We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place to stay & eat.”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Great Ayton B&B and Inns
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly place to stay & eat.”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Booked here for a midweek walking break. Rooms were clean with soft fluffy towels, changed daily - though not asked for. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner who gave his personal attention to most things. His evening bar/catering staff worked extremely hard and managed to cater for everyones wishes, A very popular eating establishment with a good menu- early bird 'til 6-00 pm then another 'til 7-30 and the main menu to choose from. Beer a little pricey but cheaper than the only other pub in this pretty village.

Room Tip: Room 6 suffers slightly by being over the kitchen extractor, though not a problem when ccoking has c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotfeat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    32
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
22
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here for one night (a Saturday) on our cycling holiday. We arrived to find the pub packed with folk enjoying themselves. We were given an immediate warm welcome, and were quickly shown to our room. The room was on the small side, but clean and well maintained. We quickly changed clothes and got back to the bar for a drink. We were warmly welcomed by a group of the locals at the bar, and had a very enjoyable conversation – as well as a very nice pint! The evening meal continued our enjoyment of the Royal Oak: copious quantities and well cooked, very nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sula-Bheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I have just come back from a 1 night get away with my boyfriend and our dog it was just one of those random nights away. It took us about 2 hours to get there but we had a very warm welcome, the pub has a grass green across from it plus a nice walk which takes you to roseberry topping. We ate at the pub just a burger and some chips and we sat in the side bar because of having the dog with us so we were very happy to do so, i must say it is one of the best burgers i have had in a pub for a long time. The staff are all great and very friendly we will be using this place again and many more because it was so easy. I down loaded the aa bed and breakfast app which is great for finding places where you can take your dog!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spitspot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed her on 5th night of Cleveland Way. Room very small, shabby and not very clean (especially the carpet). The bathroom was unpleasant. As this was a Saturday there was music from the bar (to be expected) but it went on until 1pm. On the positive side the food and service was very good. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valstevehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Ayton hotels

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Ate here to mark my husband`s birthday. Food was "homely" but very very, very good; freshly cooked, very nicely served, hot, and tasty. I would certainly recommend eating here and will be going again.
Generous portions too and very reasonably priced.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Py M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Ayton
4.3 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
5.1 km away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
4.5 km away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
2.5 km away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
8.7 km away
Rudby Hall
Rudby Hall
#1 of 1 in Hutton Rudby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 123 High Street, Great Ayton TS9 6BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Great Ayton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,748 - ₹ 9,107
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE ROYAL OAK HOTEL Situated on the beautiful High Green, in the heart of the picturesque village of Great Ayton, lies the Royal Oak Hotel. Built in the 1700s, originally a coaching inn, it has welcomed visitors from afar for centuries. With our cosy log fires, beamed ceilings and rustic charm, the Royal Oak offers excellent cask ales, fine wines, home cooked food, and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. On the edge of the North York Moors, the Royal Oak is the perfect place to call in for coffee, a pint, a delicious meal or to stay the night in one of our ensuite hotel rooms.If its private dining that you want, our function room can seat up to 35 for your occasion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Great Ayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing