We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
77
52
12
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
52
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each morning fresh bread quinta cottage sea shop
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Quinta das Vinhas is more then beautiful ... it has history all over the place. And while this very old romantic building/hotel fits perfectly in the atmosphere of the island, it has all the modern needs you would expect from a hotel.
We had a large room at the ground floor. From our room we could step into the pool in seconds.
Breakfast is very good! You can enjoy the vineyard since you can enjoy your breakfast in the garden. Coffee and tea are available 24h a day.

Last but not least: the personal: very friendly and helpful!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We had a nice apartment at the second floor of a stone cottage, magnificent view and close to the swimming pool. Very quiet location, up a hill. Main villa is well preserved, with some really lovely original furniture. Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff. Unfortunately dinner is not at the same experience level. Lovely garden setting but inadequate cooking.

Room tip: In the main villa breakfast in the kitchen with the other guests. In the cottage you are on your own, but you get fresh bread every morning.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IsabellaP558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Be prepared for climbing or descending rustic paths. The cottage (205) we stayed in was comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast in the form of bread rolls arrived at 8am to be supplemented by butter and jam, tea and coffee provided, and for those guests dining-in seating is communal and your fellow guests may well come from France or Germany. On the last day we were able to take breakfast in the main house (having eaten all the butter and jam provided) and were impressed by what was on offer. You could cater for yourself in the cottages but eating at the main house or at one of the nearby restaurants is the easier option. Most guests seem to stay for a couple of days and are in rooms in the main house; we were the exception staying for a week and our tariff included three dinners (wine not included) and three picnics. . The main house dates from the 17th century and has an antique charm and the internet connection. Parking at the main house and the cottages requires care and you will need transport (hire car, taxi or bus) to visit either the local restaurants or the levadas.

Room tip: Wifi is only available in the main house
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Austin7man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

We stayed 4 places on Madeira during 2 week Christmas vacation. This was our last. You of course need a car. Easy drive to the coast, and still close to the hiking in the middle of the island. Houses are really nice and clean. Kitchen very simple. Perfect south facing balcony, and private parking. We left boots on top of the roof of the car, and they disappeared. Se suspected staff but it could have been other guests. There are several huts. Too cold to use the pool when we were there, but it looked nice. No restaurants in walking distance, and only few within driving distance, unless you drove more than 20 minutes - but that is rural Madeira. We did not eat onsite, which is also possible. Very romantic with the vineyard on the property. So all in all very nice!

Room tip: If going for a small house, then consider asking for one closer to the pool (and not the parking lot).
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GlobalTravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2015

We flew in from the UK and arrived at about 8.30pm and an evening meal had been kept for us. We were asked not to bring in the cases but to eat our meal. The meal was not good with tough pork and overcooked vegetables. At about 10pm coffee was served in the lounge and at 10.30pm we decided it was time for bed as we very tired. To our amazement ALL OF THE STAFF HAD GONE and no key had been left out for us. Eventually a kind guest found an emergency phone number which we rang, and rang and rang on our mobiles. At midnight we gave up and we (both nearing 70 years old) spent an uncomfortable night on double sofas in the lounge.
We were found by the breakfast staff at 7am who were horrified at what had happened. The director apologised and said she would make amends. We were very tired and spent our first full day on Madeira either in bed or sleeping on a sun lounger rather than the walk we had planned.
Ricardo on Reception said that we would not be charged for the room we did not have!!! and that there would be no charge for the first night's meal and we could have another meal for free. We did not think that this compensated us for what had happened and for the loss of a day's holiday but we wanted to put the matter behind us so accepted the offer.
That evening when we had our 'free' meal the table was set for 6 but 8 people turned up as there had been a muddle over bookings. The waitress said there were only 6 fish so there was not enough for everyone. The guests agreed that the cook should share the food for 6 amongst the 8 of us so that we could all have something to eat.
When it arrived I was pleased there was not a lot as it was overcooked fish, roast sweet potato, pineapple chunks and raw grated carrot!
On checking out the bill we were given was incorrect and being honest (or foolish) we pointed out that we had had 2 packed lunches which were missing from the bill. 20euros were added to the bill which we paid in full. We were delighted to see the back of Quinta das Vinhas.
Two days later we had an email from the Director saying that we owed 50euro and that the compensation offer was just for one meal (£15 each approx.) and that she could take the moneyby the card used on check out!!!
An experience which we will never forgot and would not want to repeat

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Feedback326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews