We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
74
52
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
52
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseach morningfresh breadquintacottagemealsseamixshop
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We had a wonderful cabin with fireplace and fully equipped (we got a starter kit with water, butter, jam, milk) kitchen. Buns were delivered every morning so we could take the breakfast on our terrasse with view to the ocean. A small supermarket is just outside of the resort. Drive to levadas is 20-45min (Santana, Pico Ruvio/Grande) and 5min to paul do mar or jardim do mar for surfing. Super friendly staff and beautiful vineyard. Can defenetly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mehesmehee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

We stayed in the cabins at Quita ads Vinhas. It was perfect for us. Loved the peaceful feel. Beautiful countryside scenery vs the compact hotels and condos elsewhere. We could sit outside on grassy lawns around a small pool and see the stars and twinkling lights along the valley at night. Lovely. You will need a car. Internet is only available in the big house. Great welcoming staff will help you with anything (loaned me hiking poles and helped find a good car rental). On site restaurant was only okay.

Room Tip: Iif you want Internet in room or breakfast buffet, might want to stay in the hotel, but really the cottages are so charming!
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

We stayed in a cottage for a week in November 2015. This was a really great place to stay – so relaxing.

The cottage was split level with the bed, bed side tables and a large chest of drawers (no wardrobe) on the mezzanine. On the ground floor was a spacious the bathroom, clothes hanging space under the stairs, kitchen area with a small table and two chairs, and a lounge area with a settee, armchair, coffee table and TV. There was the option of an open fire or an electric radiator – if you needed it.

The kitchen was well fitted out with two rings, microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee maker; cutlery, crockery, pots and pans.

Outside on the small but pretty patio was another small table and two chairs. The cottage was one of a group clustered around a swimming pool with its own seating area.

There was a welcome pack of essentials (butter, milk Jam etc.) and four fresh bread rolls delivered very morning.

The main hotel, a former manor house, is up a steepish path which is lit at night, but a torch is helpful. The food was traditional Madeiran and there seemed an emphasis on home cooking. We ate there once and it was good to meet the other guests.

Whilst there we also ate at Conventio das Vinhas – if you eat out in Calheta eat there.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Staffstyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We had a large room with doors onto the arcaded path to the pool. The atmosphere in the house was very relaxing and the staff very helpful and friendly. We would certainly return. The walking opportunities were excellent if you have a car. Bus services in this part of the island are hopeless. Some of the less well-known levadas and coastal walks were beautiful. The weather could not have been better - at the end of September. There were plenty of places to eat in addition to the house itself.

Room Tip: The three rooms on the lower floor have direct access to the garden and the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JimMurdochPeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Quinta das Vinhas is more then beautiful ... it has history all over the place. And while this very old romantic building/hotel fits perfectly in the atmosphere of the island, it has all the modern needs you would expect from a hotel.
We had a large room at the ground floor. From our room we could step into the pool in seconds.
Breakfast is very good! You can enjoy the vineyard since you can enjoy your breakfast in the garden. Coffee and tea are available 24h a day.

Last but not least: the personal: very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews