We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a large family holiday”

Review of The Whim

The Whim
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Whim
Swimming Pool Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The Whim
Swimming Pool
Kitchen
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom - Ground Floor
En suite Bathroom
Shower room
Beach Below
Kitchen Diner
Cot Available
Decking and Outdoor Seating Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Mundesley, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
271Mandyd
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large family holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent a week at The Whim with our children and four grandchildren (aged from 8 to 3 months) and this property was a perfect venue. The house is large and spacious with everything you need for a large family. The garden is perfect for children (and adults) to play with an absolutely stunning view of the sea. The indoor heated pool completes the package with a large table and barbecue area outside. We were able to walk into Mundesley which took about 20 minutes and a Tesco Express is 5 minutes walk. There are also plenty of places to visit within an easy drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house with fantastic views.
Liked least: Lack of bathrooms and toilets
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large family”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at the Whim in May this year with a family group ranging from my 2 week old grandson, to my mum and dad who are both in their late 70's. The house is set on a cliff overlooking the sea at the end of a long garden (where you could find my dad enjoying the views every morning). The children loved the indoor pool and it was difficult to get them to come out to go into Mundesley, a lovely little village, with a few shops and pubs, a park, amusements and crazy golf; which was a short walk away, or a drive into Cromer for catching crabs on the pier. All of the rooms are large and even though we were a big group, with dogs, there was plenty of room for everyone. I had to contact Clair the owner on a couple of occasions to sort out changes I had made, and she couldn't have been more accommodating. A lovely place to get away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was lovely
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, whimsical weekend at The Whim”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Following a perfect weekend at The Whim with the girlies I am already plotting another reason to go and stay. The Whim is right on the beach giving the most fantastic views of the sea. Close to everything you could possibly need, not that you need much as we found plenty of essentials ready for us to use.
The pool was amazing and offered hours of fun for us all.
Above all the house is so spacious we never found ourselves feeling over crowded, it really was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easty83
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hen weekend away”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just returned from having a lovely weekend at The Whim. The house is gorgeous and very big. I stayed there with a group of girls for a relaxed hen weekend. We used the pool which was heated and used the sauna also. The bedrooms are all of a really good size and decorated nicely. Plenty of space for parking. I would defiantly recommend staying here and hope I get the opportunity to stay again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickyrick...
London,UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very spacious, well equiped house. Great location.”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

On arrival, the house is situated in an excellent position with a large garden with views over the sea. There is ample space for parking many cars.
Inside, there are lots of bedrooms, 2 downstairs which was great for our grandparents and 5 upstairs, all are spacious and clean and tidy.
There is also a downstairs toilet (a small step down into it) and a shower-room.
The upstairs family bathroom has a lovely double ended bath and large shower and a further en-suite off of the master bedroom.
The living room has the longest sofa I have seen, along with two others so again lots of room to be comfortable. There is also wifi here which was a must for us too.
The kitchen area had all the appliances and utensils we could need and a large dining table.
The pool was great too, nice and warm and in a seperate outbuilding, we didnt get time to use the sauna !
Overall we had a great few days here and would definetly recommend this house to anyone looking for a nice quiet break away. The area is very peaceful and close by was a tesco express (very handy for a bit of shopping).
For take away fish and chips, we recommend Bacton Fish shop (they also do gluten free battered fish cooked in a seperate fryer).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location.
Liked least: Not staying for long enough !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing