We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diving Experience”
Review of Mayan Divers

Mayan Divers
Ranked #7 of 22 Tours in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Resort on the premises of Mayan Princess Beach & Dive Resort. High standard operation committed to personal service, safety and fun. Small groups diving, snorkel tours, day trips. Nice boats never crowded. All programs and courses from Discover Scuba Diving to Divemaster internships and Instructor ratings! Rental cameras and photo services available. Dive packages and specials through out the year.
Reviewed 30 June 2018

My family spent a week diving with this shop (15 dives) and had a wonderful experience. Kent, Carlos, and Clyde on the Nellie and Matt, Shawn, and Andy on the Angelfish took great care of me, my husband and my 13 year old daughter. We would certainly dive with this shop again. Everyone was helpful. They made sure your BCD and reg was at the boat. Divers were responsible for mask and fins. We were part of a larger group and the boats were large enough to accommodate us all without being uncomfortable. Compared to other dive shops they were on-time. Great job - Thanks to all!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayandiverswestbay, Manager at Mayan Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We really appreciate hearing about your experience. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you back again soon! From all of us at Mayan Divers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mayan princess"
in 49 reviews
"dive master mark"
in 15 reviews
"dive shop"
in 92 reviews
"large group of divers"
in 5 reviews
"boat captain"
in 30 reviews
"full service"
in 16 reviews
"tanks between dives"
in 5 reviews
"night dive"
in 26 reviews
"dive experience"
in 21 reviews
"top notch"
in 25 reviews
"dive staff"
in 14 reviews
"wonderful week"
in 5 reviews
"great operation"
in 10 reviews
"great dive"
in 21 reviews
"mask and fins"
in 7 reviews
"fish"
in 29 reviews
"marine life"
in 16 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

Our family of four just spent 6 days diving (sometimes 4 tanks per day) with this TERRIFIC group during Kids Sea Camp (a fabulous and unique program for family divers).We had a large group of divers of varying ages and experience levels. Alejandra took care of everything we needed from the dive shop, nitrox was easily accessible for each day's dives, boats were clean and neat, and when my dive computer died on day 4, Kent quickly gave me a substitute to use for the remaining dives. I think there are two keys to a great dive experience--the dive location, and the people involved. Roatan as a location is iconic--the largest barrier reef in the western hemisphere, a huge variety of corals, sponges, etc., and the friendliest hawskbill turtles and green turtles I have ever seen--they generally stuck around instead of swimming away. (And we saw at least one turtle on all but one dive.) The real key to Mayan Divers, however, is the DIVERS. Our guides were Kent & Carlos with Clyde as the excellent driver. Our teens were often diving with 4 other teens, and their guides were Derry and Luis. We also did a night dive with Kevin. ALL of these guys were absolutely wonderful guides. They know their dive sites, they worked well with divers of all skill levels and experience, their dive briefings were well-planned and executed, they were incredibly hard-working and efficient in getting everything done to transport all the tanks and gear to and from the shop every day. Each diver was assigned a locker for gear and the staff rinsed our gear every day, as well as changed over our bcd/tank after each dive. We would LOVE to come back and dive with these great folks again. One tip: check out the book "Caribbean Reef Life" by Mickey Charteris, which will do a superb job helping you identify what you see on the reef.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank SandiBinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayandiverswestbay, Manager at Mayan Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your diving experience with MAYAN DIVERS, for us it is a pleasure! We hope you come back soon, On behalf of the staff, send you a big hug!
Come back soon :)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Stayed at the Mayan Princess and dove with Mayan Divers all week. Kevin, Steiner and Tedy were excellent DMs/Captain. They were fun, helpful and knowledgeable. Our boys completed their Junior Open Water certifications with Paul, who was great with the boys, and we felt comfortable diving on our own while the boys were diving with him.

The DMs knew where to look to find all of the cool stuff. Briefings were informative and effectively prepared us for each dive. So many dive sites to choose from, and they were able to gear the dive to the skill level and limitations of the group (i.e. young, new divers with depth limits).

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayandiverswestbay, Manager at Mayan Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

We loved to have you diving with us!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your diving experience with MAYAN DIVERS, for us it is a pleasure!

We hope you come back soon, send you a big hug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

This is the second time to dive with Mayan Divers! The staff are remarkable! They really spoiled us meaning all we had to do was show up to boat which was located at Mayan Princess. Our dive master,Mark, took us to great dive sites along with our great boat captain Teddy! All of us in our party which were 9 of us highly recommend Mayan Divers and the Mayan Princess-you won't regret it.

Date of experience: May 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Road617881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayandiverswestbay, Manager at Mayan Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

We appreciate your review very much!

Thank you for taking the time and telling the world about your great experience with us! Hope to dive with you again soon!

From all of us at Mayan Diver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Great dive operation!! They are focused on making each dive a good experience for everyone on the boat and are fully supportive of go at your own pace so that you are comfortable. We were a group of 21 experienced divers from Diver Dans in San Jose and went on 16 dives. The folks here are fantastic!! I have done a lot of diving around the world and have a deep appreciation of the quality of service they provide. Kudos to Mark, the Operation Manager and the rest of his team!! I will be back to dive here again.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayandiverswestbay, Manager at Mayan Divers, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Judy, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with everyone!

Your comments are very much valued. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Roatan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mayan Divers also viewed

 

Been to Mayan Divers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing