We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”
Review of Quinta das Vinhas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta das Vinhas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We had a large room with doors onto the arcaded path to the pool. The atmosphere in the house was very relaxing and the staff very helpful and friendly. We would certainly return. The walking opportunities were excellent if you have a car. Bus services in this part of the island are hopeless. Some of the less well-known levadas and coastal walks were beautiful. The weather could not have been better - at the end of September. There were plenty of places to eat in addition to the house itself.

Room Tip: The three rooms on the lower floor have direct access to the garden and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JimMurdochPeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2015

Quinta das Vinhas is more then beautiful ... it has history all over the place. And while this very old romantic building/hotel fits perfectly in the atmosphere of the island, it has all the modern needs you would expect from a hotel.
We had a large room at the ground floor. From our room we could step into the pool in seconds.
Breakfast is very good! You can enjoy the vineyard since you can enjoy your breakfast in the garden. Coffee and tea are available 24h a day.

Last but not least: the personal: very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We had a nice apartment at the second floor of a stone cottage, magnificent view and close to the swimming pool. Very quiet location, up a hill. Main villa is well preserved, with some really lovely original furniture. Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff. Unfortunately dinner is not at the same experience level. Lovely garden setting but inadequate cooking.

Room Tip: In the main villa breakfast in the kitchen with the other guests. In the cottage you are on your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IsabellaP558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Be prepared for climbing or descending rustic paths. The cottage (205) we stayed in was comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast in the form of bread rolls arrived at 8am to be supplemented by butter and jam, tea and coffee provided, and for those guests dining-in seating is communal and your fellow guests may well come from France or Germany. On the last day we were able to take breakfast in the main house (having eaten all the butter and jam provided) and were impressed by what was on offer. You could cater for yourself in the cottages but eating at the main house or at one of the nearby restaurants is the easier option. Most guests seem to stay for a couple of days and are in rooms in the main house; we were the exception staying for a week and our tariff included three dinners (wine not included) and three picnics. . The main house dates from the 17th century and has an antique charm and the internet connection. Parking at the main house and the cottages requires care and you will need transport (hire car, taxi or bus) to visit either the local restaurants or the levadas.

Room Tip: Wifi is only available in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Austin7man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We stayed 4 places on Madeira during 2 week Christmas vacation. This was our last. You of course need a car. Easy drive to the coast, and still close to the hiking in the middle of the island. Houses are really nice and clean. Kitchen very simple. Perfect south facing balcony, and private parking. We left boots on top of the roof of the car, and they disappeared. Se suspected staff but it could have been other guests. There are several huts. Too cold to use the pool when we were there, but it looked nice. No restaurants in walking distance, and only few within driving distance, unless you drove more than 20 minutes - but that is rural Madeira. We did not eat onsite, which is also possible. Very romantic with the vineyard on the property. So all in all very nice!

Room Tip: If going for a small house, then consider asking for one closer to the pool (and not the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlobalTravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estreito da Calheta
1.4 km away
Atrio
Atrio
#1 of 1 in Estreito da Calheta
127 reviews
2.6 km away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,310 reviews
15.1 km away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 km away
Quinta Alegre
Quinta Alegre
#2 of 5 in Estreito da Calheta
63 reviews
14.9 km away
Dazkarizeh 73
Dazkarizeh 73
#1 of 2 in Ribeira Brava
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta das Vinhas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta das Vinhas

Address: Lombo dos Serroes, Estreito da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Estreito da Calheta
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Estreito da Calheta
Price Range: ₹ 5,419 - ₹ 7,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta das Vinhas 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Quinta das Vinhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing