We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very spacious, well equiped house. Great location.”

Review of The Whim

The Whim
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Whim
Swimming Pool Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The Whim
Swimming Pool
Kitchen
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom - Ground Floor
En suite Bathroom
Shower room
Beach Below
Kitchen Diner
Cot Available
Decking and Outdoor Seating Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Mundesley, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rickyrick...
London,UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very spacious, well equiped house. Great location.”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

On arrival, the house is situated in an excellent position with a large garden with views over the sea. There is ample space for parking many cars.
Inside, there are lots of bedrooms, 2 downstairs which was great for our grandparents and 5 upstairs, all are spacious and clean and tidy.
There is also a downstairs toilet (a small step down into it) and a shower-room.
The upstairs family bathroom has a lovely double ended bath and large shower and a further en-suite off of the master bedroom.
The living room has the longest sofa I have seen, along with two others so again lots of room to be comfortable. There is also wifi here which was a must for us too.
The kitchen area had all the appliances and utensils we could need and a large dining table.
The pool was great too, nice and warm and in a seperate outbuilding, we didnt get time to use the sauna !
Overall we had a great few days here and would definetly recommend this house to anyone looking for a nice quiet break away. The area is very peaceful and close by was a tesco express (very handy for a bit of shopping).
For take away fish and chips, we recommend Bacton Fish shop (they also do gluten free battered fish cooked in a seperate fryer).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location.
Liked least: Not staying for long enough !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill M
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very well equipped comfortable large house”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

As family party of 10 adults plus two children ranging in age from 18 months to 85 years the house needed to meet a complex set of needs. It did this pretty well. All of the bedrooms are comfortable and a cot was available. The downstairs bedrooms were an important feature for us with a grand-parent with limited mobility. It was a bit disappointing to find that the downstairs toilet was down a small step: we managed but some guests might not.
Many big holiday rentals sleep the advertised number but fail to accommodate them with sofas or dining room seating: The Whim passed this test well. Similarly the kitchen was very well equipped and it was easy to cater for the whole party. The whole property was clean and well-furnished.
There were a couple of little issues we needed to contact the landlords over and these were dealt with quickly. We found the house manual to be helpful in the main, not patronising as a previous review says.
Paying the extra charge to heat the pool was money well spent for us but this charge did feel a bit steep and maybe would be better included in the rental charge.
There is a second fridge available which we were grateful to find as we had a large supermarket order delivered to allow us not to have to worry about any grocery shopping during the week. Unfortunately this is an old fridge that freezes its contents when fully loaded - if we'd been alert to this sooner we'd not have used it to store salads as they were only fit for the bin. A great place to store beer and wine though!
We enjoyed our stay - The Whim was all we had hoped it would be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mason699
Baldock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT AND RELAXING HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house and a great holiday was had by us all including our 7 month grandson and the
family dog. The pool was a big plus and used every day. Plenty of space and very well
equipped. We would like to return some time in the future
The wine was a lovely gesture.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edna H
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful property!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house was all we expected and more. The swimming pool was great with lots of inflatables for the children to use. The sauna was great for the ladies in the party. We were of all age groups and we all voted the weekend as brilliant. The lounge was big enough for us all to sit around and play silly games and the table in the kitchen sat us all in comfort. The cooking facilities were excellent with plenty of utensils and cooking trays, saucepans etc. We had as light problem with the heating which was reported. Someone came to fix it within 20 mins.
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool.
Liked least: The unmade road!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic-la17
Herts. UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Large house, great for large groups”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Whim for New Year, and had a fab time. We had a large group of adults with 4 children. The house has a great lounge, with plenty of seating for the whole group and a large dining table in the kitchen. The bedrooms are all of good size, and bathrooms are great - especially the two upstairs. Plenty of parking and walking distance to shops, pubs and the beach. Of course the bonus is the pool and sauna in the garden which were lovely and easy to use. Would recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge space
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing