We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We booked the studio with loft as there were 3 of us. The shower room was so small you could hardly dry yourself - larger people would find it difficult to close the door. The windows were small and high up, as you might expect for a ski lodge, but not much good in summer. Basic but adequate , and the most expensive place we stayed in our month-long tour of NZ. We booked 3 nights to make sure we could do the Tongariro crossing, but as we did it on the first day, we left after 2 nights, forfeiting the cost of the extra night.

Room Tip: Dont go for a loft room if you need room to turn round in the shower room
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

There are many new changes occurring here at The Park Hotel, including renovations to all of the hotel rooms.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for The Park Hotel Ruapehu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Car park feels like it has just been hit by rocks from a recent volcanic eruption - lots of potholes! The basic and old room wasn't really cleaned properly. Do not book the package with crossing shuttle and lunch. Although written clearly, there's no refund if the weather does not allow the crossing to happen. Made my Tongariro Crossing deal feel like a rip off. Opine they should at least replace it with a meal or drink voucher. Shuttle is their own minivan. You can easily find alternate shuttle services and pack a better lunch anytime. Reception were not very helpful. So stay in a better place by paying not much more, or rent a cabin somewhere else for better value.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank CJChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

We are under new ownership and there are many exciting changes occurring here at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, including improvements to the car park and hotel rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Rather than complete the 10 hr train journey from Wellington to Auckland in one go, we decided to spend one night in the National Park. Unfortunately, the Northern explorer train only travels on certain days which meant we had to stay for two nights.
As we are not walkers we chose what we thought was the most hotel like accommodation, but this, by UK standards, was not the case and is more geared up for walkers/backpackers.
The "Hotel "is more like Butlins set up. The rooms are very small, bathroom is tiny, but had fridge and TV. It was clean and adequate and great value for the price.
Unfortunately for us, the room did not overlook the gardens but was opposite the communal kitchen and, As previously stated, anybody walking past to gain access to that room could see straight into yours and with the blind down to avoid this the room became very dark. We had no trouble with noise.
One of the hot tubs was out of action and it seems the hammocks have been removed. The "Hotel "is fairly isolated. You can walk to the nearby garage and coffee shop but for anything further you need to book passage on one of the crossing buses, it seems it costs $35 for a return journey to where ever you want to go.in addition, you need to fit in with the times of the walkers using the transport. There is no other option.
As we were not there to walk the crossing we arranged an alternative activity and were picked up from the hotel.
For us, the best thing about this accommodation, was the view and the food which was superb.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank stroppymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments. We are currently under new ownership and the hotel rooms are being renovated. There are many exciting changes occurring!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our amazing view and delicious food:)

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Mid range hotel in a handy location on the central plateau. Rooms were very comfortable, with wet room bathroom. Food was good, but breakfast was not included and was a little pricey. The common areas were a little bland. The staff were very helpful. There was 500mb of free wifi after that was used you had to pay extra.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you for your comments.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Stayed for two nights at this hotel.

The room was small and not even a proper wardrobe. Old & simple architecture and definitely not recommendable for being a skiing resort. In Austria/Germany/Switzerland they would get only 1 star and it would be a cheap, basic backpacker place.

Definitely overpriced for what you get. But everything was clean and tidy.

Noise wise you could hear a lot. Simply not good enough.

For that price I can get better places, though.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrialos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your room. We are rated by Qualmark at three stars plus, but we are all entitled to our opinions:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.3 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,603 reviews
12.7 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
439 reviews
25.5 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
265 reviews
0.2 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
512 reviews
0.4 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: ₹ 4,742 - ₹ 7,861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your place to stay and gateway to all Tongariro National Park adventures and the outstanding Whakapapa, Happy Valley and Turoa snow resorts. The hotel enjoys stunning views of Mounts Ruapehu, Tongariro and Ngauruhoe — perhaps better known as Mt Doom in The Lord of the Rings. We are the only genuine 3 star hotel in the region and our restaurant has the most extensive menu. We offer a quality mix of Queen, Twin and Family Mezzanine rooms for your comfort. We provide a friendly, relaxed environment for you to stay after your day’s activities. Whether you’ve walked the Tongariro Crossing, skied, snowboarded or ventured onto a mountain bike trail — our outdoor hot tubs are waiting to soothe you on your return. Then treat yourself to a drink or two in front of our inviting log fire before dinner at The Spiral, our cosy Aspen lodge style restaurant. Conference, team building, special interest group & wedding facilities are also available at our Tongariro National Park hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing