We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic and close to the beach!”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful two bedroomed villa with panoramic ocean views offering two large south facing balconies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful two bedroomed villa with panoramic ocean views offering two large south facing balconies
Amazing ocean vista from top balcony with all day sunshine Relax on a sun-bed under the adjustable sun canopy and enjoy the ocean sights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Beautiful two bedroomed villa with panoramic ocean views offering two large south facing balconies
Amazing ocean vista from top balcony with all day sunshine
Relax on a sun-bed under the adjustable sun canopy and enjoy the ocean sights
Breakfast on the balcony and enjoy an ocean view under the shade of the rosy sun canopy
Breathtaking blues, the clouds reflect in the ocean
The beautiful blue sky meets the deep blue sea
French doors lead from both bedrooms onto the large south facing balcony
Master bedroom with french doors leading onto south facing balcony
Bright and airy room with lots of light
Master bedroom with ensuite
Master ensuite with bath and over head shower
Overlooking the lush garden with many typical plants and flowers of Madeira, including banana trees
Large twin room with french doors leading onto sunny balcony (lots of light)
Twin room with ensuite, bright and airy
Ensuite with large shower
Beautiful wooden stairs lead down to the large living area (lots of light)
Living area with satilte TV, DVD, full free internet and Wi-fi
Large living area with library and computer desk
Comfy 2 and 3 seater couches recently added to replace excising ones
The living area leads to the kitchen and also out onto the large lower balcony, with lots of light.
Kitchen leads to laundry with washing machine and downstairs wc, and open door onto back patio area
Downstairs WC off kitchen
Wood style kitchen with french doors leading on to patio
All mod cons and cooking/eating utensils
Lower balcony area off living room and kitchen, enjoy a shady spot from the hot summer sun and relax
Large lower balcony with traditional Madeiran open brick BBQ (ideal for meat, fish and veg skewers)
Balcony area off kitchen with BBQ, outside sink area and traditional wood table and benches
Big open brick BBQ, ideal for cooking traditional meat skewers with garlic and bay leaf, yummy
A delicious way to cook your food and enjoy being outside
Enjoy a delicious evening in away from the crowds: BBQ some local sausages and spatchcock chicken
Lower balcony area ideal for outside dinning: enjoy a lazy breakfast before starting your day
Garden steps lead to a tiled patio terrace area at the bottom of the garden
The lower patio area offers an avocado tree sun canopy, ideal for alfresco dining
A short stroll away is a small local restaurant serving traditional dishes at lunch and to order
Swim in Calheta a sand beach (a safe haven) only 5 mins drive from the villa, also with a marina
A lovely location 5 mins from the property also with supermarket and local restaurants and bars
Dolphin watching trips are popular from the marina at Calheta only 5 mins drive away
Chill out a the beach or take a boat trip and go dolphin watching or have a local lazy lunch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Estreito da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Regalian
Gloucester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic and close to the beach!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Villa Murphy for a week - Madeira is idyllic - sunny days and warm nights but never too hot either way - the villa was delicious and very peaceful morning and night, bedroom balcony is great if you're a sun worshipper and the ground floor balcony is a dream for breakfast - there's a great little store right opposite on the street, and in Calheta, 5-10 mins drive there is a larger store down opposite the Calheta beach hotel which you can't miss. The beach is very good (admittedly it was out of season and we went there on weekdays deliberately) and the water clear and safe to swim in. Local restaurants in Calheta and Madalena Do Mar serve great food at good prices and its only a 30 minute drive into Funchal and a good base to explore the north side of the island too. Would recommend hiring a car. Friendly renters, super accommodation - we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Mark and Pam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Modern and tasteful and quiet
Liked least: I just like my own bed!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Dear Mark and Pam, glad you enjoyed your stay so much. It's true the balconies offer plenty of sunshine. Calheta is a good location and very handy to shop. Next time you'll get a swim for sure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara H
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back to Paradise”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I returned in June (2013) to this beautiful villa. We last stayed there in April 2010 (see review Bo and David). We were determined to return as we fell in love with the villa and the area. We were delighted to find a new large bed in one of the bedrooms. Not that we are 'large people' but it is a bonus when the nights are so warm to have that extra space. There is really very little to say as we found everything as enchanting as 2 years ago. Still spotless, a lot of nice 'little decorative touches' added here and there and the young owners as charming and helpful as ever.The garden is looking fantastic as the weather in June was not as scorchingly sunny as usual (cloudier but warm) which seemed to suit the plants and shrubs.
We were delighted to find the content of the library had greatly increased as we both love to read and taking books really does add onto luggage weight. As well as the internet it was good to find we were able to Skype the family back in the UK (nice to know the kids -44!! and 39!! care).
Unfortunately we were only able to stay one week as the weeks either side were booked but the owners had an apartment at Madalena do Mar, only a short drive away. So, with full confidence of our experience with the villa and the owners, we had a week there in a lovely little village. We had a wonderful time there also.
This sunny area of Madeira is such a change from the busy area of Funchal (which we still love also) and we love the peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: What was there to not like?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable & quiet”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We (two middle-aged couples) stayed for a week in this lovely property. Not too easy to find but we were provided with precise instructions. Everything was as described in the details. It would probably best suit travelers with a rental car but you could probably get around in a taxi. We had breakfast every morning on the terrace with wonderful views out across the sea. There is a little shop opposite with bar/cafe attached and Lidio the proprietor was very friendly and helpful. We had a nice lunch there and the fish was fresh and tasty. The shop sells fresh bread and rolls and most other things as well. The villa is very comfortable and well equipped and had two en-suite bathrooms. You would need to pack a hairdryer though but it was not an issue for me being follically challenged. Sarah, the owner was most helpful and contacted the rental company on our behalf when we had an issue with the car. On the negative side, a neighbour was doing some drilling in a nearby new build villa which was a little noisy for an hour or two on one day but by now the villa is probably finished. A good base for exploring the western side of the island. We would certainly go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation, the views and comfortable nature of the house
Liked least: Some building work nearby but only noisy for a few hours on one day of our visit
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique L
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Dear Monique,
Glad you enjoyed the house, especially the bedrooms and bathrooms. We do get rain in Madeira, hence our beautiful forestry and fauna and there is much to do and see. Sorry we missed meeting in person, a week goes by very quickly and it was a busy time for us. Another reason why we are so readily available through the site for all communication.
Madeira in general is not for people with restricted mobility. However our mountains and hills only add to a hikers delight.
Thank you for staying with us. Till the next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LE DOUARI...
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: L accueil de la propriétaire
Liked least: Pas de stationnement pour la voiture de location
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Delighted you enjoyed the house and the pretty gardens. It is a good location to explore Madeira from. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;