We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Carriers Arms

The Carriers Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 9
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: 700 year old beamed pub with large beer garden. Children and dog friendly. Open log fire. Two restaurant areas and bar.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Have just arrived home after having an excellent lunch. Staff were brilliant, food superb, not very often I finish my plate, but did not want to leave any of this. Liver and Bacon and Lamb shank, followed by amazing Lemon Posset. Not sure what they told me to say about the Welsh Barmaid, but she was great too. See you again very soon. Very enjoyable.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 986Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Booked this pup randomly for family Bank holiday lunch, wow what find, a 700 hundred year old pub, with proper fires, real atmosphere, fantastic food and friendly staff that actually enjoy talking to the customers, we are going back as soon as possible.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 1greenbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shazzer01, Owner at The Carriers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review which is much appreciated. We and the staff love our lovely old pub and it is great to hear that so do our customers. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We visit on average once every 2 months for a Sunday lunch and it is always fantastic food at a really good price. You get a proper roast dinner here, a choice of 3 meats or a combination of all, the crispiest roast potatoes, a large Yorkshire pudding if you want one and a large bowl of perfectly cooked fresh vegetables to help yourself from - which aren't cooked in butter (a joy for those of us who are dairy free!). Other menu choices are normal pub food but again very good prices - a nice children's menu although it would be nice to see a pasta dish on here as not all children like chips (my youngest being one of them). This is our 'go to' local for great food but you do need to book - word is out how good this place is and it's getting busy!

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shazzer01, Owner at The Carriers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi there, thanks for your lovely review, which is much appreciated. In relation to the children’s menu our staff are meant to explain that although the printed menus state chips this is for ease of printing only and all meals come with a choice of potatoes or pasta so please don’t hesitate in the future to change the chips. Hope to welcome you back again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

9 of our family had Sunday Lunch here yesterday and everything was excellent. lovely roast with choice of 3 meats or a combination of al three. the puddings were also excellent, and the prices were exceptionally good at £8.95 for the main course.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shazzer01, Owner at The Carriers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review. We aim to be a proper pub and welcoming to everyone and your reviews are invaluable in helping us achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

A true country pub friendly welcome and service. Food generous portions good value and well. cooked. Parking and garden. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank spirito2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carriers Arms also viewed

Dedham, Colchester
 
Dedham, Colchester
East Bergholt, Babergh District
 

Been to The Carriers Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing