We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colby Woodland Garden (National Trust)
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Picturesque and exciting!

Our children loved exploring Colby. The walled garden was like a ‘secret garden’! They were very... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
bethgrimes23588
,
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely spot

We visited here during the hot summer a few months ago and it was lovely because there were some... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
SueJ199
,
Swansea, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 329 reviews
  
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
211
83
26
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
83
26
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pond dipping cakes rope swing walked down stepping stones tea room car park lovely walk amroth beach duck racing fishing nets stream running lovely place to visit cream tea plants and trees sea front pooh sticks
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

What a lovely peaceful spot in Pembrokeshire, many aspects of our recent and second visit to this jewel of a place I will outline.
We are National Trust members and find that all of their sites are good the woodland gardens in particular is my favourite, we arrived today on a reasonably good spring day checked in at the shop, then proceeded to the tea rooms where we had some wonderful home baked cakes and quality beverages, we then walked to the nearby beach which is only 1/2 mile down a lane then a return walk through the Colby woodland gardens, The jewel in the crown for me was the walled garden and exquisite summerhouse with its hand painted interior decoration,All the staff we spoke to were hard working,informative of the surroundings and very friendly. What a wonderful visit and the other three adults with me all voted this a superb place and well worth further visits.

2  Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

What a beautiful place. So many lovely trees and so much gorgeous scenery. It felt like we were in a Canadian wilderness. Well worth taking a picnic and taking in your surroundings on a sunny day.

Thank Candy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Very disappointed with our visit on Saturday. Have always enjoyed the woodland at Colby but sad to hear that the lovely shop above the cafe has gone & apparently is to be replaced by NT offices. Another disappointment was to find that the small summer house had been taken away. Cafe still very good. Won't be going again.

2  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M, Membership and Visitor Welcome Supervisor at Colby Woodland Garden (National Trust), responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit. The Pembrokeshire Craft Makers moved out of the Gallery in October 2017 as we (National Trust) needed the space for use as an Office, a Volunteer space, and to store our archives which were becoming damaged when stored elsewhere. As Colby had become more popular, and with increased activities/ staffing we have outgrown our very limited office and archive storage on site, consequently needing a larger and more formal provision to fulfill our needs.

Pembrokeshire Craft Makers continue to operate in venues around Pembrokeshire and up-to-date information on their activities can be found on their website.

Our small summer house had to be removed as it was dangerous and in disrepair. We are currently thinking of new options to have installed in its place, if you have any suggestions please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely afternoon spent here. Our party included 3 teens and a 70 year old. We started off on the wide level path down towards the sea and sent the teens up the hill to the obelisk . They caught us up as we made it to the seafront at Amroth. We stopped for an ice cream here and then started out walk back. We crossed the stream and walked up through the water meadow. There are a couple of rope swings that the boys enjoyed. The promise of cake at the cafe kept them motivated. The meadows are so pretty, green and lush and the sound of the water gurgling by is lovely. Once at the cafe we weren’t disappointed. The scones were amazing! So fresh, soft with a slight crust. Delicious. And served with clotted cream and raspberry jam. Yum. The Victoria sponge and the polish cake were also declared very very good. A great day out.

1  Thank sarahbookham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely walk through the woods and garden. NT had organised a nature trail which our daughter loves (3yrs old).
Staff very friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Gardens are smaller than some other NT gardens but spacious grassland and woods with stream for children to play. Woodland again has short walks as well as other much longer walks through other woodland. Dogs on lead in some parts of garden but not in the wooded garden. We spent 2 1/2 hours inc delicious lunch and afternoon tea. Lovely afternoon- I’d recommend it.

1  Thank savsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews