We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful house in a great location, perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hameau des Pélissous - All Buildings
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Hameau des Pélissous - All Buildings
Chambre bas avec sde & wc - downstairs room with shower room & toilet
chambre étage n°1 - upstairs room n°1
chambre étage n°2 - upstairs room n°2
salle de bain à l'étage/bathroom upstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Lembras, Bergerac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Patsy D
King's Lynn
1 review
“A beautiful house in a great location, perfect for a family get-together.”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

La Vigne stands on a hillside with extensive views across the surrounding countryside yet is within easy reach of the city of Bergerac and the local airport. The house has a well-equipped kitchen with plenty of cutlery, crockery, glasses etc. and a big fridge/freezer - ideal for storing lots of the delicious local produce. The living area is spacious and comfy, as are the bedrooms. We really enjoyed the private pool, making full use of it during our visit - the water temperature was ideal and it looked particularly stunning when lit-up at night. David is an excellent host, providing us with lots of local information, helping us book taxis and uncovering the pool every morning. We look forward to our next visit to La Vigne.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A beautifull property and location, with a very helpful owner.”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

La Vinge is a lovely refurbished Gite, which has a very homely feeling about it. Each of the 3 double bedrooms are very spacious and there is also a decent dinning and lounge area. Outside Is a lovely patio dinning area and your own private pool. David the owner is very helpful and always on hand to answer any questions or assist with anything.
We were only here for 3 days, but would of loved to stay longer.
We really enjoyed our last day, which we spent mainly in the pool, indulging in lovely Food and drink.
This property is set in the country, so you would need a car to be able to travel to local shops and towns.
My only con - is that the property has no air conditioning. Although this wasn't too much of an issue as David supplied a number of fans in the property.
Thank you David and Lydie for a lovely stay. Hopefully we will stay again next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuartfas...
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The accommodation is idyllic, situated in a lovely environment and in nice and well managed grounds. The home is well placed for Bergerac which we visited several times. We would also recommend the local markets.

There is the additional benefit of a private pool. There is the expectation that you uncover the pool with a winch and cover on the days you are using it. This is a bit of a chore but OK if you are fit however as I was recovering from an injury David agreed to uncover it in the mornings.

Also, be aware that the pool is alarmed. You are provided with a handheld remote fob to arm and disarm the alarm. The alarm became an irritation as it went off numerous times whilst we were there (always have the fob near you). David said that the alarm is required due to French regulations.

There is also a hot tub available at additional cost however notice is needed for the owners to clean this beforehand.

Another recommendation would be to buy any provisions on the way as there was no welcome pack.

The building is a converted barn and offers very comfortable accommodation in the ground floor living area. The stairs to the bedrooms on the first floor are relatively steep. It was mentioned that these can be slippery which David said was more regarding children running around.

Unfortunately, I was unable to use the first floor due to mobility issues however I was told by family that the bedrooms are comfortable with lots of storage although the space does get hot.

Due to the age of the property the roof slopes into the toilet and bathroom and the upstairs might be an issue if you are tall.

There is a bedroom off the living room which unbeknown to me was also down steps. The bedroom was OK; there is an on-suite shower room with an old-fashioned shower curtain and a sink and toilet.

There are several bed and breakfast properties next door; there were no issues arising from this although you are overlooked from the pool area used by people staying over.

The car parking area is up the hill from the property and access is via a grassed bank. This would not be an issue for people who are moderately fit however it was a difficulty for me personally due to walking difficulties. My own view is that the accommodation is not the best for people with mobility or accessibility needs.

We met with the owners on several occasions during our stay. They live at the bottom of the driveway. They appear hard working and are helpful and likeable and business minded; David was helpful explaining the rules and his wife helped with recommendations where to eat and helped with booking a local restaurant.

I will try to submit photos to show that the accommodation is in many ways excellent however 'my' experience was marred due to disability and height and the practical issues to do with the property as discussed above hence my rate of stay which others might not share. My wife and her mother would still highly recommend to others.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
Dear Stuart,
I thank you for your review that acknowledges the many qualities of the property, even if it puts the stress on some aspects that I regret, prevented you from having a fully enjoyable stay.
I agree that the property, set on the slopes of the Pécharmant hill and with several stairs, is not well adapted to people with heavy mobility difficulties or specific accessibility needs. I thank you for having highlighted this aspect that can be important for future guests and we have clarified our advertisement accordingly. The best in case of doubt is to contact me and I'll be happy to help with advices or specific photos.
I am happy that the other members of your group would highly recommend the property and I thank them for this.
I think useful to add some details about some of your remarks in the notes bellow,
Regards,
David

- Bathrooms and toilets :
• The Upstair level is indeed under the slopes of the roof and the slopes do reduce a bit the available space. The height of the ceiling when standing in front of the washbasin is 2m25 (7,4 ft), when showering in the bath : 2,15m, when standing in front of the toilet : 2,25 reducing to 1,9m.
• The shower in the downstair bathroom is equipped with a neutral colored shower curtain that we clean or change regularly. The wallmonted toilet and washbasin were installed 2 years ago.
- Swimming pool security :
There is indeed an alarm system and security cover (that also protects the pool from cold and dirt) installed for the swimming pool.
I confirm that French law does require the installation of one approved security system.
We chose to install two because we felt they were complementary.
Except sudden wind or rain or alike (this is also one of the reasons why we suggest to guests to put and tighten properly the cover during the night), my experience is that the alarm system does not go off without reason.
- Neighbourhood :
One of the three buildings composing the hamlet is indeed hosting a bed & breakfast (3 bedrooms) with its own pool area. But it is located at a distance slightly down the hill and is separated from La Vigne by several trees and bushes, so that overlook over La Vigne is very limited. Also, the pool area of La Vigne is on the opposite side of the building so fully protected from the B&B area. The nearby B&B is very practical if you have friends visiting for a few nights or if you want to avoid expensive and crowded Saturdays flights or roads and shift check-in or check-out by a few days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ros S
Chillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful property. The facilities were excellent and the hosts extremely helpful and friendly.
We enjoyed exploring the local countryside and vineyards and as fans of French food had some great meals out.
Will definitely be back.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire experience allowed both grown-ups and our teenagers to have the best time
Liked least: Time flies too quickly!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing