We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a average place to stay during the Tongariro Crossing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

As I said, it's just a warm place to rest during the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The hotel overall is very nice, all made in wood, but the rooms are a bit small. There is the possibility to cook your own food in a common kitchen, and I liked this because it makes you save some money. There is a free open-air spa, so I suggest you to bring a swimsuit. The catering service is very good, but expensive. The best thing about the hotel is the offer of bus trips to the start of the crossing.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Niccolò P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for The Park Hotel Ruapehu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Small but clean rooms handy to the Tongariro Crossing walk, hotel has a shuttle and will provide a packed lunch if your doing the crossing. Nice warm spa pools for after a days walk. Staff are friendly helpful. Bar and restaurant are OK

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AndyandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

This is a good price/quality hotel. The bed is good and the room is clean.
The bathroom is quite small but ok. If you get cold you have an electric heater you can use.
It is a bit noisy between the rooms and from outside but manageable.
We had breakfast included, but it is basic (milk, tea, gem, butter, honey, cereals, cheese, ham, toast).

Good to have a communal kitchen where you can prepare food as well as laundry. It has also a nice lounge and outdoor hot pools but didn't see anyone using them; perhaps too cold.
You can eat at the restaurant there as not many options around.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosinni19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Stayed in a loft room this time with the 4 of us,facilities were fine but bathroom/toilet are very cramped,(could not open the shower door with the main door closed and filling hot water jug was difficult as the sink is very small),had a meal at the restaurant witch was a bit disappointing,breakfast the next day was very good,the staff are very friendly and helpful,spa pool was again great after doing the crossing,shuttle to the Tongariro crossing was on time. not impressed with the 2%credit card surcharge after they ask for credit card details while booking online.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Got accommodation package from Grabone.
Staff: Efficient and nice. The one at the reception is good but needs better bedside manner. Don't get me wrong, she was not rude but needs improvement with her customer service skills. Other staff members that I met were really nice- all smiles - except her.
Room: Adequate, a bit small for my liking. Good for 2 people. Comfortable bed and pillows. We were given a room close to the main door. Not a good place as noisy from people coming in and out. Door slamming frequently was not nice either.
Bathroom/Toilet: Again, small but adequate. But hard getting water for the kettle. The sink was really small to even fit the kettle.
Hot pools: A big plus!!! loved it! Soothed my very tired muscles!!!
Food: Continental breakfast was just adequate. I dint expect anything fancy so I was generally happy.
Parking: Big parking space but too many holes!!! When we got there it was raining. I didn't see the big hole and my car protested after a big thump! Be careful.
WIFI: Free! Another big plus! =)

Room Tip: Away from the main door. Noisy!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Aetramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.3 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,605 reviews
12.7 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
439 reviews
25.5 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
266 reviews
0.2 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
512 reviews
0.4 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: ₹ 4,751 - ₹ 7,679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place to stay and gateway to all Tongariro National Park adventures and the outstanding Whakapapa, Happy Valley and Turoa snow resorts. The hotel enjoys stunning views of Mounts Ruapehu, Tongariro and Ngauruhoe — perhaps better known as Mt Doom in The Lord of the Rings. We are the only genuine 3 star hotel in the region and our restaurant has the most extensive menu. We offer a quality mix of Queen, Twin and Family Mezzanine rooms for your comfort. We provide a friendly, relaxed environment for you to stay after your day’s activities. Whether you’ve walked the Tongariro Crossing, skied, snowboarded or ventured onto a mountain bike trail — our outdoor hot tubs are waiting to soothe you on your return. Then treat yourself to a drink or two in front of our inviting log fire before dinner at The Spiral, our cosy Aspen lodge style restaurant. Conference, team building, special interest group & wedding facilities are also available at our Tongariro National Park hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing