We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“St Mac's upper”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
West Bay, Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joevarct
willington,ct
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St Mac's upper”
Reviewed 13 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Another great stay at St Mac's upper. I highly recommend for a larger group since it has 3 bedrooms. The front deck is fantastic and the kitchen is very nice. Bedrooms large. Overall I think it's one of the best on West Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela L
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous home with great views...its perfect!”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is the second time we have rented this home. We love this house, especially the upper covered deck with its cool breezes. When we aren't in the water snorkeling, diving, swimming or paddle boarding or just walking the beach, we hang out on the deck and just soak up the view.

We tend to cook in a lot, and the house has everything you need to prepare a basic meal.

Our favorite places to dine out: Beachers - Coconut Shrimp is the best I've ever had. Tongs (now called the Thai Place) is amazing (located in the West End) - Nice & Spicy has good Thai as well and is in West Bay. Bite on the Beach in West Bay for fresh salads, great pasta and fish dishes we have never had a bad meal here.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathy h
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Perfect spot. Totally on the beach. Stepped right onto beach where snorkeling, paddle boarding Eric await. Tons of beach restaurants within walking distance, dive shops too! Took our adult daughters and son in law. Plenty of room, nicely equipped. Driver stopped at the store and we bought food. Already booked for next year!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl S
Westmeath, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Watching the world go by!”
Reviewed 11 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

St. Mac's Upper Beach house is the perfect place to kick back, enjoy the beach, people watch and snorkel just a 2 minute walk away. The house is spacious and the upper deck with the 2 hammocks make you feel you never leave the beach.
There is enough space to enjoy both family and friends while letting you have personal quiet time. Well stocked kitchen, spacious bedrooms each with a private deck if you need alone time.
Literally 100 steps to the beach to beach chairs or to your nice shaded yard with chairs to watch the world go by.
Many people return year after year to West Bay so are friendly and gather on the dock each night to toast another day and the setting of the sun. There is a group that walk every morning to do hill walks as well as beach walks. Has a community feel to the place indeed .
There is a security guard 24 hours a day to assist you if needed. The Honduran people are very respectful of your private space so will not come on the property without an invitation to sell you anything. All the beach services are literally in front of you so you can take part or just find a chair and relax.
A five minute walk back of the property is a lovely Java House and LALa's for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Within 2 minutes on the beach side you will find places to catch a drink or a snack.
The snorkelling is fantastic and St. Mac's is right there! No need for longgg walks or water taxis to get to the snorkelling.
We did mention to the rental agency about possibly upgrading the dishwasher and fridge but they are aware of these concerns. It was wonderful of the rental agency to ask us questions about likes and dislikes.
St. Mac's is a gem for a great getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large deck and proximity to snorkelling
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IldiR
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING! Already booked to return.”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We didn't know what to expect when we arrived on Roatan. We further didn't know what to expect of the house. What we found was a gorgeous beach house that literally sat on the sands of the beach with the calm, blue waters of the ocean right in front. The house was clean, modern, and absolutely charming. We spent a lot of time sitting on the deck that overlooked the beach - sleeping in the hammocks, reading under the ceiling fans that provided a cool breeze, or eating our meals at the table. The beach is lined with fun activities, bars, and restaurants. Dive shops are scattered around and easily accessible for incredible dives all day long. Or you can just walk into the water, swim out a little bit, and be in perfect snorkeling spots.

The house was located in a little beach village called West Bay Village. A security guard stood at the beach entrance 24/7 and a closed gate was located on the back end. The village was well kept. Island House Roatan, the vacation rental agency, was very helpful and on hand at any time during the day. The concierge, Junior, is awesome! He's friendly, knowledgeable and ready to help out in any way possible to make sure your trip is only the best.

Halfway through our vacation we were loving it so much, we booked for the following year at St. Mac's Upper Level. We can't wait to get back there!

Thank you to St. Mac's and Island House Roatan for an amazing trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the deck overlooking the beach
Liked least: The bug bites at night - really that is the worst thing I can think of
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing