We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb pools save it”
Review of Les Mimosas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portiragnes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Mimosas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Spent 2 weeks at Les Mimosas in July/August, 2 families with kids aged 5 to 8.

We enjoyed our stay, but if it were not for the pools (the best we have seen) and a primary reason for going, then the site would have disappointed.

The things we liked were:

The aforementioned pools, they really are superb. Limited queues and a great selection (not sure why they are closed for 2 hours in the middle of the day though), the wave pool was a big hit with our 5 and 7 year olds. Unlike most French sites, getting a lounger was not too painful. Slightly frustrating that you can not eat anywhere near the pool, meaning you had to buy food from adjacent pool cafe (picknick not allowed) which doubled up as smoking area.

The toilets blocks were great, lots of hot water and clean.

The staff were superb and the site is well maintained and cleaned.

Fridge hire was excellent.

Not many English (may or may not be your thing). Lots of French, Belgians and Dutch.

Good location - easy for bike rides along the Canal Du Midi, but it takes a car ride to attractions/beaches.

We preferred the quieter Portiragnes Plage, Valras Plage is bigger as is Vias Plage (tough to park and a bit like Blackpool).

A decent Carrefour that is 5 mins away and open 7 days a week.

The things that were not so good.

Our pitches (we were 2 families). Despite asking for shade, we got none and the pitch surface was very up and down. Ours had huge craters in it. Both were smaller than average when compared to neighbours.

The shop - selection and prices were very much the usual, but closing from 1230 to 5 is excessive in my eyes.

Play park - quite small and not opening till 930

Bar the main route, the roads are all gravel/stone. It meant that if our 5 year old wanted to ride his bike, then he had to be on the main thoroughfare, which was not unsurprisingly busy.

Overall

We had a great stay, but the pools really saved it. It is our first 4 star site, but I think we will return to 5 in 2016.

Room Tip: If you want a camping pitch with shade, make sure you are in rows lower than 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esw1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2015

This campsite is lovely if you want a place to park your tent for a week and not go anywhere. The pool facilities are fantastic as are all the other amenities: service block etc. The pitches are OK and can feel on top of each other when busy. The restaurant was good.
The pool area has something for all ages. My little one (age 3) could splash about in the kids pool while older kids can enjoy the slides. It looked like there are plenty of arranged activities for teenagers and they even had aqua-aerobics daily.
My family and I were on a touring holiday of France and we thought we would be able to spend 5 days enjoying the beach and exploring the area.
My big disappointment came when we discovered the walk to the beach is not easy. It is not signposted and you can take many extra turns resulting in a very long walk to the beach and during a heat wave and with 2 small children, this is not easy. The beach itself was disappointing - there were no grass umbrellas or any refreshments being sold.
We also chose this campsite because the guidebooks mentioned that they can arrange trip and excursions for you to explore the area. However, they do not do this. You need to drive yourself and know where to go. We had to pay for a week in high season but ended up only staying 3 nights with no refund or credit given.
A very disappointing stay over all. (We stayed here beginning of July - during the heat wave).

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jda284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Campsite itself is really good, the pool complex is amazing! The slides are really good and the wave pool is great. There is also a pool side bar and restaurant which serves lots of food and drink.
The bar is okay, there are lots of theme nights like paella night and moules frites, and lots of shows. The foam party is really good, both adults and children ones! Some nights there arent anything on at all though. The campsite is quite out of the way and its not possible to walk anywhere besides the canal du midi and one restaurant there. That was a big issue for me because we usually like to go out at night for walks outside the campsite!
The campsite is also very french and for the week i stayed there, we were the only english people, which was fine for us but for the younger children they couldnt make any friends as they didnt speak french.
The staff were all lovely and spoke english though and were very helpful when ordering drinks and dinner!
So all round a good campsite, just quite out of the way!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank slallen1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank michelcorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank veronique232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portiragnes
8.4 km away
Hotel Cap Pirate
Hotel Cap Pirate
#1 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
272 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel le Mirador
Hotel le Mirador
#1 of 1 in Portiragnes
103 reviews
2.6 km away
Camping Sunelia Domaine de la Dragonniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Siblu Villages - La Carabasse
17.7 km away
Camping Tohapi Le Castellas
8.2 km away
Camping Les Sables d'Or
Camping Les Sables d'Or
#19 of 24 in Cap-d'Agde
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Mimosas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Mimosas

Address: Port Cassafieres, 34420 Portiragnes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Portiragnes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Portiragnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing