 helpful votes
“oh man. Oh man. Oh man. Were we unprepared for this!”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Well I don't even know how and where to start. We decided to go to Tenerife and researched it for a few months. For some random reason we figured we'd stay away from the tourist spots in the south and go near Puerta de la Cruz on the north coast. Somehow we ended up in Los Realejos, about 3 miles from PDLC via the gorgeous Rambla de Castro. And we found this on air B & B in late september for maybe $70 a night?
So here's the deal...Irene was excellent about contacting us and giving directions. For sure, you can't find this yourself....and you'll see why. Once we met her assistant Katya; she drove us through pitch black narrow road surrounded by a stone wall, a dirt road....we were starting to get nervous. Where the hell was this? Finally after a series of hairpin turns which we later found out one of which had just a simple split rail fence between you and a 100 foot fall into a ravine, we were there. G1 is the smaller of the two apartments. Gorgeous renovated building. Paved courtyard, delightful, totally private. Never heard our neighbors. Went to sleep with the Atlantic pounding 500 feet below. Next morning we were blown away. We knew we were close to the atlantic, but weren't prepared for the Rambla, the ruins right at the foot of our ravine, the views. The Rambla de Castro is one of the "must" things to do on the north coast and this building is literally RIGHT on it and just about at the mid point. Go east for 3 gorgeous miles past the Playa des Roques and a few nice neighborhoods, cliffs, hotels, and you're in PDLC. Go west through a ravine and past some secluded beaches and you're at the MIrador San Pedro, fabulous cliffside restaurant.
So the place - wow. . OK, a couple of quirks. One, remember folks, this is europe. Don't ask me why....no screens in the windows. that's just some sort of european thing, which I don't understand. OK. Didn't have to worry about bats, only a few insects. Next, and this is personal....no air conditioning, and it was hot. Just something you need to be aware of. We went in the "shoulder" season -september, and it was in the 80's all the time and humid. I like A/C, so that's my quirk. Would probably not have made any difference if I knew it and if I had decided on someplace else we'd have missed out on a real experience.
OK, bearing that in mind, this is a big airy well ventilated place. Downstairs there's a convertible bed, a tV (never turned it on), hidden away is a washing machine and a drying rack. Totally decent kitchen but we didnt cook or use it. One thing - not sure why - and I'm sure Irene would be appalled - the fridge absolutely....uh...smelled...not sure why....it was clean but it was a real slam in the nostrils. We cleaned it and no further problems. Bathroom totally functional, shower was fine - again - Irene - the shower head is one of those telephone thingies and was almost broken so that may need to be replaced soon.
But folks, that was it. I mean, what a setting, and what a deal. We'd walk out, very secure locks and gate, walk to PDLC. Couldn't get over the scenery. Very central location. once you figured out how to get there in the day, very easy to get to. Very secluded. No restaurants or maid service, but PDLC is a ten minute ddrive, plenety of grocery stores around, both small and alrge. Dang, did we have a great time and would go back in a split second. Thank you Irene!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2017
Thanks for your comments, it helps us to improve. The window system is a typical canarian window, but you can make it completely dark in the house if you like. No house has air conditioning in the north of the island, as you don´t need it. The temperatures are between 20 - 27º C all year round, so as you sad, it is a personal thing. The shower has been replaced. If you had told me during your stay we would have done this immediately. The cleaning woman saw it after your departure. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next time, now that you know how to get there ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teubishqu...
Chambray-Les-Tours, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.