We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & ambiance”

The Lotus at Xbalanque
Ranked #18 of 28 Restaurants in West Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 45
Description: The Lotus is located at Xbalanque Resort. Located poolside with open air seating on the white sand beach, Lotus is an intimate and relaxing experience. The Buddha bar serves cocktails, wine and drinks in a casual but yet elegant atmosphere. Lotus specializes in fresh seafood but also offers steaks, chicken and pork entrees. Enjoy our new rooftop dining under the stars. Reservations are required. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Restaurant details
Description: The Lotus is located at Xbalanque Resort. Located poolside with open air seating on the white sand beach, Lotus is an intimate and relaxing experience. The Buddha bar serves cocktails, wine and drinks in a casual but yet elegant atmosphere. Lotus specializes in fresh seafood but also offers steaks, chicken and pork entrees. Enjoy our new rooftop dining under the stars. Reservations are required. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed 19 July 2018

The food was good, but relatively expensive for what you get. The location has a nice view, but the Luna Muna was better.

Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy B, Owner at The Lotus at Xbalanque, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for visiting us at the Lotus. We strive to use the best and freshest ingredients for our food and this is not always the least expensive. Having the best food in the best location is our goal and we will continue to work on improvement.
To reach this goal it is very helpful to hear from our guests so we can meet their expectations.
Please come by to see how we are doing.

Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2018

We stayed at this hotel and ate breakfast at The Lotus every morning. Lunch was good, dinner was just ok...We were told they changed chefs a year ago, and thats when the dinner menu changed. Seemed like they had limited options for dinner. They did cook what my son and husband caught from fishing one morning. That was an amazing meal! Tuna poke appetizer and seared tuna for dinner.

Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy B, Owner at The Lotus at Xbalanque, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

We are so glad you chose Xbalanque for your stay in Roatan. It is nothing like eating fish that was caught just a few hours ago.
Josue, our chef has been at Xbalanque for 4 years, starting as a sous chef and then learning from other chefs and became our main chef.
We are working on adding other items to our menu and including some small plate options.
We hope that you willl return and try our new items.

Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Yes it is Expensive but so Memorable and Lovely. The food is Creative, Fresh, Well Prepared and very Visually Appealing. Our meal was to celebrate our 30th Anniversary with our tween children while spending a week in Roatan. We will all remember this wonderful night! The Tuna Poke disappeared quickly, the Sea Bass was very nice and my son loved his beef. Dining beachside and open air just fits right in with the Roatan Vibe. Just a note for some families, your meal takes time and you may want to anticipate that if you have children that may need some wiggle room. The grounds are lovely and great for exploring after your order has been placed(dinner guests are not allowed to swim in the pool that is integral to the restaurant seating).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy B, Owner at The Lotus at Xbalanque, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for celebrating with us at Xbalanque. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal.
We strive hard to serve the freshest ingredients prepared when you order. This does take a little more time rather than precooking food.
We are in the process of offering small plates with a new variety of price options.
We are a small resort and can prepare anything you wish. To ensure a pleasant dining experience, the pool does close at 7.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise to find this place! Food is amazing! And I loved the decor! A must if you visit Roatan!

Thank CinthiaL208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy B, Owner at The Lotus at Xbalanque, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

We are so glad you did find us! Thank you for sharing your experience.
It is very rewarding when our guests appreciate our hard efforts to make Xbalanque
the best it can be.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Decor/Hotel is awesome, Tuna Poke was awesome. Their island ribs were horrible (like jerky). Not going to lie, its about 2 times the price of everywhere else, but quality is not much better. They were the only restaurant that didn't overcook lobster though

Thank captain_sanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsy B, Owner at The Lotus at Xbalanque, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

First, thank you for coming to the Lotus. I am sorry you did not enjoy the rib entree. If we had known we would have offered you another entree. I will certainly try the ribs and try to improve the flavor and quality. We purchase USDA meat from an importer and usually it is very good. We strive to offer the best quality possible and to provide quality service and food.
I hope that you will come back and try us again in the future.

Patsy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lotus at Xbalanque also viewed

 

Been to The Lotus at Xbalanque? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing