We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT AND RELAXING HOLIDAY”

Review of The Whim

Front of Property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Property
View from Hallway Upstairs Swimming Pool - Indoor Heated
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Front of Property
View from Hallway Upstairs
Swimming Pool - Indoor Heated
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Dining Area to Seat 14
Lounge to Seat up to 14
Conservatory Area
Downstairs Double
Downstairs Twin
Upstairs Double with Ensuite
Upstairs Twin with Seaview
Upstairs Double with Seaview
Family Bathroom with Shower and Bath
Upstairs Twin
Upstairs Double
Upstairs View
Sea View
Back Garden and View
Patio and BBQ Area
The Whim
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Mundesley, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mason699
Baldock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT AND RELAXING HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house and a great holiday was had by us all including our 7 month grandson and the
family dog. The pool was a big plus and used every day. Plenty of space and very well
equipped. We would like to return some time in the future
The wine was a lovely gesture.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edna H
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful property!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house was all we expected and more. The swimming pool was great with lots of inflatables for the children to use. The sauna was great for the ladies in the party. We were of all age groups and we all voted the weekend as brilliant. The lounge was big enough for us all to sit around and play silly games and the table in the kitchen sat us all in comfort. The cooking facilities were excellent with plenty of utensils and cooking trays, saucepans etc. We had as light problem with the heating which was reported. Someone came to fix it within 20 mins.
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool.
Liked least: The unmade road!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic-la17
Herts. UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Large house, great for large groups”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Whim for New Year, and had a fab time. We had a large group of adults with 4 children. The house has a great lounge, with plenty of seating for the whole group and a large dining table in the kitchen. The bedrooms are all of good size, and bathrooms are great - especially the two upstairs. Plenty of parking and walking distance to shops, pubs and the beach. Of course the bonus is the pool and sauna in the garden which were lovely and easy to use. Would recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lounge space
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesBark...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large house with all you need for a fun weekend”
Reviewed 24 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

I stayed in the house for 30th birthday loads of seating for all and great for a party. The pool was lovely and hot and even though it was December the pool was great fun.

I couldn't recommend the whim enough - amazing views and beautiful house with loads of crockery and glasses. The only issue we had was hit water which was explained before we got there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and sauna
Liked least: Road on approach
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabyDylan...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hilarious for all the wrong reasons .....”
Reviewed 6 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at the The whim for a long weekend and I have a mixed review regarding the property

The house is huge and on the whole is well kept though a bit eclectic in design. The road, is an utter nightmare and should definitely be mentioned as the road is not Tarmac but shingle and the pot holes can cause serious damage to your car.

Most of us, we were a party of seven , found more than a few things a niggle with the house.

Admin charges for breakages -The £5 charge for breaking a glass and then the £25 admin fee if you did so.

The downstairs loo - the lid would fall down when you lifted it which meant at some point all 7 of us sat on the lid. This issue had been noted in the visitors book back in November 2011, this might help explain the strong smell of urine in there

Oven- oven looks great but takes ages to cook. Garlic bread slices which should take 8 minutes took well over 25 mins

Microwave- there's two there and one of them the door wouldn't open. This again had been noted in the visitors book previously

Windows- under no circumstances ( words of visitor manual) were we allowed to open the window. The heating should be kept at a 20 degrees instead! Surely as adults we should be able to open the window !

Dishwasher - in the manual we were told exactly how to load the dishwasher so not to interfere with the rotary blades and what type of cleaning products to use but not how to turn the thing on

TV- well this was fantastic and I believe everyone should visit the whim just to read the manual. Again it didn't tell you what remote turned the tv on but how a tv works and that mundersley receives digital and channel 5

Shower in the on suite - lovely, this was a really nice

Twin room beds- one of which was broken and resulted in me sleeping on the sofa

If you left stuff behind - generally this is an accident however they charge you £25 if you do to deter you from doing so

Conservatory- broken roof and we had to empty the bucket collecting the water

Swimming pool - after reading the manual we decided against using it as there are so many rules and do's and don't's that it just wasn't worth it

Holding deposit - this is £200 and it isn't a cheque like most places that they rip up after. No you have to wait 14 days to be refunded , another way to profit from you

Gas and electric- try not to over use these otherwise the price increase in the property letting would occur

An ok house with great views but on the whole the visitor manual really is condescending and what started with us trying to find the directions to the beach had us in utter disbelief and hysterics.

They really shouldn't put a visitors book in the house if they aren't going to listen to the comments regarding the repairs and the "petty manual". They shouldn't profit by £25 admin fee if you break a cheap wine glass and on the whole they should listen to their customers as the visitors book suggests very few of us will be returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the sea
Liked least: The condescending manual, the downstairs toilet , leaking conservatory
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2013
This client's review is full of half truths and is completely inaccurate in parts. You should be aware that before posting this review, the client informed us they would write a bad review if we did not agree to their unfair demands. This followed the discovery that our personal liability insurers did not agree with the Client that liability for damage to their car lay with us. Please call us to discuss anything in this review if you want to, before booking. Having said this, the parts that were accurate have been dealt with; we have reviewed the house guest manuals and the conservatory roof and toilet have been fixed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing